Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » "Ambush from sea"-bug fixed?
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1159
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
"Ambush from sea"-bug fixed? Wed, 29 January 2014 12:47
I just played a game on Juno Beach, and it seems like the "ambush from sea"-bug is fixed. According to my opponent, he had the ambush card activated when I used BEL to attack his unit in the sea. And it didn't get a chance to ambush.

Does this mean there is again development going on on this game?

[edit: this should be in the online forum]

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 29 January 2014 12:47]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:"Ambush from sea"-bug fixed? Wed, 29 January 2014 16:51
I played a game online the other day for the first time in awhile and found I lost 18 credits in one play! So maybe they fixed the bug that sometimes would let you play a game and not be charged. Fortunately they didn't take more than 16 from previous freebies I played last year. If I knew what caused it, I might have taken more advantage!

PS: I'll go through my list of "official scenario errors" and see if they hit any others.

I see they fixed Ambush so tank in trench cannot Ambush, but Sniper can still Ambush a tank.

Other items I've checked today haven't been fixed. Maybe it's in progress. Let me know if you see any other fixes.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 29 January 2014 18:30]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:"Ambush from sea"-bug fixed? Thu, 30 January 2014 01:43
Testing rules against Johnny today, I found I lost 40 more credits without completing a game!

I don't think this is the game "catching up" with me not being charged for some, but rather the 15-minute rule has been removed. That is, if your game is incomplete and you don't finish (like someone leaves and doesn't come back) you get your credits back in 15 minutes.
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 211
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:"Ambush from sea"-bug fixed? Thu, 30 January 2014 05:50
I might be mistaken, but arn't the rules for the on-line game the same as they are for the board game? In the rule book for the core game on page 15, it says under Oceans; "A unit on an Ocean hex may not battle." I don't understand how the ambush card could have been played on the BEL card when a unit in the Ocean cannot battle. Please explain this to me.
Thanks, 5 Star General
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1159
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:"Ambush from sea"-bug fixed? Thu, 30 January 2014 08:50
5 star general wrote on Thu, 30 January 2014 05:50

I might be mistaken, but arn't the rules for the on-line game the same as they are for the board game? In the rule book for the core game on page 15, it says under Oceans; "A unit on an Ocean hex may not battle." I don't understand how the ambush card could have been played on the BEL card when a unit in the Ocean cannot battle. Please explain this to me.
Thanks, 5 Star General

In the past, there was a bug in the online game, which allowed a unit to battle on an ambush card even if the unit was in the ocean.
This bug seems to have been fixed now.

So indeed, you are right: the rules in the on-line game are the same as in the tabletop game, but there have been a few bugs in the online game that have somehow altered the rules unintentionally. It's good to see that those bugs are being fixed.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:"Ambush from sea"-bug fixed? Mon, 17 February 2014 17:27
It turns out the bug has NOT been fixed.

When I tested it on Automatic, it seemed to be corrected.

My opponent had his Ambush set to Manual and game asked him if he wanted to play it with his unit in the ocean. (But he didn't play it, thankfully.)

I tested it, and you can still play it from the ocean on Manual.

I tested winter trenches (Klin?) and regular trenches, and tanks can still Ambush from them on Manual.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 17 February 2014 17:40]

      
    
Sujet précédent:10th anniversary of Memoir'44, scenarios/february
Sujet suivant:IJA and Mines
Aller au forum: