Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 890
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies Tue, 16 July 2013 11:40
Hello,

One question that came to my mind while re-reading the Special Rules of some scenarios included in the Equipment Pack regarding this unit.

On one hand, the rules for this new unit state:
Screaming Meemies, p. 3 Equipment Pack


When indicated in the scenario's Briefing Notes, place a Screaming Meemies unit (two Nebelwerfer figures) on the corresponding hex. [...]
At the player's choice, Screaming Meemies may either fire Incendiary or Smoke shells when the unit battles. The type of shells fired by a unit of Screaming Meemies must stay the same through the entire turn though;[...]


On the other hand, some scenarios (note that not on all of them where this unit is used) include the following Special Rule:
Special Rule for Screaming Meemies


Smoke Shells rules (Actions 31 - Smoke Shells) are in effect for the Nebelwerfer (Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies)


My understanding is, as per the rule booklet, that Screaming Meemies can either fire HE or SM, at player's choice, once the unit is deployed and present in the scenario.

1. Why do some scenarios include this Special Rule whereas others not?
2. Is this Special Rule limiting the use of HE?

Thanks

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2247
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies Tue, 16 July 2013 14:22
Apparently, there are some scenarios where smoke shells can't be used. (Just as there are some scenarios where Halftracks can't resupply.) But units flagged by a Nebelwerfer still wouldn't be able to resist a flag without Bitter Resistance from a Combat card.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 890
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies Tue, 16 July 2013 15:21
Sam,

since you have played Operation Epsom like me, is there any restriction in the use of any of the shells? Nothing is said in the Special Rules, so we have allowed the use of any of both, HE or SM.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies Sun, 04 August 2013 11:29
The rules in this scenario simple state what kind off 'smoke actioncard' to used, being card 31.

/-> remember there is also a 'smoke screen action card nr 21', used in older scenarios. It has not bin mentioned card 31 overrides card 21, so FROM EP ON, in all scenarios it can be specified, the use off card 31 rules. If not you use card 21 rules as in the good old days before EP.

Your scenario 'Operation Epsom', does NOT mention any special rules for 'the Screeming Meemies' (being 'limited' to smoke only), so you can use as you please both HE and Smoke(action 31).

Unlike in EP 8: Battle at Singling
" Smoke Shells rules (Actions 31 - Smoke Shells) are in effect for the Nebelwerfer (Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies), which can only fire Smoke shells in this scenario, not Incendiary ones. "

In EP 8 it is specificly added to the rules for this scenario !

/-> remember to check the official rules at DoW website, since the EP book has an errata (does not mention this rule) in the printed booklet !


THE WAY TO USE ANY RULES I WOULD SAY:

Keep it simple: "If nothing is mentioned specificly use the comon, first hand, rules as mentioned on the reference cards."
      
    
Sujet précédent:Seeking Tigers in the Snow (have spare Hedgerow Hell) & Op Overlord
Sujet suivant:Road block question
Aller au forum: