Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 25 March 2013 14:23
Le message n'a pas de contenu

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 25 March 2013 14:23]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 113
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 25 March 2013 20:15
How about this:

Q. Which actions are allowed to "On the Move" units?

A. List of actions. The list wouldn't probably be long.

Also, some actions could be listed as unallowed: Half-tracks may not resupply, Engineers may not remove Road Blocks etc.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 895
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 25 March 2013 20:50
Zalamence wrote on Mon, 25 March 2013 20:15

How about this:

Q. Which actions are allowed to "On the Move" units?

A. List of actions. The list wouldn't probably be long.

Also, some actions could be listed as unallowed: Half-tracks may not resupply, Engineers may not remove Road Blocks etc.


I'm not sure about having a short & simple answer, but what we say is that everything that needs to be executed in the "battle" phase needs an ordered unit.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 March 2013 06:59
stevens wrote on Mon, 25 March 2013 16:57

50th wrote on Mon, 25 March 2013 08:47

I could not find this anywhere, can you use a reposition combat card to move artillery farther on a "on the move" order in breakthrough? It didn't fire, but my friend used it to move his artillery closer.




http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=winter-11

My general feeling about this is: No, the card has a proviso for movement. It specifically states "After battling" and units ordered on the move may not battle and so would not have fulfilled the requirement of the card for repositioning.

Granted you opponent will state that the "after battling" only refers to generally battling and not to Artillery battling, but it is Artillery which is the subject of the card. So good try and you are a good sport to let him have that advantage.

He may also argue that it was an ORDERED UNIT and this is we're it gets a little more tricky. He will then say, yes it was ordered to go on the move.
Laughing
However, it is usually understood that ordered units may move and battle and "on the move" units may only move.
However, I could be wrong.
I think you are right to ask this question in the FAQ forum and I know Jesse will consider it in the future.


I would agree with stevens on this one. The Reposition card clearly says that 'after battling'...if someone tries to say that this just means the battle phase, the card would have said that! We can't read into cards; we have to take what is written and assume it's what Mr. Borg meant to say.

So the only way for Reposition to be used is if the Artillery had battled, which is impossible for On The Move orders.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2278
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 March 2013 12:22
Would this mean that a regularly ordered artillery that moves instead of battling couldn't be Repositioned? Or, for that matter, Fortified?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 March 2013 12:39
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 15:22

Would this mean that a regularly ordered artillery that moves instead of battling couldn't be Repositioned? Or, for that matter, Fortified?


Great point! Razz What do people think? Rolling Eyes
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 667
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 March 2013 14:12
Winterwars p6. [/QUOTE


quote]
The following Section cards have been modified. In
addition to ordering the number of units as listed on
the Section card to move and/or battle as normal, these
cards also order a number of units On the Move. Units
that are On the Move may be ordered in ANY section of
the battlefield. They move as normal, but may not battle
this turn.



In my opinion the rules say that "on the move" is exactly the same as a normal order besides you can't do anything you normaly do in the attack fase.
The reposition card says all ordered artillery may move after battling.
EDIT: The Basegame rules don't mention a battle fase, it just gives a sequence. Order, Move, Battle.
So "after battling" means: after you have resolve combat.
But that's just my humble opion Smile

http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_winter_11.jpg

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 27 March 2013 14:17]

      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1407
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 March 2013 15:37
I could see this either way. Yes, the card does say "after battling", which could mean exactly what it says, or could mean after battle phase. I think we need an "official" ruling on this one!

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 March 2013 16:51
Quote:

He may also argue that it was an ORDERED UNIT and this is we're it gets a little more tricky. He will then say, yes it was ordered to go on the move.
Laughing
However, it is usually understood that ordered units may move and battle and "on the move" units may only move.
However, I could be wrong.
I think you are right to ask this question in the FAQ forum and I know Jesse will consider it in the future.


NOTE MY HIGHLIGHTED AND ENLARGED COMMENTARY

Jesse, the reason I PMed this to you is that I think that the rule, as written, is too ambiguous and would benefit from an official ruling. I have played this guessing game before and been absolutely wrong about Richard's viewpoint.
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 113
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 March 2013 19:38
What I would like to get answered is whether the On the Move command is actually ordering or something else. In many situations the problematic expression is "ordered unit". If I order the unit to be On the Move, does it mean exactly the same (excluding movement and battle phases) as regular order?

Reposition is just one example; does "ordered unit" always stand for ordering with regular order?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 04:21
@ stevens, I can seek clarification from Richard on this issue, but we should make sure our question is clear and covers the situation so that we don't need further answers later.

Zalamence wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 22:38

What I would like to get answered is whether the On the Move command is actually ordering or something else. In many situations the problematic expression is "ordered unit". If I order the unit to be On the Move, does it mean exactly the same (excluding movement and battle phases) as regular order?

Reposition is just one example; does "ordered unit" always stand for ordering with regular order?


I must not be as familiar with the Combat Cards as the rest of you...because I don't seem to have the same questions as all of you.

The On-The-Move orders are only to move your units. You pick the matching number of units, give them an order. In the movement phase, they can move the normal distance for that type of unit. In the Battle phase, they cannot battle at all.

So how can we word our question? What cards are we wondering about? It would help me get our questions answered if we actually wrote them out as FAQ questions.

Then we can all look at the questions and make sure they get to the root of our confusion. Cool
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 04:29
Thanks Jesse.This question should do it..

Q. When a Combat Card uses the phrase "ordered unit(s)" is it referring to ALL units given orders on a turn including ON THE MOVE units or is it only referring to those ordered units which are not ON THE MOVE units?

This should help clarify all questions where this issue will arise on:
Reposition
Frozen Ground
Camouflage
Armor Forward

After reading through all the Combat Cards again several times, I am convinced by the language that ordered units only refers to non ON THE MOVE units. However, I might be the only one. I believe that answering this question, should clear up that issue for all the times it may arise. All other Combat Cards that use the phrase "ordered units" also mention battling as part of the order. This battling exclusion automatically limits the orders to non ON THE MOVE units since we know that they may not battle.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 28 March 2013 04:58]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 04:57
This looks like a good overall question, stevens! When I have time I'll look at it more closely and give my thoughts.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 28 March 2013 04:59]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 05:01
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 23:57

This looks like a good overall question, stevens! When I have time I'll look at it more closely and give my thoughts.


The real and sole question is the definition of the phrase "ordered units" as it is referenced on the cards.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 05:04
I am just rephrasing Zalamence's question. He thought of it first.
Zalamence wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 14:38

What I would like to get answered is whether the On the Move command is actually ordering or something else. In many situations the problematic expression is "ordered unit". If I order the unit to be On the Move, does it mean exactly the same (excluding movement and battle phases) as regular order?

Reposition is just one example; does "ordered unit" always stand for ordering with regular order?

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 07:13
stevens wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 07:29

Thanks Jesse.This question should do it..

Q. When a Combat Card uses the phrase "ordered unit(s)" is it referring to ALL units given orders on a turn including ON THE MOVE units or is it only referring to those ordered units which are not ON THE MOVE units?

This should help clarify all questions where this issue will arise on:
Reposition
Frozen Ground
Camouflage
Armor Forward

After reading through all the Combat Cards again several times, I am convinced by the language that ordered units only refers to non ON THE MOVE units. However, I might be the only one. I believe that answering this question, should clear up that issue for all the times it may arise. All other Combat Cards that use the phrase "ordered units" also mention battling as part of the order. This battling exclusion automatically limits the orders to non ON THE MOVE units since we know that they may not battle.


The question that we seem to be having is also about when a card says, "After moving and battling". We are also wondering if this means they need to actually battle, or if they can just move.

The On The Move question plays into this, but it also begs the question of whether a unit could be given a normal order and move but not battle, and still recieve the Combat Card.

So maybe we need something like this:

Q. When a Combat Card says to do something to a unit after it has 'moved and battled', does this mean the unit must move and battle this turn? Or could I just order a unit, not move or battle with them, and then play a Combat Card on them?

I don't think anyone believes the On the Move orders are fundementally different than a normal order...they just don't allow you to do anything but move. So by asking if units have to do everything on the Combat Card, we're covering the underlying question without making it seem like we think On the Move orders are different than normal 'move' orders.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 28 March 2013 07:56]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 113
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 11:46
Another Combat Card question comes to mind. Since there's no limit on how many CCs are allowed per turn,

Q. Can I first battle normally with artillery, then use a Reposition, then Fortify after moving?

This question is just another Combat Card question, and it has nothing to do with On the Move. I think, however, that "ordered unit" is a phrase which is used elsewhere than in just Combat Cards. At least in a few scenarios you may use orders to bring in reinforcements, but On-the-Move orders are not valid.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 12:22
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 02:13


The question that we seem to be having is also about when a card says, "After moving and battling". We are also wondering if this means they need to actually battle, or if they can just move.

The On The Move question plays into this, but it also begs the question of whether a unit could be given a normal order and move but not battle, and still recieve the Combat Card.


The very use of the word AND should eliminate all guessing. It means that both Actions are required. Another card says:has moved and/OR battled" and it seems very clear that you have an option to do either one or both. But AND alone means exclusively doing both with no other option.

http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_winter_1.jpg

It is obvious that Richard had an intended meaning when the cards were formulated and produced. We can debate endlessly what the individual intents were based on parsing out the language. I think the simplest thing to do is have Richard declare his intent with each of the cards. No other verbal gymnastics on our part is necessarily going to resolve the issue. And of course, we are only talking about the ENGLISH translation. Laughing Laughing

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 28 March 2013 13:09]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2278
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 12:56
Zalamence wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 06:46

Another Combat Card question comes to mind. Since there's no limit on how many CCs are allowed per turn,

Q. Can I first battle normally with artillery, then use a Reposition, then Fortify after moving?

This question is just another Combat Card question, and it has nothing to do with On the Move. I think, however, that "ordered unit" is a phrase which is used elsewhere than in just Combat Cards. At least in a few scenarios you may use orders to bring in reinforcements, but On-the-Move orders are not valid.

Yes, you can Fortify after Repositioning.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 13:53
stevens wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 15:22

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 02:13


The question that we seem to be having is also about when a card says, "After moving and battling". We are also wondering if this means they need to actually battle, or if they can just move.

The On The Move question plays into this, but it also begs the question of whether a unit could be given a normal order and move but not battle, and still recieve the Combat Card.


The very use of the word AND should eliminate all guessing. It means that both Actions are required. Another card says:has moved and/OR battled" and it seems very clear that you have an option to do either one or both. But AND alone means exclusively doing both with no other option.

http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_winter_1.jpg

It is obvious that Richard had an intended meaning when the cards were formulated and produced. We can debate endlessly what the individual intents were based on parsing out the language. I think the simplest thing to do is have Richard declare his intent with each of the cards. No other verbal gymnastics on our part is necessarily going to resolve the issue. And of course, we are only talking about the ENGLISH translation. Laughing Laughing


If possible, I want to avoid finding out the intent behind each and every card. That's my whole point when I say let's figure out the root of our questions...because honestly Richard's intent has already been written on every card!

So if we double check that cards explain what actions are required before they can be used, all other questions become pointless.
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1407
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 14:16
I would say that there exists two main questions:
1. When a card says after battling does the unit have to have battled to enjoy the benefits of the card?

2. If a unit receives an "on the move" order, is that an ordered unit, or just a "moved" unit. That is, can the unit benefit from a combat card that "ordered" units benefit from? (such as reposition)

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 15:26
50th wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 17:16

I would say that there exists two main questions:
1. When a card says after battling does the unit have to have battled to enjoy the benefits of the card?

2. If a unit receives an "on the move" order, is that an ordered unit, or just a "moved" unit. That is, can the unit benefit from a combat card that "ordered" units benefit from? (such as reposition)




I would agree...these seem to be the main questions. I might modify your first one to say,

Q. When a Combat Card says after battling can I only play this card on a unit that battled, or does it just mean I play the card after the Battle Phase and I can play it on any unit that was ordered?

And the second question might be,

Q. If a unit receives an "On the Move" order from a Breakthrough card, is that an ordered unit, or just a "moved" unit. That is, can the unit benefit from a Combat Card that "ordered" units benefit from? (such as reposition)

How do those sound as FAQ questions that will explain most of the confusion we're having? Razz

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 28 March 2013 15:28]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 28 March 2013 15:45
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 10:26

50th wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 17:16

I would say that there exists two main questions:
1. When a card says after battling does the unit have to have battled to enjoy the benefits of the card?

2. If a unit receives an "on the move" order, is that an ordered unit, or just a "moved" unit. That is, can the unit benefit from a combat card that "ordered" units benefit from? (such as reposition)




I would agree...these seem to be the main questions. I might modify your first one to say,

Q. When a Combat Card says after battling can I only play this card on a unit that battled, or does it just mean I play the card after the Battle Phase and I can play it on any unit that was ordered?

And the second question might be,

Q. If a unit receives an "On the Move" order from a Breakthrough card, is that an ordered unit, or just a "moved" unit. That is, can the unit benefit from a Combat Card that "ordered" units benefit from? (such as reposition)

How do those sound as FAQ questions that will explain most of the confusion we're having? Razz


EXCELLENT!
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2278
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 29 March 2013 05:17
It may help to list the Combat cards to which this might apply: Armor Forward, Camouflage, Fortify, Frozen Ground, Reposition.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2163
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 31 March 2013 11:11
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 07:22

Would this mean that a regularly ordered artillery that moves instead of battling couldn't be Repositioned? Or, for that matter, Fortified?


or ...

An artillery unit is ordered and declares an attack. But it does not battle because it has to retreat due to Ambush card played against it?

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 31 March 2013 11:12]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 31 March 2013 12:03
As always, Richard was happy to answer our questions! He sent me a quick reply for some questions that have come up lately. Here's what he said:

Q. May a unit start adjacent to hedgerow hex, move to another adjacent hex, attack an enemy unit on a hedgerow hex and then Take Ground into the hedgerow hex?
A. No. Hedgerow slow troops down if a unit wants to move onto the hedgerow hex, the unit cannot move on the same turn it enters a hedgerow hex.

Q. How do new units, Jeep or Command Car unit, move along a road, when ordered by the Infantry Assault card?
A. If the Jeep or Command Car unit starts on a road and stays on the road for the entire move, a Jeep - moves 4 hexes and may battle
and a Command Car - moves 4 hexes. Command Cars may not battle.

Q. Can a unit on a Frozen River place Sandbags if Dig-In is played on it?
A. No. Frozen Rivers are not considered land hexes for the purpose of Dig-In.

Q. Can a unit move directly from a Frozen River to a Bridge?
A. No. This move is not possible.

Q. If an Airplane Strafed and landed on an Airfield, would the player use the Fortify Combat Card to place a Sandbag on the Plane?
A. No. Fortify can only be used for ground units.

Q. If I played the Sniper Combat Card and brought a Sniper into a scenario with Exit Markers, can I exit the Sniper off the board to gain a medal?
A. No. A Sniper never counts as a medal.

Q. When a Combat Card says "after battling", can I only play this card on a unit that battled, or does it just mean that I play the card after the Battle Phase and I can play it on any unit that was ordered?
A. You can play any Combat Card on any unit that was issued an order this turn. The unit does not have to move or battle to receive a Combat Card, unless the card specifically says otherwise.

Q. If a unit receives an "On the Move" order from a Breakthrough card, is that an ordered unit or just a 'moved' unit? That is, can the unit benefit from a Combat Card that 'ordered' units benefit from (such as Reposition)?
A. On the Move orders are exactly like every other order except that those units cannot battle. Combat Cards can be played on units that were activated with On the Move orders.

Q. Can "On the Move" orders be used for the Paradrop action?
A. Yes


These have already been added to the FAQ update that will be coming soon. Enjoy and happy gaming!! Cool

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 01 April 2013 22:28]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 03:01
With the answers to the questions I just posted, the FAQ is finished and almost ready to release. If you have any burning questions that haven't been answered before, now is a good time to ask them...this doesn't mean I want you to invent questions, but if you have any it would make sense to ask them now.

Take care and may the dice go your way! Cool

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 02 April 2013 03:01]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2278
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 03:12
Jesse and Richard, you're both gems, as always!!!

Thank you.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 14:33
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 31 March 2013 06:03

As always, Richard was happy to answer our questions! He sent me a quick reply for some questions that have come up lately. Here's what he said:

Q. May a unit start adjacent to hedgerow hex, move to another adjacent hex, attack an enemy unit on a hedgerow hex and then Take Ground into the hedgerow hex?
A. No. Hedgerow slow troops down if a unit wants to move onto the hedgerow hex, the unit cannot move on the same turn it enters a hedgerow hex.


EDIT:
A. No. Hedgerow (Hedgerows) slow troops down if a unit wants to move onto the hedgerow hex, the unit cannot move on the same turn it enters a hedgerow hex.(the word Hedgerow should be plural)

Quote:


Q. Can a unit move directly from a Frozen River to a Bridge?
A. No. This move is not possible.



This question leads to another unfortunately. Since a BRIDGE and a FROZEN RIVER are passable terrain, even if a unit cannot move from a FROZEN RIVER to an adjacent BRIDGE, may it still retreat onto it?
      
tinsoldier
Senior Member
Membre FFM44

Pages Perso
Messages: 498
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 17:40
"Move on road" question:

If two road hexes are adjacent, but not connected by the road depicted on the hexes, may a unit move from one hex to the other and still benefit from the road bonus ?

For example, see map below:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=5876

Let's I have a unit on the horizontal road on the 2nd row of hexes, next to the village hex. If the unit moves to the right to go to the exit hex, does it need to go "up" to the "X" road, before going "down", or can it just move horizontaly and still move +1 hex?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 19:02
tinsoldier wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 11:40

"Move on road" question:

If two road hexes are adjacent, but not connected by the road depicted on the hexes, may a unit move from one hex to the other and still benefit from the road bonus ?

For example, see map below:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=5876

Let's I have a unit on the horizontal road on the 2nd row of hexes, next to the village hex. If the unit moves to the right to go to the exit hex, does it need to go "up" to the "X" road, before going "down", or can it just move horizontaly and still move +1 hex?


This question is already in the FAQ:
Quote:

Q. If Road hex tiles are adjacent on the board, although the Road images themselves are not visually connected, will I still get the Road bonus of one extra hex since I'm on Road hexes the entire turn?
A. No, you will not receive the Road movement bonus of moving one additional hex unless the unit moves directly along the connected Road images.

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 02 April 2013 19:05]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2163
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 19:14
[quote title=stevens wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 08:33]
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 31 March 2013 06:03

As always, Richard was happy to answer our questions! He sent me a quick reply for some questions that have come up lately. Here's what he said:

Quote:


Q. Can a unit move directly from a Frozen River to a Bridge?
A. No. This move is not possible.



This question leads to another unfortunately. Since a BRIDGE and a FROZEN RIVER are passable terrain, even if a unit cannot move from a FROZEN RIVER to an adjacent BRIDGE, may it still retreat onto it?


As a bridge is not passable terrain from a frozen river (sort of like a move / retreat from a countryside hex is not allowed directly to a mountainhex) so I would say that a retreat is not possible either.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 19:23
[quote title=tank commander wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 13:14]
stevens wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 08:33

rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 31 March 2013 06:03

As always, Richard was happy to answer our questions! He sent me a quick reply for some questions that have come up lately. Here's what he said:

Quote:


Q. Can a unit move directly from a Frozen River to a Bridge?
A. No. This move is not possible.



This question leads to another unfortunately. Since a BRIDGE and a FROZEN RIVER are passable terrain, even if a unit cannot move from a FROZEN RIVER to an adjacent BRIDGE, may it still retreat onto it?


As a bridge is not passable terrain from a frozen river (sort of like a move / retreat from a countryside hex is not allowed directly to a mountainhex) so I would say that a retreat is not possible either.


I agree with you totally, but the question is will someone else ask it. You may also not move from the river to a bridge if on a raft. This is already in the FAQ. So maybe you are correct in saying that it is already defined. Thanks TC.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 20:19
Richard sent me some extra clarification on this issue. Here is what will go into the FAQ. As always, thank you Richard for your constant support of this amazing game!!

Q. Can a unit move or retreat from a Bridge onto a Frozen River hex or vice versa?
A. No. This move or retreat move is not possible.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 03 April 2013 18:29]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 21:00
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 14:19

Richard sent me some extra clarification on this issue. Here is what will go into the FAQ. As always, thank you Richard for your constant support of this amazing game!!

Q. Can a unit move or retreat from a Bridge onto a Frozen River hex or visa versa?
A. No. This move or retreat move is not possible.



Thanks for going the extra mile Jesse. I think that question and answer removes ALL doubt.
Smile
      
tinsoldier
Senior Member
Membre FFM44

Pages Perso
Messages: 498
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 02 April 2013 22:31
stevens wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 19:02

tinsoldier wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 11:40

"Move on road" question:

If two road hexes are adjacent, but not connected by the road depicted on the hexes, may a unit move from one hex to the other and still benefit from the road bonus ?

For example, see map below:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=5876

Let's I have a unit on the horizontal road on the 2nd row of hexes, next to the village hex. If the unit moves to the right to go to the exit hex, does it need to go "up" to the "X" road, before going "down", or can it just move horizontaly and still move +1 hex?


This question is already in the FAQ:
Quote:

Q. If Road hex tiles are adjacent on the board, although the Road images themselves are not visually connected, will I still get the Road bonus of one extra hex since I'm on Road hexes the entire turn?
A. No, you will not receive the Road movement bonus of moving one additional hex unless the unit moves directly along the connected Road images.



Thks Stevens. Couldn't find it in the FAQ. Where did you got the answer ?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 03 April 2013 04:36
tinsoldier wrote on Tue, 02 April 2013 16:31

Thks Stevens. Couldn't find it in the FAQ. Where did you got the answer ?


P.4 FAQ Supplement
http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_faq_supp_v1- 0_en.pdf
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 03 April 2013 21:21
Hope I'm not too late, 3 issues came up for games lately.

A dispute came up with regard to the score for games that have what I call Required Medals (or condition).
Q1: IN SCENARIOS WITH A REQUIREMENT, DO YOU STILL COUNT AN EXTRA KILL AS A POINT?

Examples follow:

1. The Surrender of Elster's Column has the rule that the Germans must exit 3 units to win. My understanding is that kills don't generate medals for the Germans. So his score should be 0,1,2, or 8 (which is what the Allies' victory condition is). Right?

2. In the Audie Murphy scenario, Quarry at Cleury, the Allies must score 5 victory points (V.P.s) to win, including the medal site. My understanding is that once the Allies kill 4 units (not counting snipers) further kills don't give points. However, in the tournament I played, where medal count of the match counted as tie-breaker on split games, he counted kills made above 4.

3. In the Vercors campaign, the Germans win Battle of Valchevrière with 7 V.P.s including the medal site and win Battle for the Passes with 6 V.P.s including the medal site. My understanding is that after the 6th or 5th kill, respectively, they no longer score points for further kills. Since it's a campaign, some people may be counting these for their total campaign score.

4. Breakthrough at Mortain: Axis must score 5/7 objective medals, with no medals for kills. Since the Allies need 12, should the Axis score be 0-4 for loss, and 12 for victory?


My 2nd question refers to Paradrops, but maybe should be in Campaign Books or CB FAQ. In the normal FAQ, CAN WE GET A BRIEF SUMMARY THAT COVERS ALL SITUATIONS? (Something like this?)

1. Before start (after seeing cards) make X drops of handful of Y figures, which becomes a full unit on successful landing. (Sainte-Mère-Eglise X=1, Y=4; Operation Amherst X=3, Y=3). Units can battle on turn.
2. At start of turn 2, make a drop (Massacre at Vassieux-en-Vercors campaign bonus X=1, Y=1?). Unit can battle on turn 2?
(I'm likely playing this one again next week.)
3. Make initial drops over a star. (Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night 101st, X=3, Y=3)
4. After daylight, use an order to drop figures above a star (Manado Landing X=orders, Y=1). On successful landing, star is removed. Unit can't battle this turn.
5. After daylight, use an order to drop figures above a target (Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night 101st X=1, Y=up to 3 orders). Units can't battle this turn. One time drop?

3rd Question came up with regard to Air Rules with Urban Combat Cards:
SHOULD AIR BOMBARDMENT COUNT AS AN AIR SORTIE EQUIVALENT? Or just played as written?

Thanks.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 03 April 2013 22:28]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2163
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 03 April 2013 22:18
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 15:21

Hope I'm not too late, 3 issues came up for games lately.

A dispute came up with regard to the score for games that have what I call Required Medals (or condition).
Q1: IN SCENARIOS WITH A REQUIREMENT, DO YOU STILL COUNT AN EXTRA KILL AS A POINT?

Examples follow:

2. In the Audie Murphy scenario, Quarry at Cleury, the Allies must score 5 victory points (V.P.s) to win, including the medal site. My understanding is that once the Allies kill 4 units (not counting snipers) further kills don't give points. However, in the tournament I played, where medal count of the match counted as tie-breaker on split games, he counted kills made above 4.

3. In the Vercors campaign, the Germans win Battle of Valchevrière with 7 V.P.s including the medal site and win Battle for the Passes with 6 V.P.s including the medal site. My understanding is that after the 6th or 5th kill, respectively, they no longer score points for further kills. Since it's a campaign, some people may be counting these for their total campaign score.

Thanks.



This section from Pg 3 of the FAQ covers 2 & 3 above I believe:

Q. If a scenario cannot be won until I capture a specific objective, can I increase my final medal count by destroying other units before I capture the objective?

A. No. Like the answer about the multi-point objective, you cannot pad your score. For score-keeping purposes you will only
receive the number of medals outlined in the conditions of victory section if you win.


The case where the fellow running the tourney and allowing additional medals to count for tie breakers really should not be considered here.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 03 April 2013 22:19]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 April 2013 03:29
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 15:21

My 2nd question refers to Paradrops, but maybe should be in Campaign Books or CB FAQ. In the normal FAQ, CAN WE GET A BRIEF SUMMARY THAT COVERS ALL SITUATIONS? (Something like this?)

1. Before start (after seeing cards) make X drops of handful of Y figures, which becomes a full unit on successful landing. (Sainte-Mère-Eglise X=1, Y=4; Operation Amherst X=3, Y=3). Units can battle on turn.
2. At start of turn 2, make a drop (Massacre at Vassieux-en-Vercors campaign bonus X=1, Y=1?). Unit can battle on turn 2?
(I'm likely playing this one again next week.)
3. Make initial drops over a star. (Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night 101st, X=3, Y=3)
4. After daylight, use an order to drop figures above a star (Manado Landing X=orders, Y=1). On successful landing, star is removed. Unit can't battle this turn.
5. After daylight, use an order to drop figures above a target (Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night 101st X=1, Y=up to 3 orders). Units can't battle this turn. .


I believe that all of these questions are answered adequately in the FAQ and are specific to each scenario. As far as those questions related to the Campaign Book scenarios they have been answered in the past in former posts and in the CAMPAIGN BOOK SUPPLEMENTALS found in the Campaign Books sections online.
      
Pages (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Sujet précédent:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Sujet suivant:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Aller au forum: