Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Small World - English » Questions about the Catapult
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Senseless
Member

Messages: 43
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2008
Questions about the Catapult Mon, 11 October 2010 15:59
From the Rules:
Once per turn, you may place the Catapult in a region you occupy to conquer any region that is 1 region away (but not adjacent) at 1 less token than usual. The Catapult may be used to attack a region beyond the Lake, but not over Seas. The region with the Catapult is immune to enemy conquests as well as their racial and special powers. The Catapult disappears when you go into Decline.

Reading this has made me wonder...

1) The "Once per turn" applies to the placing of the catapult only or to the placing and the conquest? Can you attack more than one region with the aid of the catapult?

2) Three regions A, B and C, A&B and B&C are adjacent, A&C aren't. Does placing the catapult in A allow the conquest of C without having conquered B? or is the catapult only for combat support and you must conquer B in order to conquer C?

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 11 October 2010 16:00]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Entraînement au combat niveau avancé

Pages Perso
Messages: 3194
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Questions about the Catapult Mon, 11 October 2010 23:04
1). [update ! please see Antoine's answer below]

2). You do not have to conquer B to attack C, in your example. You can catapult your troops over B and directly onto C. Just remember to strap on your helmet. Laughing

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 17 September 2013 10:46] Par Modérateur

      
Senseless
Member

Messages: 43
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2008
Re:Questions about the Catapult Tue, 12 October 2010 00:10
That's what I thought.
Thanks for the quick answer!
      
RémiP
Junior Member

Messages: 26
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2010
Re:Questions about the Catapult Tue, 12 October 2010 12:18
Can we jump above a region we control with the catapult ?

For example with the same A,B and C (A, B and C, A&B and B&C are adjacent, A&C aren't), if I control A and B, can I jump from A to C with the catapult ?
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Entraînement au combat niveau avancé

Pages Perso
Messages: 3194
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Questions about the Catapult Wed, 13 October 2010 19:57
Yes (and of course it's only region C that can be attacked at -1, not region B).
      
RémiP
Junior Member

Messages: 26
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2010
Re:Questions about the Catapult Wed, 13 October 2010 22:23
I don't really understand.. I control A and B, I don't use the catapult from my frontier, but I put it one territory behind (on A) to jump above B (that I already control !!) That way, can I take C with all the bonuses of the catapult ?

I'm sorry if that was what you meant, but I just want to be sure.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 13 October 2010 22:28]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Entraînement au combat niveau avancé

Pages Perso
Messages: 3194
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Questions about the Catapult Wed, 13 October 2010 23:02
Yes, that is what I meant.
      
parthemore
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2013
Re:Questions about the Catapult Sun, 15 September 2013 04:36
"Once per turn" applies to the placing and using of the catapult.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Questions about the Catapult Mon, 16 September 2013 10:26
Nope. The answer given above by Eric is an official answer. So as stated, "once per turn" only applies to the placement of the catapult.
      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historien

Pages Perso
Messages: 1658
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2007
Re:Questions about the Catapult Tue, 17 September 2013 10:45
No this is an old answer that is no longer relevant.
In the meantime, Philippe Keyaerts confirmed that the Capatult can only be used ONCE per turn for conquest purposes (as in the Small World 2 App).
      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Questions about the Catapult Tue, 17 September 2013 12:10
OK, thanks for the clarification then!
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

Pages Perso
Messages: 155
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Questions about the Catapult Tue, 24 September 2013 22:22
So, for the past 3 years we've all been playing wrong based on an "official clarification" of an insufficiently explained rule set.

Today I just discovered this on the iPad App2--it was a rude awakening which I was sure was a programming glitch. No, even better, it's a rules change put into effect years after the expansion came out. I absolutely can't believe it.

Mr. Keyaerts has taken a power that was pretty awesome and totally neutered it. I guess it's his design, so he can do whatever he wants. But it's no fun. And now it's one of the weakest powers in the game. Whoop-dee-doo, I have 1 region you can't attack...and it might be different next turn...lame.

Probably I won't bother to update my Clarifications sheets. I won't be changing the way I play at home, and I'll probably just avoid choosing the Catapult online. (You'd think the only siege weapon in the game would be a little more...I don't know...imposing?)
      
Jabooty_3
Senior Member
KS Backer - Orc

Pages Perso
Messages: 106
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2010
Re:Questions about the Catapult Wed, 25 September 2013 02:34
DannyMack wrote on Tue, 24 September 2013 15:22

So, for the past 3 years we've all been playing wrong based on an "official clarification" of an insufficiently explained rule set.

Today I just discovered this on the iPad App2--it was a rude awakening which I was sure was a programming glitch. No, even better, it's a rules change put into effect years after the expansion came out. I absolutely can't believe it.

Mr. Keyaerts has taken a power that was pretty awesome and totally neutered it. I guess it's his design, so he can do whatever he wants. But it's no fun. And now it's one of the weakest powers in the game. Whoop-dee-doo, I have 1 region you can't attack...and it might be different next turn...lame.

Probably I won't bother to update my Clarifications sheets. I won't be changing the way I play at home, and I'll probably just avoid choosing the Catapult online. (You'd think the only siege weapon in the game would be a little more...I don't know...imposing?)


Edit: misunderstood the previous messages and just saw your exchange with Eric in the KS section.

Too bad you can't catapult many times in the same turn without the offensive bonus. This won't affect my decision to get the BNA IAP once SW2 loses some of its shiny newness, but it is a damper to learn.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 25 September 2013 05:34]

      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

Pages Perso
Messages: 155
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Questions about the Catapult Wed, 25 September 2013 22:46
(I didn't see your initial post anyway you edited t so fast, LOL.)

Well, obviously I bought the BNA IAP too, but it's a mean stroke, when Catapult was the only power in the set that I liked to begin with. For me, Mercenary just isn't fun. Barricade & Imperial are very useful in the right pairings and good balancing additions to the game, but not much fun to play (unless you're winning, I guess.) Then there's Corrupt which feels like a non-power.

Glad I'm not the only one who was bummed. (FYI: I added you as a buddy.)

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 25 September 2013 22:50]

      
    
Sujet précédent:smallworld underground- map clarification
Sujet suivant:Favorite custom race/power you found on this site?
Aller au forum: