Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » General stevens Rules Quiz No.7
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 14:24
http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSvkY1FYQrzsHADTdNaAu2qvNGc9WydtYTmdasXWXWSiV5d80hx

This particular quiz is contributed by another General, Quit2. He has been an enthusiastic responder in past quizzes and even finished up our last quiz. He sent me this puzzler last week.

We all know that STARS are an interesting element in the dice rolls in Memoir '44. Most of the time, they are simply Misses to be dreaded, but on certain occasions, they are what we dream for, especially if rolling for TFH.

There are several cases where a star rolled can destroy an armour figure. Can you name one?

http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/avatars/366106

And remember guys and gals to keep the response to a single answer so more folks can have a try. Thanks.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 890
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 14:50
When Tank Destroyers combat any Armor Unit, Stars are hits.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 15:10
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 08:50

When Tank Destroyers combat any Armor Unit, Stars are hits.


Bravo! Yes.
P.8 Winter Wars Rules
Quote:

When a Tank Destroyer targets an enemy Armor or Vehicle unit, all stars rolled score a hit.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2245
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 16:55
Another great question.

On Barrage in the Breakthrough deck, stars are hits.

And an answer that you won't accept ... so it won't count as giving a second answer ... when the opponent plays Medics, recovers a figure with a star, and successfully attacks your tank. Smile

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 23 February 2013 16:56]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 17:19
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 10:55

Another great question.

On Barrage in the Breakthrough deck, stars are hits.


P.6 Winter War Rules
Quote:

Barrage (1 card)
A Star symbol is added to the list of symbols that score a hit on the Barrage.


Yes, good stars falling from the sky.

And yes, as always a clever response about the die result in M&M. But you are correct in saying I will not allow it. For that matter, you could say that rolling a star as Allies under Night Rules that gives you more daylight and range to kill an armor figure is a similar rational. That is, the star creates the OPPORTUNITY. And I am ignoring that as well. Very Happy

Nevertheless, there is at least one odd answer I will allow, but I will let you all figure that one out.

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 23 February 2013 17:23]

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 610
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2008
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 17:52
Maybe a good pilot that air strikes could hit with a star Laughing
      
--JP
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 279
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2004
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 18:26
When they break the ice on a frozen river
      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 18:27
JJAZ wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 11:52

Maybe a good pilot that air strikes could hit with a star Laughing


I think he's got it!

Yes, ALL Airpower cards, Air strikes and strafing with Air Rules use the STAR as a hit. So those good pilots who drop STARS are able to destroy an armor figure.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 18:36
--JP wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 12:26

When they break the ice on a frozen river

Another excellent answer.

P.3 Eastern Front Rules
Quote:

Frozen River
The river is frozen and may be crossed. The ice, however, in some parts is not thick, nor safe. Whenever a unit moves or retreats onto a Frozen River hex, roll two battle dice. For each Star rolled, 1 figure is lost. There are no other
movement or battle restrictions.


So if the unit entering or retreating onto the Frozen River hex is an armor unit and a star is rolled ... "SPLOOSH"
      
nodoyuna
Junior Member
Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 19
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2009
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 19:46
An infantry unit with anti-tank guns
      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sat, 23 February 2013 20:29
nodoyuna wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 13:46

An infantry unit with anti-tank guns

BAZOOKA!!!!!!!

Yes, a real blast.
P.9 Mediterranean Expansion Rule
Quote:

Battle: An ordered Infantry unit with an Anti-Tank gun may battle any enemy ground unit three or fewer hexes away, rolling the same number of dice a standard Infantry unit would. In addition to normal Battle dice results, any star rolled scores a hit when targeting an enemy Armor unit.
      
Michael Von Älterman
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 326
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sun, 24 February 2013 01:47
hit on an armor with a FLAK 88
      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sun, 24 February 2013 03:17
Michael Von Älterman wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 19:47

hit on an armor with a FLAK 88


Correct.
P.2 Equipment Pack Rules
Quote:

Battle:
An ordered Heavy Anti-Tank Gun unit may battle any enemy target unit 4 or fewer hexes away, battling with 2 dice. If the Heavy Anti-Tank Gun targets an enemy Armor or Vehicle unit, all stars rolled score a hit.
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 947
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2004
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sun, 24 February 2013 05:40
Tanks on a bridge when it gets blown by rolling a star.

Geoff
      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sun, 24 February 2013 12:38
gheintze wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 23:40

Tanks on a bridge when it gets blown by rolling a star.

Geoff


You've hit the mother load!
Quote:

Nevertheless, there is at least one odd answer I will allow, but I will let you all figure that one out.

Yes, this was the more obscure example I was thinking about, as the tank is destroyed INDIRECTLY.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_2.jpg

Using option #2 a STAR blows Bridge.

And taking the FAQ into account:
P.19 FAQ
Quote:

Q. If a unit is on a bridge when it is blown up, is the unit destroyed?
A. Yes. The whole unit is destroyed along with the bridge. The unit counts as a Medal.


Congrats on you're answer.

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 24 February 2013 12:50]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sun, 24 February 2013 12:53
I do believe that there is at least ONE and maybe more examples out there so keep thinking and maybe reread the question.

There are several cases where a star rolled can destroy an armour figure. Can you name one?
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 107
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sun, 24 February 2013 19:22
ANY non-infantry attack AGAINST a tank destroyer is a hit on star.
(At least in my games even a standard deck Barrage hits TDs with stars)
      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Sun, 24 February 2013 21:02
Zalamence wrote on Sun, 24 February 2013 13:22

ANY non-infantry attack AGAINST a tank destroyer is a hit on star.


Correct. Good catch.

P.8 Winter War Rules
Quote:

When a Tank Destroyer targets an enemy Armor or Vehicle unit, all stars rolled score a hit. Unfortunately, they are also more vulnerable to enemy fire, due to their lighter armor: Any non-Infantry unit targeting a Tank Destroyer unit will score a hit on any star rolled.


As far as your home rules are concerned, I can not speak to them as we are looking specifically at how DOW handles the Official Rules.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 610
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2008
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Tue, 26 February 2013 12:33
Also air bombardment in the urban combat deck hits with star.
Twisted Evil

stevens wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 18:27

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 11:52

Maybe a good pilot that air strikes could hit with a star Laughing


I think he's got it!

Yes, ALL Airpower cards, Air strikes and strafing with Air Rules use the STAR as a hit. So those good pilots who drop STARS are able to destroy an armor figure.

      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Tue, 26 February 2013 15:25
JJAZ wrote on Tue, 26 February 2013 06:33

Also air bombardment in the urban combat deck hits with star.
Twisted Evil

stevens wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 18:27

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 11:52

Maybe a good pilot that air strikes could hit with a star Laughing


I think he's got it!

Yes, ALL Airpower cards, Air strikes and strafing with Air Rules use the STAR as a hit. So those good pilots who drop STARS are able to destroy an armor figure.




Congrats Jjaz, I believe this is the last one. I consider this different because rather than Air Rules being in play it is Winter Combat Cards (specifically - the AIR BOMBARDMENT card).

STARS are hits on this card as well.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_urban_17.jpg
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 610
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2008
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Tue, 26 February 2013 17:48
Thank you sir!
Naturaly i'm the expert in throwing STARS so that question was not a real challenge for me Laughing Laughing Laughing

stevens wrote on Tue, 26 February 2013 15:25

JJAZ wrote on Tue, 26 February 2013 06:33

Also air bombardment in the urban combat deck hits with star.
Twisted Evil

stevens wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 18:27

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 23 February 2013 11:52

Maybe a good pilot that air strikes could hit with a star Laughing


I think he's got it!

Yes, ALL Airpower cards, Air strikes and strafing with Air Rules use the STAR as a hit. So those good pilots who drop STARS are able to destroy an armor figure.




Congrats Jjaz, I believe this is the last one. I consider this different because rather than Air Rules being in play it is Winter Combat Cards (specifically - the AIR BOMBARDMENT card).

STARS are hits on this card as well.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_urban_17.jpg

      
stevens
Senior Member
Beta Testeur Memoir '44 Online

Pages Perso
Messages: 3013
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Wed, 27 February 2013 04:23
JJAZ wrote on Tue, 26 February 2013 11:48

Thank you sir!
Naturaly i'm the expert in throwing STARS so that question was not a real challenge for me Laughing Laughing Laughing


Yes Jjaz I thought you had STARS in your eyes...

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS6tLUbnr2XL5u9Pr7hSaseMNLeJqo9b9-x5yLnPxc8HgssXaIB




      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1113
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Wed, 27 February 2013 08:50
subsidiary question: due to a bug, there is another way to kill a tank figure with a star in the online game. Who knows what that is?
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1113
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Mon, 04 March 2013 09:27
does no-one care about this subsidiary question, or does no-one know?
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Pages Perso
Messages: 1004
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Mon, 22 July 2013 15:52
I am late to the game (Only four month Cool ), but was already thinking about the subsidiary question before you asked it. Smile

When an armor unit attacks a sniper close range and the sniper plays Ambush, it will destroy a tank with a star.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7072
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Mon, 22 July 2013 16:30
Jeronimon wrote on Mon, 22 July 2013 17:52

I am late to the game (Only four month Cool ), but was already thinking about the subsidiary question before you asked it. Smile

When an armor unit attacks a sniper close range and the sniper plays Ambush, it will destroy a tank with a star.


I'm afraid not. Snipers can't attack Armor, so they couldn't even play the Ambush card... Confused
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Pages Perso
Messages: 1004
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.7 Mon, 22 July 2013 17:27
That's why Quit2 said due to a bug. It is not permitted, but the online version allows it. Smile

Quit2 wrote on Wed, 27 February 2013 08:50

subsidiary question: due to a bug, there is another way to kill a tank figure with a star in the online game. Who knows what that is?
      
    
Sujet précédent:Making your own models
Sujet suivant:Invasion of Crete giveaway( WINNER ANNOUNCED)
Aller au forum: