Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Polish Dragoons
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Jackson62
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 33
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2011
Polish Dragoons Sun, 21 April 2013 23:33
Dragoons ordered like infantry but battle like armor. When Dragoon are attacked are hits recorded on tank & grenade rolls? Armor terrain restrictions when battling and firing out of towns?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Polish Dragoons Mon, 22 April 2013 02:07
Jackson62 wrote on Sun, 21 April 2013 17:33

Dragoons ordered like infantry but battle like armor. When Dragoon are attacked are hits recorded on tank & grenade rolls? Armor terrain restrictions when battling and firing out of towns?


This only means that if the units take ground after a close assault battle, they may battle again just like other Cavalry Units. They are hit by infantry symbols on the dice and grenades, not armor symbols.

From the EQUIPMENT PACK Rules:
Quote:

Polish Cavalry
(Troops 8 - Cavalry)
When indicated in the scenario's Briefing Notes, place 4 Cavalry figures in each scenario hex containing an
Infantry symbol with a Cavalry badge.
A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat.
An ordered Cavalry unit:
x May move up to 3 hexes and battle.
x May battle any enemy target 2 or fewer hexes away. It rolls 2 dice in Close Assault and 1 die against a target at 2 hexes.
x May, on a successful Close Assault combat, Take Ground and battle again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun combat.


DRAGOONS
They also fire at 3-2 in close assault and have infantry restrictions on firing into and out of terrain.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 22 April 2013 02:16]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 113
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Polish Dragoons Mon, 22 April 2013 15:25
How do they behave with eg. bunkers? They are infantry, but move like armor.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 895
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Polish Dragoons Mon, 22 April 2013 16:01
Zalamence wrote on Mon, 22 April 2013 15:25

How do they behave with eg. bunkers? They are infantry, but move like armor.


I'd say that any impassable terrain for Armor is also impassable for Dragoons. The same may be aplicable about Taking Ground: if it's not possible for Armor units then it's not for Cavalry either.

On the other hand and strictly speaking they are not Infantry: they are ordered with the same cards as any Infantry unit would. It's confusing if we say that they are "infantry"

This is how we play it, but more seasoned players may bring up more light.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 667
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Polish Dragoons Mon, 22 April 2013 16:51
I'm glad I'm not the only one who has troubles with these rules
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=268352#msg_268352

is were I askes about the same question.....
Ordered like infantry (thus with command cards that order infantry)
but move and battle as armor.

So attaking a bunker, forest and town (etc) is not possible because you only have 2 dice to start with??

And they battle as armor but take losses as infantry???

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 22 April 2013 16:55]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 895
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Polish Dragoons Mon, 22 April 2013 20:58
Antoi wrote on Mon, 22 April 2013 16:51

I'm glad I'm not the only one who has troubles with these rules
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=268352#msg_268352

is were I askes about the same question.....
Ordered like infantry (thus with command cards that order infantry)
but move and battle as armor.

So attaking a bunker, forest and town (etc) is not possible because you only have 2 dice to start with??

And they battle as armor but take losses as infantry???


Yea, the more I read your post the more confused I'm as well Laughing

Well, I'm sure some of the experts-geeks will show up and will help us.

Cheers

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 22 April 2013 20:58]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 903
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Polish Dragoons Mon, 22 April 2013 23:40
Cavalry are infantry units and are ordered and move as such. Nothing in the rules contradicts this IMO. The only caveat is with regard to overrun (like armor).

So terrain passable by infantry is also passable by cavalry, at present at least.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 22 April 2013 23:42]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Pages Perso
Messages: 1078
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2007
Re:Polish Dragoons Tue, 23 April 2013 09:47
Antoi wrote on Mon, 22 April 2013 15:51

So attaking a bunker.... is not possible because you only have 2 dice to start with??


Historically I think that sounds about right. You'll have them attacking tanks next Wink
      
OldBloodandGuts
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 307
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2007
Re:Polish Dragoons Tue, 23 April 2013 18:35
I don't have any specific answers for the rules, but it's important to remember that historically, the Polish cavalry in WW2 was basically just mobile infantry. They fought dismounted, and many outfits were also equipped with Artillery, AT, and AA guns, and sometimes even small tanks. They didn't fight from horseback; horses just got them to the lines more quickly.

They might stay mounted on the horses for recon purposes, but when it came to fighting, they used infantry tactics.

Granted I'm no expert on Polish cavalry, but that's what I've read.

So I guess with that knowledge, I'd be curious *why* the rules are written as they are. If anything, it seems like it would make more sense to have dragoons move like armor but be treated like infantry for combat and ordering.
      
magick
Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 51
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2004
  Re:Polish Dragoons Wed, 24 April 2013 13:57
With regards to O.B.&.G's reference to describing the various roles employed by the Polish Dragoons,this seems to be the most logical answer to this subject.Yes,they did have artillery,yes,they did dismount to fight and I agree that this is the reason why they are treated as normal infantry.On the other hand though,they only combat at 3,2 instead of 3,2,1 like a normal infantry unit would do.
      
    
Sujet précédent:I dont use Micro S Excel ! any blank forms for Copy ?
Sujet suivant:Operation Barbarrosa - Grand Campaign
Aller au forum: