Memoire 44 - Jour J Memoire 44 - Jour J

Forums

Recherche
Forums » BattleLore - English » Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2?
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Blue Jackal
Junior Member

Messages: 27
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Fri, 15 December 2006 08:41
It is a common question on Boardgamegeek, some people say yay, some say nay! Apologies if I missed it in the rule book.
      
Adrimetum
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 12
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Fri, 15 December 2006 12:32
As far as I can tell it's nowhere in the rulebook, it does however give a link but that part of the website is not up yet (p46)

www.battlelore.com/creatures

Although noone has used those blue creatures so far in our group, we have ruled for now (until official ruling), that blue creatures have a cost of 2 lore level tokens.

The reasoning behind it:

Blue creatures are more powerful than green ones as are blue units to green units.

Lore Masters gain in level (become more powerful) when you put more Loremaster Level Tokens on them.

So more powerful creatures cost more lore level tokens.

But indeed an official ruling seems overdue.

Eric? Richard?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Fri, 15 December 2006 13:12
According to the original Blog entry, it says the "a single Creature costs a precious Lore Master level token to bring into play"

I am sure we will see additional rules on Creatures soon. We still have a question out there if one player can have more than one creature on his side of the table.
      
patticus
Junior Member

Messages: 8
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Fri, 15 December 2006 20:11
All creatures cost 1 lore. I don't necessarily think the green creatures are weaker. They are more mobile although they roll with less dice. I think all creatures will have certain pros and cons, not always based on their banner color.
      
Rikolus
Junior Member

Messages: 3
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Fri, 15 December 2006 21:03
That is correct. In play-testing, different Monsters do have different skill sets that can "make up" for less battle dice. Like the Spider's Web. But thus far, all have been worth 1 round Lore Counter to purchase. And just like MAGIC, WOW and any other fantasy-based games, I am sure there will end up being some creatures that, by consensus, are more empowered and desirable than others. And of course: circumstances, terrain, anticipated enemy force, etc, will also factor into the selection of the Monster. But I would expect future Monster releases to be pretty competitive in "value"; both real and perceived.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 15 December 2006 21:04]

      
Warpstorm
Member

Messages: 40
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Mon, 18 December 2006 03:34
Can we get an official ruling on this? Everything that I've seen from DoW leads me to believe that it is always one by default (as the above quote suggests), but I keep seeing threads that allude (without quotes or attribution) to DoW saying that it is by the color of the unit (which I personally think is wrong because the spider is awesome if used properly and I can't see that the Giant is twice as as good). I haven't seen a thread where anyone from DoW did say this (but I could have easily missed one).

Oh yeah, a Spider and a Level 1 Cleric is much better than a Hill Giant and no Cleric.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 18 December 2006 04:14]

      
bwridge
Junior Member

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Mon, 18 December 2006 04:39
I'm actually a tad disappointed in DoW for leaving this question up in the air for all of us BL players. You'd think that such a basic question - especially in light of the fact you have two Creature promos floating around - would have been clarified right away.

Personally, I think the HG and EE are better than the spider, so I accept the 1/2/3 point rule for the three types of creatures.

Brian
      
Cantata
Senior Member
Victoire à Arnhem

Pages Perso
Messages: 444
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2005
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Mon, 18 December 2006 05:27
I can tell you that for the Earth Elemental (blue blanner), you simply have to have one of your units on the EE's "Summoning Hex", and then have them roll their melee battle dice, and any lore rolled will summon the EE into play.

Example: a heavy unit moves onto the EE "Summoning Hex" and rolls 4 dice... even if only one die comes up as Lore, the EE will be summoned into an adjacent hex, then the hex disappears.

NOTE: There are no movement or battle restrictions regarding the "Summoning Hex" for the EE.

Don't have my Hill Giant yet, so I can't say for sure how it comes into play. I'm sure someone who has it could tell us, eh? Anyone?
      
jayr13
Member

Messages: 46
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Mon, 18 December 2006 05:33
Here is a link where an employee from DOW confirmed that Blue creatures cost 2. I guess this was confirmed in the French forum and translated to English.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/index.php?t=msg&th=8967& rid=225111&S=51338550cc316b3381aacff66d348ecb&start= 0#msg_71498
      
Warpstorm
Member

Messages: 40
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Mon, 18 December 2006 13:32
The Hill Giant starts in play, Cantata.
      
Adrimetum
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 12
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Mon, 18 December 2006 17:21
jayr13 wrote on Mon, 18 December 2006 05:33

Here is a link where an employee from DOW confirmed that Blue creatures cost 2. I guess this was confirmed in the French forum and translated to English.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/index.php?t=msg&th=8967& rid=225111&S=51338550cc316b3381aacff66d348ecb&start= 0#msg_71498



Thanks for the link,

that's official enough for me (for now Laughing )
      
joebelanger
Junior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 7
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2005
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Tue, 19 December 2006 01:52
jayr13 wrote on Sun, 17 December 2006 22:33

Here is a link where an employee from DOW confirmed that Blue creatures cost 2. I guess this was confirmed in the French forum and translated to English.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/index.php?t=msg&th=8967& rid=225111&S=51338550cc316b3381aacff66d348ecb&start= 0#msg_71498


I didn't see one employee post in that thread. Are you sure about that?
      
jayr13
Member

Messages: 46
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Tue, 19 December 2006 02:40
Halfway down there is a post where someone quotes what a member from DOW said on the French blog
      
Warpstorm
Member

Messages: 40
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Tue, 19 December 2006 04:06
I think joebelanger is asking for a link that actually has a DOW employee reply in it, rather than a quote in a foreign language that someone claims is from a DOW employee and that makes his point Laughing
      
SHwoKing
Senior Member

Messages: 402
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Tue, 19 December 2006 11:02
Warpstorm wrote on Tue, 19 December 2006 04:06

I think joebelanger is asking for a link that actually has a DOW employee reply in it, rather than a quote in a foreign language that someone claims is from a DOW employee and that makes his point Laughing


Well not only one but 3 Dow's employee confirmed this : Pierre, Eric and Yann. All answers were in french, but as i'm french too, i confirm that the 3 of them stated it was 1 level for green, 2 for blue, etc...

I didn't translate the quote for me, cause i already know the answer from Dow's staff about lore cost of a creature. That was just to give an correct answer, assuming those 3 Dow's staff were right.

But if people don't want to believe me, do as you wish Evil or Very Mad

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 19 December 2006 11:06]

      
Warpstorm
Member

Messages: 40
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Tue, 19 December 2006 13:44
SHwoKing, it's not that I don't believe you, I do. The issue is that the link given does not actually go to a thread where any DoW employees were actually involved. It goes to a thread were people repeat what they saw in a different thread. A link to the original French thread would be better.
      
SHwoKing
Senior Member

Messages: 402
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Do all Creatures cost 1 Lore level, or do Blues cost 2? Tue, 19 December 2006 13:58
Ok, in fact, if you read well, this thread has a link to another thread and inside this linked thread, there's anotehr link to a french thread involving two Dow's staff : Eric and Yann.

I have juts done a translation cause someone said that Eric was refuting what Yann said. And it wasn't the case.

Pretty funny innit ? Laughing
      
    
Sujet précédent:Rockpile Query
Sujet suivant:Evade and mounted units
Aller au forum: