Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » CB2 island hoppers rule clarification
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
GIZOM
Junior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 4
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2012
CB2 island hoppers rule clarification Tue, 22 October 2013 04:59
First of all im not sure if this is the correct place to put it but I don't think this belongs in the error thread.

In the Home Island campaigns I (marines) rolled leathernecks for what if roll. The description says I get to "promote" 2 infantry units in games that INVOLVE marines. In the Medeera Pocket scenario marine command rules are not in effect however there are marine units present on the board. I know this sounds very technical but from what I interpret from the description is that if there's at least one marine unit there I can use the leathernecks, and that it would specify that marine rules had to be in effect in the description in order to not have the leathernecks.

I would just like to know if im correct in thinking that I can place the leathernecks in said scenario?

Thanks

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 22 October 2013 05:02]

      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 235
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:CB2 island hoppers rule clarification Tue, 22 October 2013 07:51
I would think you get to use it in all scenarios as in the Briefing box in the bottom left corner of all the scenarios it states the allied player as being United States Marine Corps
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2200
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:CB2 island hoppers rule clarification Wed, 23 October 2013 12:10
Here is the exact passage:

In scenarios that involve Marines, place Marine markers on any two infantry units (that aren't already marked). These units may ignore a flag and battle with an additional die. This rule applies to each scenario in the campaign. Leathernecks cannot be upgraded with a Veteran Star.

The wording of this passage certainly leaves room for doubt.

Using involve Marines instead of when US Marine Corps Command rules are in effect is a bit puzzling.

As Medeera Pocket does not use Marine rules but does have two marked Marine units, Marines are involved in this scenario.

I think this one deserves a question posted in the FAQ thread.
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 235
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:CB2 island hoppers rule clarification Wed, 23 October 2013 12:37
tank commander wrote on Wed, 23 October 2013 19:40

Here is the exact passage:

In scenarios that involve Marines, place Marine markers on any two infantry units (that aren't already marked). These units may ignore a flag and battle with an additional die. This rule applies to each scenario in the campaign. Leathernecks cannot be upgraded with a Veteran Star.

The wording of this passage certainly leaves room for doubt.

Using involve Marines instead of when US Marine Corps Command rules are in effect is a bit puzzling.

As Medeera Pocket does not use Marine rules but does have two marked Marine units, Marines are involved in this scenario.

I think this one deserves a question posted in the FAQ thread.


To me it seems pretty straight forward:

In scenarios that involve Marines To me this suggests scenarios where the Allied player is the USMC listed in the Briefing section. place Marine markers on any two infantry units (that aren't already marked).So any infantry unit without a badge of any sort can be upgraded These units may ignore a flag and battle with an additional die. don't think these need clarifying. This rule applies to each scenario in the campaign. So check to see if you are playing as the USMC as the allied player in each scenario. Leathernecks cannot be upgraded with a Veteran Star. this makes sense so you don't end up with some super human unit.

The only thing I think needs clearing up is if in the Medeera pocket scenario is the Allied player USMC or US army, as the briefing refers to the allied player being USMC but then in the specials rules it says the Allied player is the US army.

So if in this scenario the player is USMC then you can use the ability but if it is the US army then you can't
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2200
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:CB2 island hoppers rule clarification Wed, 23 October 2013 22:37
Aussie_Digger wrote on Wed, 23 October 2013 06:37

tank commander wrote on Wed, 23 October 2013 19:40

Here is the exact passage:

In scenarios that involve Marines, place Marine markers on any two infantry units (that aren't already marked). These units may ignore a flag and battle with an additional die. This rule applies to each scenario in the campaign. Leathernecks cannot be upgraded with a Veteran Star.

The wording of this passage certainly leaves room for doubt.

Using involve Marines instead of when US Marine Corps Command rules are in effect is a bit puzzling.

As Medeera Pocket does not use Marine rules but does have two marked Marine units, Marines are involved in this scenario.

I think this one deserves a question posted in the FAQ thread.


To me it seems pretty straight forward:

In scenarios that involve Marines To me this suggests scenarios where the Allied player is the USMC listed in the Briefing section. place Marine markers on any two infantry units (that aren't already marked).So any infantry unit without a badge of any sort can be upgraded These units may ignore a flag and battle with an additional die. don't think these need clarifying. This rule applies to each scenario in the campaign. So check to see if you are playing as the USMC as the allied player in each scenario. Leathernecks cannot be upgraded with a Veteran Star. this makes sense so you don't end up with some super human unit.

The only thing I think needs clearing up is if in the Medeera pocket scenario is the Allied player USMC or US army, as the briefing refers to the allied player being USMC but then in the specials rules it says the Allied player is the US army.

So if in this scenario the player is USMC then you can use the ability but if it is the US army then you can't


I think I said about the same thing in my post. I did not question the whole passage, just the involve Marines part.

All the scenarios list the Allied Player as being United States Marine Corps (which supports the: This rule applies to each scenario in the campaign).

However,in the historical background for Medeera Pocket the Allied combatants are both Army (96th Div) and Marines (2nd battalion - 5th Div). So both services are present and the army have most of the units. But I would tend to think that this What If event could be used here too.

If an official clarification appears it would be a help to add it to the FAQ.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 23 October 2013 22:38]

      
GIZOM
Junior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 4
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2012
Re:CB2 island hoppers rule clarification Thu, 24 October 2013 06:40
Thanks for the quick response guys Smile

and thanks tankcommander for putting this in the cb2 thread. I did come up with one more question however which I will also post in the FAQ section, which is the following: the medeera pocket speacial rules says the following

"Place a Marine badge on the two hexes with Marine infantry units. On the US Army player's turn, in addition to the units ordered by the play of his Command card, the Allied player may also order one of these two Marine Infantry units (his choice).

If I play Behind enemy lines,would I be able to order the "free" marine with the BEL rules or would it be just a simple order (ie normal movement and battle restrictions)
In addition would I be able to order said unit with a TFH even if I do not roll a man or star?

thanks
      
    
Sujet précédent:Equipment Pack Bonus Scenarios for Memoir '44 fans
Sujet suivant:New Scenario: Omaha Beach Breakthrough
Aller au forum: