Forums

Recherche
Forums » Small World - English » Official Small World Underground FAQ
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Ninjaguiden
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 02 July 2013 00:20
A couple of flame question that led to a game being broken up before it was completed:

1. The Brass Pipe works with the flames racial power, thisw is clear in the FAQ. How doe the power interact with the magic carpet?

2. If a flame token is isolated from the volcano, can you use the racial power originating from that tile, even if it's no longer linked to the volcano?

I love the game, but your ruleswriting led to a tense and sad situation in our group.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 02 July 2013 14:46
1. I consider that the Magic Carpet does not allow you to use the Flames' power. A distant region conquered with this Relic is not linked to the Volcano.

2. I think the rules are pretty clear about it : a Flame token that is not linked to the Volcano cannot use its power. So you can't use the racial power originating from an isolated tile.


Have fun! ^^
      
Ninjaguiden
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 02 July 2013 18:05
Deio wrote on Tue, 02 July 2013 14:46

1. I consider that the Magic Carpet does not allow you to use the Flames' power. A distant region conquered with this Relic is not linked to the Volcano.

2. I think the rules are pretty clear about it : a Flame token that is not linked to the Volcano cannot use its power. So you can't use the racial power originating from an isolated tile.


Have fun! ^^


I would agree on you concering the carpet, but I would love if an offical answer was added to the FAQ.

About point 2 I had the same idea, maybe a picture on of the situation could put it to rest? But I think it's pretty clear what with:

"Any region adjacent to
the Volcano, or continu-
ously linked to it via Regions occupied by your
Flames
, is attacked at the same Flames token
cost as if the region was empty."

Also, can you move the volcano if you abandon all regions and start anew?
      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 03 July 2013 10:28
I am really unsure you will be able to get an official answer on this one. But if you really want one, I would advise you to look for old questions about "Flying Giants" and "Flying Sorcerers" (the Magic Carpet giving you a power that is similar to the "Flying" ability).

There were many questions about these two races, and official answers were given. If I recall correctly, official answers stated that the "Flying" power allowed Sorcerers to use their power, as it was considered as an attack, and "Flying" allows you to attack wherever you want ; whereas it did not allow the Giants to use theirs, as it did'nt make a Mountain region adjacent to other distant regions.

But then again, your question about the Flames could still be argued.
      
a1bert
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 01 September 2013 11:50
Antoine wrote on Thu, 16 June 2011 18:19

Iron Dwarves
Q. Is it possible to conquer a region with nothing but Silver Hammers?
A. Yes, but as you will be forced to remove them at turn's end, the region will be lost (unless you redeploy an Iron Dwarf in that region).



Edit: Nevermind, there wasn't a good explanation or rationale about the FAQ entry before, so I don't think there will be anything more now. How we get the ruling in the FAQ entry anyway?

Page 5 of the rulebook says:
Important Note: Regardless of a Race and/or a Special Power benefit, a player must always have at least one Race token available to initiate a new conquest.

The Silver Hammers are a Race benefit, so you would need at least one race token to start a conquest, and that race token would most probably need to accompany the conquest.

So, does that mean that Iron Dwarves can use just Iron Hammers to conquer as long as they keep one unused Race token in hand, or must you accompany each conquest with at least one Race token after all?

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 01 September 2013 11:54]

      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 02 September 2013 09:12
The official answer is as simple as that : you can use Hammers to conquer a region, even if they are not accompanied by a race token, and whatever you have left in hand.

If that makes it clearer to you : Hammers can be considered as race tokens when conquering regions.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 02 September 2013 09:15]

      
Spaniol
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 13 September 2013 15:33
Quote:

Q. There are some Gnome tokens on a region bordering a chasm. Can Spiderines attack these Gnomes by DIRECTLY crawling upon them from the chasm?
A. No, they need to first conquer an adjacent non-Gnome region bordering the chasm, and only then attack those Gnomes.

Quote:

Q.Can Lizardmen run over the river to directly conquer a region that is occupied by Gnomes?
A. No, because it would mean that they use their Race Power to conquer a region.


I would say that shouldn't be like that. Spiderines only use they ability to get to a territory. Gnomes shouldn't be able to block the way they go there, only the way they are able to conquer it.

Let's say they'are Vengeful Spiderines. As Spiderines, they can get to a gnome territory however they want, but to conquer, they shouldn't be able to use a Vengance marker on them, regardless if Gonmes attacked them before.

Same thing with Bronze Pipe, a Flyer race, Lizardmen running over a river gnome region, or whatever. Every race get to a certain place the way they want They are not using that ability or power to conquer that territory, just to reach it.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 16 September 2013 10:35
Well, you have the official answers here, but you are free to play the way you want.
      
Spaniol
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 22 September 2013 22:30
Cultists

Q. Whatever happens to the Great Ancient when the cultists go into decline?
      
Proto Persona
Senior Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

Pages Perso
Messages: 118
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 23 September 2013 00:04
Mosquera wrote on Sun, 22 September 2013 15:30

Cultists

Q. Whatever happens to the Great Ancient when the cultists go into decline?

Petty sure the rulebook itself tells you the great ancient goes away when they decline.
      
Spaniol
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 23 September 2013 03:09
Cultists
Place the Great Ancient in the first Region
your Cultists conquer. This region is immune. Conquer any region adjacent to the
Great Ancient (this includes any Region
that may be adjacent as a result of any
Racial, Special Power, Popular Place or Righteous
Relic you may control) at 1 less Cultist token than
usual. A minimum of 1 Cultist token is still required.
At the start of each of your following turns, you may
move your Great Ancient to the Region of your choice that your
Cultists already occupy.

But, please, do not believe me:
http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/smallworld/en/img/su_rules_en.p df

Would you be so kind to show me? (for real), cause I still don't see that piece of information.

Just tell me the page number, I'll read it.
      
Proto Persona
Senior Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

Pages Perso
Messages: 118
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 23 September 2013 08:03
Yeah, you're right, it's not in the rulebook. However, if you look on the in-decline side of the cultists race banner the great ancient is not still there. Generally if a race or power continues in decline then the power is on both sides. Take a look at royal, kraken and liches for example.

Sorry about misleading you.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 23 September 2013 08:04]

      
Spaniol
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 23 September 2013 20:29
You are right. Didn't think on checking that. It should be on the rulebook, however.
      
Spaniol
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 07 October 2013 22:23
If a player holds a PP or a RR, and this player goes into decline... does this player's new race have to attack his/her in-decline race in order to re-gain control of some given artifact or place?

I know, some of them are explicit about it, but some of them are not, as The Great Brass Pipe. In those cases, what would it be the default method to play?

a) The player keeps actively controlling that RR/PP with his/her in-decline race?
b) The player loses control and has to re-gain control of it by attacking him/her self?
      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 08 October 2013 09:07
In-decline races cannot use PP or RR (except if stated otherwise in the PP or RR descritpion).

So if you really want to use the power of a PP or RR controlled by your in-decline race, you will have to attack them with your active race!
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

Pages Perso
Messages: 156
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 08 October 2013 09:20
It IS stated as a rule of the game that races lose their power (read: "Cultists lose their Great Ancient") when they enter in Decline, unless specified otherwise on their badge. So IMO that should be the first place you look.

Why would we imagine there is some other way of playing it other than what is stated in the rules, and then go looking for support for such an assumption in the rulebook itself and (failing that) online. On the front of some badges you will find a tiny little broken column which is there to alert you that something happens with this race on the flipside. This is true for both powers & races. Apart from these exceptions, the general rule applies.

It is easier (more elegant & simple) to teach a game with general rules and deal with specific anomalies as they are encountered. Repeating the same wording for each of the normal races & powers would make the rulebook unnecessarily wordy, which in turn makes the answers harder to find quickly. This is illustrated well, right here, by the number of redundant questions being asked and re-asked in the FAQ threads--many of which are already clearly stated in the rulebook itself. If people can't read the rules as they are, adding more details and specifics and pages isn't going to make the searching any more fruitful.
      
Spaniol
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 08 October 2013 15:15
Yes, about the Cultists... see, someone already answered that and, just like you, he claimed that you could read that one rule on the rulebook, like you pointed out:
(read: "Cultists lose their Great Ancient")
But, again, I tryed to look for it and didn't found it, so I asked online.

You know why did I ask? You point out that it is not necessary to explain something over and over again, be cause it would "make the rulebook unnecessarily wordy". Look, the rulebook already does that. It constantly repeats rules such as: "A minimum of 1 token is still required". So, if the rulebook already does that, it won't get "unnecessarily wordy" by a couple more of specifications, believe me. No one will die.

Tell you even more: if the ruebook already does that, the very fact that something is not specified is odd to me. And, since sometimes some special tokens don't leave the board after in-decline, it was totally plausible to think it could possible stay on board. That's why I asked.

But first, I looked it up on the rulebook, so that way I wouldnt annoy any susceptible fellow, such as yourself. Since I didn't find it there, I went to the forums, although: not to ask, but to look it up. So I looked the rule up, in case someone had already asked about it, but I had no luck.
So then -and just then- I asked in the -already open- thread, that I assume is for asking that kind of questions, right?

Sadly, I couldn't avoid hurting your feelings, no matter how much I tried and now I am so sorry for not being so bright and illuminated like you in this game and I am so sorry for using the Frequently Asked Questions Forum to ask a question that I frequently asked myself, but it clearly wasn't worhty enough for your grace here.

However, I will keep asking questions here whenever I find is necessary, so, as a favor to you (not to me, cause I don't mind), feel completely free to not to answer me, ok? I don't want that blood on my hands.

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 08 October 2013 19:32]

      
Proto Persona
Senior Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

Pages Perso
Messages: 118
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 08 October 2013 20:01
Spaniol wrote on Tue, 08 October 2013 08:15

Yes, about the Cultists... see, someone already answered that and, just like you, he claimed that you could read that one rule on the rulebook, like you pointed out:
(read: "Cultists lose their Great Ancient")
But, again, I tryed to look for it and didn't found it, so I asked online.

You know why did I ask? You point out that it is not necessary to explain something over and over again, be cause it would "make the rulebook unnecessarily wordy". Look, the rulebook already does that. It constantly repeats rules such as: "A minimum of 1 token is still required". So, if the rulebook already does that, it won't get "unnecessarily wordy" by a couple more of specifications, believe me. No one will die.

Tell you even more: if the ruebook already does that, the very fact that something is not specified is odd to me. And, since sometimes some special tokens don't leave the board after in-decline, it was totally plausible to think it could possible stay on board. That's why I asked.

But first, I looked it up on the rulebook, so that way I wouldnt annoy any susceptible fellow, such as yourself. Since I didn't find it there, I went to the forums, although: not to ask, but to look it up. So I looked the rule up, in case someone had already asked about it, but I had no luck.
So then -and just then- I asked in the -already open- thread, that I assume is for asking that kind of questions, right?

Sadly, I couldn't avoid hurting your feelings, no matter how much I tried and now I am so sorry for not being so bright and illuminated like you in this game and I am so sorry for using the Frequently Asked Questions Forum to ask a question that I frequently asked myself, but it clearly wasn't worhty enough for your grace here.

However, I will keep asking questions here whenever I find is necessary, so, as a favor to you (not to me, cause I don't mind), feel completely free to not to answer me, ok? I don't want that blood on my hands.
Heh, I think I like you. ^_^
      
RagdollHero
Junior Member
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 13
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 13 October 2013 20:58
Deio wrote on Mon, 02 September 2013 08:12

The official answer is as simple as that : you can use Hammers to conquer a region, even if they are not accompanied by a race token, and whatever you have left in hand.

If that makes it clearer to you : Hammers can be considered as race tokens when conquering regions.


Because the FAQs are never wrong, right? Remember the catapult ruling?

I think the biggest issue with the current answer is that it directly contradicts the rules for conquering regions.

Page 5: "Regardless of a Race and/or Special Power benefit, a player must always have at least one Race token to initiate a new Conquest." It's even highlighted as important.

The hammers are clearly a race benefit. Unless someone can explain why the Iron Dwarves are the only race that can ignore the above rule, I'll stick with the rulebook on this one.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Messages: 178
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 14 October 2013 09:20
So much for trying to help... Meh, whatever...

Of course FAQs can be wrong, but as of today, they are the only official data I've got to answer you, so I am using them. I could also lie or invent new rules to make you happier, but my mom taught me to be honest...

The "problem" concerning Iron Dwarves has been questioned and discussed many times around here, I am giving you the official answer we got in return. Until we get a new official answer about them, I am using this one.

It is also true that this answer directly contradict the rules, but it is also the case for nearly every power in this game. (You can only conquer regions that are adjacent to your active race, but "Flying" and "Catapult" allows you to do otherwise; you're supposed to only keep one token per region when going into decline, but Ghouls are not submitted to this, etc.)
      
Rumpymaster
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2014
  Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 29 August 2014 04:54
Here's another question for the FAQ. Say that you are playing Small World and Small World Underground together, using the Tunnels expansion to connect them; and you are also using the optional rules that allow placement of Righteous Relics and Popular Places on the "above-ground" Small World map. Now, if the Great Brass Pipe appears on a Farm with a Magic Source, are all Farm terrains and all Magic Source terrains considered to be adjacent to that space?

On the one hand, Magic Sources are "Map Symbols", so perhaps they don't count as "Terrain Types"; but on the other hand, Magic Sources are considered equivalent to Mystic Crystal regions, which clearly ARE a type of terrain.

So, is there an official, definitive ruling on whether or not Magic Sources, Caverns, and Mine symbols can count as adjacent when using the Great Brass Pipe?

Thanks for any help! Smile
      
Sir_Endrew
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2014
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 21 October 2014 14:30
Hello, there! My Q. is about Flames and Stinky troll socks. Using special powers of both of them you can attack regions like they are empty even if they are not. So in that case what happens to the race tokens, that already were there. If they're not attacked in usual meaning, so may be all of them returns to their owner with no any losing?
      
masterdruid817
Member

Messages: 52
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2013
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 21 October 2014 19:21
I don't know about the official ruling, but I play that the flames still cause losses, while the sock doesn't.
      
Pages (6): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6 ]     
Sujet précédent:Interesting Race Banners/Special Power combos
Sujet suivant:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game
Aller au forum: