Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Brandenburgers
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 15:04
If they are still in disguise (they are not recognized by enemy soldiers), can they be pinned down or strafed?
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Pages Perso
Messages: 1063
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 18:11
Presumably treated as a camouflaged unit with regards strafing? Rolling Eyes

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7080
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 19:01
There's nothing in the rules to prevent planes from targeting Brandenburgers. They are not treated like Camouflaged Units; they're just harder to hit, or am I looking at the wrong rules? So it would work exactly like when ground units attack them...

If a plane rolls an Infantry Symbol, Grenade, or Star you must re-roll one die and try to get an Infantry Symbol. If you get the Infantry symbol, the Brandenburger looses the 'hidden' enemy figure and another figure (1 for the initial hit and 1 for the second Infantry roll). Otherwise it gets off free and continues its covert operations!

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 23 April 2009 19:12]

      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 19:53
How many figures gets back, if activated by Med. & Mech. ? 4, because it's a special infantry? I'm not sure. Clarification please!
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Pages Perso
Messages: 786
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:34
I would say they can only get back enough figures to get to the original three Brandenburger figures, and not the fourth "enemy" figure. I don`t think the Med & Mech card can give them back the special ability the extra "enemy" figure gives them.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 23 April 2009 20:35]

      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:41
I second that. They cannot gain back the special ability, but the card from the CB suggests that after being spotted, they're treated like special infantry...so the 4th figure would be a normal German infantry figure (I mean, elite figure, but not enemy figure).

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 23 April 2009 20:42]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7080
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:46
nemesszili wrote on Thu, 23 April 2009 11:41

I second that. They cannot gain back the special ability, but the card from the CB suggests that after being spotted, they're treated like special infantry...so the 4th figure would be a normal German infantry figure (I mean, elite figure, but not enemy figure).


It's not about them being spotted. These units aren't Camouflaged or anything...they can be attacked by anyone. It's just hard to hurt them!

If they attack, they do loose the special ability (making the attacker re-roll) but I think you guys are right and they are still treated like Elite Infantry (move 2 and still attack). Antoine or jdrommel could give us the official word on that though.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 23 April 2009 20:49]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Pages Perso
Messages: 786
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:47
I have to disagree with you here, Nem. On the card it says a Branderburger unit is 3 german figures + 1 enemy figure. After being spotted(having attacked) it is an Elite force with 3 figures, so a m&m card would only take itback up to 3 figures.

The last statement on the cards refers to movement and battle capabilities. So it may move 0-2 and battle.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 23 April 2009 20:52]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7080
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:50
ad79 wrote on Thu, 23 April 2009 11:47

The last statement on the cards refers to movement and battle capabilities. So it may move 0-2 and battle or move 3 and no battle.


The only time a unit gets to move 3 and not battle is when you play the Infantry Assault card. Elite units don't get to move any further...they just get to attack after moving two hexes.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Pages Perso
Messages: 786
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:51
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 23 April 2009 20:50

ad79 wrote on Thu, 23 April 2009 11:47

The last statement on the cards refers to movement and battle capabilities. So it may move 0-2 and battle or move 3 and no battle.


The only time a unit gets to move 3 and not battle is when you play the Infantry Assault card. Elite units don't get to move any further...they just get to attack after moving two hexes.


Sorry, my bad!
But I think I am right about the m&m card.
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:58
I know, how Brandenburgers are used on the battlefield, but the fact that they cannot be engaged so easily it means, that they were succesful in avoiding enemy patrols and so on. But, of course they are NOT Camouflaged,but just hard to identify.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Pages Perso
Messages: 1063
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Thu, 23 April 2009 20:58
ad79 wrote on Thu, 23 April 2009 19:47

On the card it says a Branderburger unit is 3 german figures + 1 enemy figure. After having attacked it is an Elite force with 3 figures, so a m&m card would only take it back up to 3 figures.


Agreed. A unit should never have more figures than it started with and the enemy figure respresents their special ability of being difficult to hit. Though Memoir '44 has no set scale, cammando units were quite small in number.


      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

Pages Perso
Messages: 1842
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2005
Re:Brandenburgers Fri, 24 April 2009 00:50
Good point. It might be wise to mark the Brandenburgers with some other marker along with the elite marker after they have been rumbled, to ensure they don't get confused with other elite infantry which can M&M back to 4 figures.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 24 April 2009 00:51]

      
Cheng
Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 79
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2006
Re:Brandenburgers Fri, 24 April 2009 14:03
yangtze wrote on Thu, 23 April 2009 18:50

Good point. It might be wise to mark the Brandenburgers with some other marker along with the elite marker after they have been rumbled, to ensure they don't get confused with other elite infantry which can M&M back to 4 figures.


They already are - there is a Brandenburger marker.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

Pages Perso
Messages: 1842
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2005
Re:Brandenburgers Fri, 24 April 2009 15:06
Of course there is, so it's no issue. Doh! Very Happy
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 579
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2009
Re:Brandenburgers Sat, 09 November 2013 23:51
Was this question ever resolved ?

(ie, what is a Brandenburger unit restored to, after playing a Medic & Mechanic card onto it )?

My take on it is that the 4th figure is still a commando, (its only an enemy figure to symbolise that the whole unit is disguised as the enemy, is how I understand it).

Therefore the unit ACTUALLy has 4 figures.


Would an M&M card played on it rstore it to 4 figures?

If after it has been 'spotted' and hit, and the Medic card is played onto it, surely the unit is restored up to 4 figures? They just wouldn't have the disguise feature any longer?

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Pages Perso
Messages: 1010
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Sun, 10 November 2013 00:19
Hi JIm, the question is answered in the FAQ:

Q. When a Brandenburgers enemy figure is removed, does a regular friendly figure take its place, or is the unit down by one figure?
A. The unit is down by one figure. The enemy figure is simply a marker.

Q. Can I use the Medics & Mechanics card to heal my Brandenburger unit up to four figures after I’ve removed the enemy figure?
A. No.

Q. Is there any way for me to get the enemy figure back into the Brandenburger unit?
A. No

Hope this answers your question conclusively. Smile
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 204
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Brandenburgers Sun, 10 November 2013 01:59
Do commando units get replacements?
What is the objective of a commando unit?
To get in, hit the target, do the most damage as possible, and get out.
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 579
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2009
Re:Brandenburgers Sun, 10 November 2013 16:46
Thanks Jeronimon, thats helpful to see where it's confirmed.

In answer to 5 star General ..

My way of using the Brandenburg commando unit is to try to get them behind enemy lines unspotted, where a key objective may lie, (paticularly an undefended one) .. They can then sit there as long as they can sustain enemy fire, as they are slightly harder to 'hit'.

I rarely use them to fight with, unless absolutely essential.

But they are great fun to use, and give the Axis player a few more options in grabbing an all important objective !
      
    
Sujet précédent:Strategy and Tactics
Sujet suivant:New Scenarios in M44 Online?
Aller au forum: