Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Small World - English » Question about immunity
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Messages: 269
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2013
Question about immunity Wed, 29 January 2014 17:14
Hi you guys, I've got this game for more than a year now, and I recently got the chance to introduce two new races thanks to the blank tiles.

Actually, this topic isn't about a confusion about an official rule, or maybe it is ? Anyway, I'd like to have your opinion on whether the capacity from one of my creations should apply or not under certain circumstances. So here goes my race :

Mermaids (6) : you score, at the end of your turn, one bonus VP for each coastal region occupied by an active enemy race that is adjacent to at least one of your coastal regions from the same shore.

I tested it and it was well balanced, I'm pretty proud of it. Although there was a game where my Mermaids dumped into races with immunity. I don't know whether I allow the player with Mermaids to score points from an adjacent region that is immune.

My thought is : it is clearly stated that immunity means the immune region is unpregnable and protected against races capacities and racial powers. But does that imply every capacity and power, or just the ones that directly harm the player otherwise ? You can consider that scoring bonus VPs out of adjacency with others is harmful in a way (the thematic is the Mermaids' beautiful voice that enchant their neighbors when they're lying on a shore).

In a few words : should Mermaids be able to pierce immunity with their lovely song ? Or immunity means immune to EVERY capacity and power, including the ones that don't harm you directly but enable the player from scoring extra VPs thanks to a favourable situation ?

Same kind of question for Diplomat Mermaids. If they score from active regions adjacent to theirs, that's not like they attacked this active race, right ? Plus, scoring comes after attacking and it is clearly stated that the player you pick as a friend cannot have been attacked before.

So what do you think ?

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 29 January 2014 17:18]

      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Messages: 87
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2012
Re:Question about immunity Wed, 29 January 2014 23:45
I think youre over thinking this one.
Whilst it's your race and this is why home rulings
exist immunity only applies in terms of conquest.
I like the idea for this race and is one of the more original
mermaid ideas i have heard. But to restrict a player from coins
because an adjacent region is immune isnt in keeping with the
barely tangible smallworld logic.
For example, in SWU the player with froggy's ring can take coins
regardless of the immunity of a region.
I would be fairly confident that the ability could act in a way that seems more logical, otherwise arguments such as:
You can't catapult over my immune region it blocks the catapult Or
Whether shadow mines can get coins from a region containing the balrog would just cause even more chaos.
Also with regards to the diplomat the same logic applies, since a player with diplomat could have coins stolen by the effect of the mermaid, when they are considered immune the same would apply in reverse, the effect of taking coins is a bonus and not a conquest and so any immunity is irrelevant.
Is this clear?
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Messages: 269
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2013
Re:Question about immunity Thu, 30 January 2014 09:44
Dan42hitchikers wrote on Wed, 29 January 2014 23:45

I think youre over thinking this one.
Whilst it's your race and this is why home rulings
exist immunity only applies in terms of conquest.
I like the idea for this race and is one of the more original
mermaid ideas i have heard. But to restrict a player from coins
because an adjacent region is immune isnt in keeping with the
barely tangible smallworld logic.
For example, in SWU the player with froggy's ring can take coins
regardless of the immunity of a region.
I would be fairly confident that the ability could act in a way that seems more logical, otherwise arguments such as:
You can't catapult over my immune region it blocks the catapult Or
Whether shadow mines can get coins from a region containing the balrog would just cause even more chaos.
Also with regards to the diplomat the same logic applies, since a player with diplomat could have coins stolen by the effect of the mermaid, when they are considered immune the same would apply in reverse, the effect of taking coins is a bonus and not a conquest and so any immunity is irrelevant.
Is this clear?


Completely clear. It is the Froggy's Ring that convinced me, much more than the Catapult ^^ Fine, I'll give my Mermaids their exceptional gift Razz

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 30 January 2014 09:44]

      
    
Sujet précédent:Small World 2 is now available for Macintosh
Sujet suivant:Small World Underground - Strategy Guide and Discussion
Aller au forum: