Memoire 44 - Jour J Memoire 44 - Jour J

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Tue, 31 July 2012 23:26
Quit2 wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 22:13

Snip...
4: Provided I did not move onto terrain that prevents me from battling, I can now battle. The hobart funny can lay a bridge instead of battling. The laying a bridge action is: if adjacent to a river hex, place a bridge onto the river hex and you may move onto it. Nothing states that you can only do this if you didn't do a full movement during your movement phase. Also: the rules just said in the part above, that the movement occurs before battling, so if this hobart can still move after/during his action that replaces battling, it is a kind of movement that is outside of the movement phase like an ormor overrun. However, if I moved onto wire or mines or other terrain or obstacles that state that I cannot move any further for the rest of the turn, I believe I am allowed to lay the bridge but I would not be allowed to move onto it.
5: this you know

Compare to what exists already: you are allowed to make an armor overrun, even if you have done your full movement during the movement phase. You are not allowed to do an armor overrun if you moved into wire or mines. I see no reason for it to be different with the hobarts.

That's how I see this.


I understand that this is how you see it...but I'm still not convinced. The reason I'm not convinced, is because if they are meant to move onto the bridge after a full turn of movement, I think that would have been explicitly stated. However, the rule says,
"may place its bridge over any adjacent River hex and move onto it during the same turn. ". It does not say, "place the bridge and move onto it immediately." Or even "place the bridge and move onto it".

By saying that you can move onto it the same turn, I believe it is saying that if you still have any movement available, you can use it to enter the bridge.

Example: I move my tank one hex, place the bridge, and move my tank two more hexes to end on the other side of the river.

I believe, just as strongly as the rest of you, that this is what the rule is saying. Cool
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1344
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Tue, 31 July 2012 23:33
I am not, because the movement is instead of battling, like the engineer who removes a mine instead of battling! So this movement would occur in the battle phase! The key phrase, I feel is instead of battling! (Ok it says in lieu of battling, same difference)
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Tue, 31 July 2012 23:37
50th wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 01:33

I am not, because the movement is instead of battling, like the engineer who removes a mine instead of battling! So this movement would occur in the battle phase! The key phrase, I feel is instead of battling! (Ok it says in lieu of battling, same difference)



True, but this simply means it can't battle on the same turn it lays the bridge. Cool
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1049
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Wed, 01 August 2012 19:28
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:37

50th wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 01:33

I am not, because the movement is instead of battling, like the engineer who removes a mine instead of battling! So this movement would occur in the battle phase! The key phrase, I feel is instead of battling! (Ok it says in lieu of battling, same difference)



True, but this simply means it can't battle on the same turn it lays the bridge. Cool

No, it also means this happens during the combat phase. This is important because if it would happen during the movement phase, unit A could place the bridge and not move onto it, and unit B could move over it and attack some units on the other side.

Why are you so itchy about moving an extra hex with this action, but not when a unit moves an extra hex with taking ground or armor overrun combat?

If it is not allowed here, I think it should not be allowed for an elite infantry to move 2, battle, and gain ground (effectively moving 3). Then it would only be allowed to gain ground if it did not do it's full movement.

Let's hope DoW gives an official ruling very soon.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 02 August 2012 03:06
Quit2 wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 21:28

rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:37

50th wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 01:33

I am not, because the movement is instead of battling, like the engineer who removes a mine instead of battling! So this movement would occur in the battle phase! The key phrase, I feel is instead of battling! (Ok it says in lieu of battling, same difference)



True, but this simply means it can't battle on the same turn it lays the bridge. Cool

No, it also means this happens during the combat phase. This is important because if it would happen during the movement phase, unit A could place the bridge and not move onto it, and unit B could move over it and attack some units on the other side.

Why are you so itchy about moving an extra hex with this action, but not when a unit moves an extra hex with taking ground or armor overrun combat?

If it is not allowed here, I think it should not be allowed for an elite infantry to move 2, battle, and gain ground (effectively moving 3). Then it would only be allowed to gain ground if it did not do it's full movement.

Let's hope DoW gives an official ruling very soon.


It's not that I'm 'itchy' about moving an extra hex...I just think the interpretation of letting the unit move an extra hex is fully supported by the rules. Your example of Taking Ground for Infantry simply proves my point exactly! It's very clearly stated in the rules that you can Take Ground. For Armor, it's very clearly stated in the rules that you can Take Ground and Overrun.

If it was in the rules (or if DoW or Richard says otherwise) I'm fine with the tank being able to move an extra hex onto the bridge. Until I hear otherwise, I don't think that's what the rules say. Smile
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1049
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 02 August 2012 12:39
What do the rules say according to you?
So far, what I understand is your take on it, is that the placement happens during movement and that the funny can move onto the bridge. Like in: the funny moves 2, places bridge and moves a third hex. This is not what the rules say. The rules do not allow a tank to move two, shoot and move a third hex. You move all, then you battle, so anything that happens instead of battling happens after full movement ...


According to me, the base game rules state clearly that movement is a phase before battling.
The rules for the funnies state that they can place a bridge instead of battling and that they can move onto the bridge the turn they place it.


It seems to me that you are enjoying it alot to tease us.
Smile
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1344
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 02 August 2012 20:04
On page four of the Equipment Pack rules, it states: "Hobart's Funnies units move and battle like normal tank units". I think this statement is the answer to the question, "does the assault bridge unit get an extra move to go onto the bridge. The answer is, it gets its normal move, then moves again (one hex) in lieu of battling. I believe that this is the intent, and I wish we had an "official" response.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 02 August 2012 20:56
50th wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 22:04

On page four of the Equipment Pack rules, it states: "Hobart's Funnies units move and battle like normal tank units". I think this statement is the answer to the question, "does the assault bridge unit get an extra move to go onto the bridge. The answer is, it gets its normal move, then moves again (one hex) in lieu of battling. I believe that this is the intent, and I wish we had an "official" response.


It's possible that you guys are right...but I think that if the Bridge unit is allowed to move an extra hex it would have been explicitly explained in the rules. If we look at the Take Ground and Overrun rules, those clearly state that the unit can take more movement than normal. The rules for this situation say nothing about an extra hex.

Therefore, I believe that the use of the phrase "in lieu of" is confusing everyone but simply means that they place the bridge this turn instead of battling. The rules say:

Quote:

Assault Bridge
In lieu of battling, a Hobart's Funnies unit equipped with an Assault Bridge may place its bridge over any adjacent River hex and move onto it during the same turn. Once set, the Assault Bridge functions the same as a standard bridge (Terrain 9 Bridges). The bridge accessory may only be used one time; once placed, another bridge may not be built by this same Churchill unit during the game.


If the "In lieu of battling" phrase was near the end of the rules, I would be more convinced that it meant placing the bridge takes place in the Battle phase of play. As it is, placed at the very start, I believe that "In lieu of battling" simply means "instead of battling" this turn and does not mean it has to be placed at the very end of the turn...because then it says you can move onto it during the same turn.

Granted, I could very well be wrong on this, but there's really not any rush to get an Official Answer to this! Smile None of us will have a copy of this for a while still, so this discussion can continue before we can actually play a battle with Assault Bridge units! Cool

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 02 August 2012 20:57]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Victoire à Omaha

Pages Perso
Messages: 2942
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 02 August 2012 22:44
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 14:56

Granted, I could very well be wrong on this, but there's really not any rush to get an Official Answer to this! Smile None of us will have a copy of this for a while still, so this discussion can continue before we can actually play a battle with Assault Bridge units! Cool


Actually, while I was going to my daughter's graduation in June in Palo Alto, I stopped by and saw Eric in the DOW office in Los Altos. He was excited about the new expansion and showed me the molds - so I know what it looks like... Laughing Laughing Laughing

However, there was no discussion about how things moved, so I am in the dark again. Hence the Rolling Eyes TOPIC!!!

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 02 August 2012 22:49]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 02 August 2012 23:08
stevens wrote on Fri, 03 August 2012 00:44

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 14:56

Granted, I could very well be wrong on this, but there's really not any rush to get an Official Answer to this! Smile None of us will have a copy of this for a while still, so this discussion can continue before we can actually play a battle with Assault Bridge units! Cool


Actually, while I was going to my daughter's graduation in June in Palo Alto, I stopped by and saw Eric in the DOW office in Los Altos. He was excited about the new expansion and showed me the molds - so I know what it looks like... Laughing Laughing Laughing

However, there was no discussion about how things moved, so I am in the dark again. Hence the Rolling Eyes TOPIC!!!


Sounds like fun! Cool

From the pictures, the models look great. I can't wait to unpack them and set them up on a board...and by then I imagine we'll know exactly how they each work. Very Happy
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2178
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 09:40
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 17:08

stevens wrote on Fri, 03 August 2012 00:44

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 14:56

Granted, I could very well be wrong on this, but there's really not any rush to get an Official Answer to this! Smile None of us will have a copy of this for a while still, so this discussion can continue before we can actually play a battle with Assault Bridge units! Cool



Sounds like fun! Cool

From the pictures, the models look great. I can't wait to unpack them and set them up on a board...and by then I imagine we'll know exactly how they each work. Very Happy

Richard is here at WBC, and I was able to ask him this and a couple of the other burning questions. (I'll address the other questions on their respective threads.)

The Hobarts are probably a little smaller than the other tanks, and they have small holes in front and back for attaching the various appendages.

Regarding the bridges, Richard said that the Hobart may move up to 3 hexes to get adjacent to the river, and has the option of moving onto the bridge as a fourth hex.

And tonight's Overlord game featured a lot of the figures. I was busy wrapping up the tournament, so I didn't get to play, but I saw the end, and the players had a great time.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 586
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2008
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 14:44
50th wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:26

The answer lies in the phrase "in lieu of battling", like the engineer that can remove the mine instead of battling. One can remove a mine instead of battling, and the other can move onto the bridge instead of battling!


What if the engineer drives the Hobart's Funnie?
Does he build the bridge?,shoot with the tank? disables the mine next to the bridge?and may still take ground and battle back?
Laughing Laughing Laughing
Tank commander?, Stevens anyone? Laughing Laughing
I'm sorry i could not help myself reading all the above.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Victoire à Omaha

Pages Perso
Messages: 2942
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 15:07
JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 08:44

50th wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:26

The answer lies in the phrase "in lieu of battling", like the engineer that can remove the mine instead of battling. One can remove a mine instead of battling, and the other can move onto the bridge instead of battling!


What if the engineer drives the Hobart's Funnie?
Does he build the bridge?,shoot with the tank? disables the mine next to the bridge?and may still take ground and battle back?
Laughing Laughing Laughing
Tank commander?, Stevens anyone? Laughing Laughing
I'm sorry i could not help myself reading all the above.


Johan it sounds like your silliness comes from staying up too late at night with Sam!!!!!!!! Laughing
      
stevens
Senior Member
Victoire à Omaha

Pages Perso
Messages: 2942
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 15:10
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 03:40

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 17:08

stevens wrote on Fri, 03 August 2012 00:44

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 14:56

Granted, I could very well be wrong on this, but there's really not any rush to get an Official Answer to this! Smile None of us will have a copy of this for a while still, so this discussion can continue before we can actually play a battle with Assault Bridge units! Cool



Sounds like fun! Cool

From the pictures, the models look great. I can't wait to unpack them and set them up on a board...and by then I imagine we'll know exactly how they each work. Very Happy

Richard is here at WBC, and I was able to ask him this and a couple of the other burning questions. (I'll address the other questions on their respective threads.)

The Hobarts are probably a little smaller than the other tanks, and they have small holes in front and back for attaching the various appendages.

Regarding the bridges, Richard said that the Hobart may move up to 3 hexes to get adjacent to the river, and has the option of moving onto the bridge as a fourth hex.

And tonight's Overlord game featured a lot of the figures. I was busy wrapping up the tournament, so I didn't get to play, but I saw the end, and the players had a great time.


What you didn't answer, was what happens if the Hobart ends its turn in a hex with a mine or a wire adjacent to a river. May it still move onto the bridge, or is this precluded by no further movement rule of the wire or mines?

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 04 August 2012 15:11]

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 586
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2008
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 15:16
stevens wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 15:07

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 08:44

50th wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:26

The answer lies in the phrase "in lieu of battling", like the engineer that can remove the mine instead of battling. One can remove a mine instead of battling, and the other can move onto the bridge instead of battling!


What if the engineer drives the Hobart's Funnie?
Does he build the bridge?,shoot with the tank? disables the mine next to the bridge?and may still take ground and battle back?
Laughing Laughing Laughing
Tank commander?, Stevens anyone? Laughing Laughing
I'm sorry i could not help myself reading all the above.


Johan it sounds like your silliness comes from staying up too late at night with Sam!!!!!!!! Laughing


I had to much vacation Rolling Eyes
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 17:37
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 11:40

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 17:08

stevens wrote on Fri, 03 August 2012 00:44

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 14:56

Granted, I could very well be wrong on this, but there's really not any rush to get an Official Answer to this! Smile None of us will have a copy of this for a while still, so this discussion can continue before we can actually play a battle with Assault Bridge units! Cool



Sounds like fun! Cool

From the pictures, the models look great. I can't wait to unpack them and set them up on a board...and by then I imagine we'll know exactly how they each work. Very Happy

Richard is here at WBC, and I was able to ask him this and a couple of the other burning questions. (I'll address the other questions on their respective threads.)

The Hobarts are probably a little smaller than the other tanks, and they have small holes in front and back for attaching the various appendages.

Regarding the bridges, Richard said that the Hobart may move up to 3 hexes to get adjacent to the river, and has the option of moving onto the bridge as a fourth hex.

And tonight's Overlord game featured a lot of the figures. I was busy wrapping up the tournament, so I didn't get to play, but I saw the end, and the players had a great time.


Well, it looks like I was wrong on this one. Very Happy Thanks for finding out the answer for us!

I'll put this into the next FAQ Update. Cool
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 17:38
stevens wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 17:10

sam1812 wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 03:40

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 17:08

stevens wrote on Fri, 03 August 2012 00:44

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 14:56

Granted, I could very well be wrong on this, but there's really not any rush to get an Official Answer to this! Smile None of us will have a copy of this for a while still, so this discussion can continue before we can actually play a battle with Assault Bridge units! Cool



Sounds like fun! Cool

From the pictures, the models look great. I can't wait to unpack them and set them up on a board...and by then I imagine we'll know exactly how they each work. Very Happy

Richard is here at WBC, and I was able to ask him this and a couple of the other burning questions. (I'll address the other questions on their respective threads.)

The Hobarts are probably a little smaller than the other tanks, and they have small holes in front and back for attaching the various appendages.

Regarding the bridges, Richard said that the Hobart may move up to 3 hexes to get adjacent to the river, and has the option of moving onto the bridge as a fourth hex.

And tonight's Overlord game featured a lot of the figures. I was busy wrapping up the tournament, so I didn't get to play, but I saw the end, and the players had a great time.


What you didn't answer, was what happens if the Hobart ends its turn in a hex with a mine or a wire adjacent to a river. May it still move onto the bridge, or is this precluded by no further movement rule of the wire or mines?


The rules are very clear that "No Further Movement" always means, no more moving! Cool

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 04 August 2012 17:38]

      
Phread
Senior Member
Flegme Britannique

Pages Perso
Messages: 1772
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2008
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 22:51
I think the underlying querstions was if the bridge laying unit moves onto terrian that prevents it from battling this turn can it still lay the bridge.

The answer is "NO" as bridges are laid in the battle phase, no combat means no bridge.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Victoire à Omaha

Pages Perso
Messages: 2942
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 23:36
Phread wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 16:51

I think the underlying querstions was if the bridge laying unit moves onto terrian that prevents it from battling this turn can it still lay the bridge.

The answer is "NO" as bridges are laid in the battle phase, no combat means no bridge.


My underlying question has to do with a unit (Armor) still being allowed to battle (lay a bridge) even though it may make no further movement. Hence, laying the bridge from a mined or wired hex adjacent to the river would be permissable, but it appears that the feeling is that it may not move upon the bridge as it may move no further on that turn. This is the question I want some closure on. Smile

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 04 August 2012 23:38]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Victoire à Omaha

Pages Perso
Messages: 2942
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sat, 04 August 2012 23:42
JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 09:16

stevens wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 15:07

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 08:44

50th wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:26

The answer lies in the phrase "in lieu of battling", like the engineer that can remove the mine instead of battling. One can remove a mine instead of battling, and the other can move onto the bridge instead of battling!


What if the engineer drives the Hobart's Funnie?
Does he build the bridge?,shoot with the tank? disables the mine next to the bridge?and may still take ground and battle back?
Laughing Laughing Laughing
Tank commander?, Stevens anyone? Laughing Laughing
I'm sorry i could not help myself reading all the above.


Johan it sounds like your silliness comes from staying up too late at night with Sam!!!!!!!! Laughing


I had to much vacation Rolling Eyes


Vacation spelled "B-E-E-R" Very Happy

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 04 August 2012 23:44]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6860
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sun, 05 August 2012 01:20
stevens wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 01:36

Phread wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 16:51

I think the underlying querstions was if the bridge laying unit moves onto terrian that prevents it from battling this turn can it still lay the bridge.

The answer is "NO" as bridges are laid in the battle phase, no combat means no bridge.


My underlying question has to do with a unit (Armor) still being allowed to battle (lay a bridge) even though it may make no further movement. Hence, laying the bridge from a mined or wired hex adjacent to the river would be permissable, but it appears that the feeling is that it may not move upon the bridge as it may move no further on that turn. This is the question I want some closure on. Smile


Why would Armor suddenly NOT be allowed to battle when it can no longer move? The rules are extremely clear that Armor can battle but can not Take Ground or do Armor Overrun.

A question that comes up in my mind about this (that I think I know the answer to) is if an Armor unit moves onto a City hex, or Forest hex, or any other terrain that prevents battling...can they still lay an Assault Bridge. I suspect the answer is "NO" because laying the bridge is in Lieu of battling.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 586
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2008
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sun, 05 August 2012 10:35
stevens wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 23:42

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 09:16

stevens wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 15:07

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 08:44

50th wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:26

The answer lies in the phrase "in lieu of battling", like the engineer that can remove the mine instead of battling. One can remove a mine instead of battling, and the other can move onto the bridge instead of battling!


What if the engineer drives the Hobart's Funnie?
Does he build the bridge?,shoot with the tank? disables the mine next to the bridge?and may still take ground and battle back?
Laughing Laughing Laughing
Tank commander?, Stevens anyone? Laughing Laughing
I'm sorry i could not help myself reading all the above.


Johan it sounds like your silliness comes from staying up too late at night with Sam!!!!!!!! Laughing


I had to much vacation Rolling Eyes


Vacation spelled "B-E-E-R" Very Happy


Sadly enough it was spelled B-O-A-R

The reason?

I managed to kill a boar when i came back from a Barcelona (Spain) daytrip, in the middle of the night on a dark South French small road, it crossed the road just in front of me.
Lucky enough i had only damage to the front right of my car and could continue my way.
The Boar was killed in action sadly enough.
Lucky i pre-ordered the new army pack, any donations are welcome to repair my wifes car Razz
J.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2178
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sun, 05 August 2012 14:13
JJAZ wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 04:35

Sadly enough it was spelled B-O-A-R

The reason?

I managed to kill a boar when i came back from a Barcelona (Spain) daytrip, in the middle of the night on a dark South French small road, it crossed the road just in front of me.
Lucky enough i had only damage to the front right of my car and could continue my way.
The Boar was killed in action sadly enough.
Lucky i pre-ordered the new army pack, any donations are welcome to repair my wifes car Razz
J.

(JJAZ is now creating a scenario based on the Boar War, featuring a Command Car, a Heroic Leader, a new special figure -- Heroic Leader's Wife -- and hopefully soon a new Command Car.)

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 05 August 2012 14:15]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2178
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sun, 05 August 2012 14:21
JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 08:44

What if the engineer drives the Hobart's Funnie?
Does he build the bridge?,shoot with the tank? disables the mine next to the bridge?and may still take ground and battle back?
Laughing Laughing Laughing
Tank commander?, Stevens anyone? Laughing Laughing
I'm sorry i could not help myself reading all the above.

Engineers don't drive Hobarts. Engineers drive trains.

(Will there now be a series of Hobart's Funnies Funnies?)
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2178
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Sun, 05 August 2012 14:27
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 19:20

Why would Armor suddenly NOT be allowed to battle when it can no longer move? The rules are extremely clear that Armor can battle but can not Take Ground or do Armor Overrun.

A question that comes up in my mind about this (that I think I know the answer to) is if an Armor unit moves onto a City hex, or Forest hex, or any other terrain that prevents battling...can they still lay an Assault Bridge. I suspect the answer is "NO" because laying the bridge is in Lieu of battling.

There is no question in my mind about any of this. I think you've got this totally correct.

Moving into a mine or wire along the river, you must stop and move no further, but you may battle.

Moving into terrain such as a town or forest, you can't battle. (Unless you're playing with Combat cards, and you've got one that permits it.)
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 231
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2003
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Mon, 13 August 2012 22:27
Q. How does a Hobart Funnies tank unit equipped with an Assault Bridge work?

A. A Hobart Funnies tank equipped with a Assault Bridge, may move up to 3 hexes and if it is in an adjacent hex to a river, In lieu of battling, it may place its Assault Bridge on an adjacent river hex. After placing its Assault Bridge the tank unit may move onto the bridge.

Richard Borg
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2005
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 13 February 2014 01:45
RBorg wrote on Mon, 13 August 2012 16:27

Q. How does a Hobart Funnies tank unit equipped with an Assault Bridge work?

A. A Hobart Funnies tank equipped with a Assault Bridge, may move up to 3 hexes and if it is in an adjacent hex to a river, In lieu of battling, it may place its Assault Bridge on an adjacent river hex. After placing its Assault Bridge the tank unit may move onto the bridge.

Richard Borg



So I suspect a Hobart Assault bridge tank that starts a turn adjacent to a river can lay a bridge and then move onto it but not move any further?
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

Pages Perso
Messages: 1361
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 13 February 2014 03:07
The laying is done during combat... thus movement is over. you can start next to it or move up to it. Then battle phase?

Look at it this way... the bridge unit battles the river, and once the bridge is in place the unit "may" take ground, just like you would take ground after combat.

Congrats, you killed the river, now occupy the ground if you want it.

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 602
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 13 February 2014 04:55
Hi,
I haven't had Equipment Pack until this Christmas, so haven't got involved in these discussions (except for French and Italian Nations rules).

Phread wrote on Sat, 28 July 2012 20:38

Can another unit move across the bridge on the turn of placement?


Since its played during battle phase, then no other units can use its move to enter the bridge.

But if the Funnies lays its bridge but does not move onto it, then a unit hit with a flag should be able to retreat onto it. I'm thinking Ambush, but it would be funny if it helped the Germans!

Since 2nd movement of BEL/Infiltrators occurs after battle, then in OL, I think an infantry could advance or escape across the bridge.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 13 February 2014 04:59]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Victoire à Omaha

Pages Perso
Messages: 2942
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Thu, 13 February 2014 13:45
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 12 February 2014 22:55

Hi,
I haven't had Equipment Pack until this Christmas, so haven't got involved in these discussions (except for French and Italian Nations rules).

Phread wrote on Sat, 28 July 2012 20:38

Can another unit move across the bridge on the turn of placement?


Since its played during battle phase, then no other units can use its move to enter the bridge.

But if the Funnies lays its bridge but does not move onto it, then a unit hit with a flag should be able to retreat onto it. I'm thinking Ambush, but it would be funny if it helped the Germans!

Since 2nd movement of BEL/Infiltrators occurs after battle, then in OL, I think an infantry could advance or escape across the bridge.

Yes, I see all the things you stated as possible. Even if an Allied tank was across the river and a German Infantry was on the hex directly across from the bridge it could occur that an Allied Armor attacked the German Infantry it retreats onto the bridge, is destroyed by Armor and Allied Armor takes ground onto bridge layed by its companion.
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

Pages Perso
Messages: 1361
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:New Equipment Pack ASSAULT BRIDGE Fri, 14 February 2014 03:39
Quote:


Since 2nd movement of BEL/Infiltrators occurs after battle, then in OL, I think an infantry could advance or escape across the bridge.




that's sneaky.... I'm gonna do that.
      
Pages (2): [ «  <  1  2 ]     
Sujet précédent:Italian High Command in overlord?
Sujet suivant:Italian Army Royal Army Rules change
Aller au forum: