Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » BattleLore - English » Fireball question
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
AllezTribe
Junior Member

Messages: 7
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2006
Fireball question Sat, 30 December 2006 13:45
Do you roll the Fireball effect before or after declaring which units are ordered? If before, the outcome could impact your decision as to which units to order.

On the one hand: The card indicates it is played "alongside your Command card", so perhaps the Fireball strikes immediately when played.

On the other hand: Other cards which are played "alongside your Command card" target 1 or more ordered troops, so necessarily are not fully implemented until after declaring which units will be ordered.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Fireball question Sat, 30 December 2006 15:37
I am not 100% certain on this. the card is played when you lay down your command card. But that is not necessarily when it is resolved.

I am of the opinion you must still follow the turn order - 1) order units 2) movement 3) combat. Targtting an enemy unit only happens in step 3. So I think you would have to order all your units, move your units. Then you may use Fireball at any time. It could be your first attack, your second, or even your last.

But this is just my opinion, I have nothing to back that up one way or another. However, I think this answer impacts more than just fireball. Any Lore card that allows you to select enemy units as targets would need to be considered also - Forest Frenzy, Raging River, etc.
      
skink
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2003
Re:Fireball question Sat, 30 December 2006 15:43
See the Q&A in the card compendium for Creeping Doom, which is similar. There, Richard Borg ruled that the effect is carried out in the command phase when the card is played. I would think the same would apply to Fireball.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Fireball question Sat, 30 December 2006 16:36
skink wrote on Sat, 30 December 2006 08:43

See the Q&A in the card compendium for Creeping Doom, which is similar. There, Richard Borg ruled that the effect is carried out in the command phase when the card is played. I would think the same would apply to Fireball.

Intersting. I would say that covers it. If Lore cards played during the command phase show that a unit is to be targeted on its own, then you would resolve the Lore card before moving along to the orders phase.

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 02 January 2007 00:35]

      
casbarian
Junior Member
Major

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Fireball question Sat, 30 December 2006 16:44
For Command Phase Cards:
On p.49 it says "Play this Lore card at the same time you are playing your Command card, at the start of your turn as the active player."


In general:
On p.51 it says "Unless specified otherwise, the card can be played at any time during its indicated phase of play."


On a completely separate note about Fireballs...does a Lore roll immediately kill a Creature or does a critical hit need to be done for this?

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 30 December 2006 16:45]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Fireball question Sat, 30 December 2006 16:56
casbarian wrote on Sat, 30 December 2006 09:44

For Command Phase Cards:
On p.49 it says "Play this Lore card at the same time you are playing your Command card, at the start of your turn as the active player."


In general:
On p.51 it says "Unless specified otherwise, the card can be played at any time during its indicated phase of play."

But playing a card doesn't mean using the card. A command card is also played during the command phase but then is borken out into different phases. If Richard ruled on it though, it seems pretty obvious to me Wink


Quote:

On a completely separate note about Fireballs...does a Lore roll immediately kill a Creature or does a critical hit need to be done for this?

Though never officially answerd, we chatted about this before. Fireball says that Lore *kills* which to me would indicate that a creature outright dies. If it said Lore "hits" then I owuld have said a critical hit would need to be checked.
      
ArturoG
Member

Messages: 55
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Fireball question Sun, 31 December 2006 17:15
The question is already asked in the Lorecards Compendium.
I assume we will see an official answer soon.

But I agree with ColtsFan. It sounds like it kills the creature if a Lore symbol is rolled. If you do not get any Lore symbol the colored helmets are normal hits and should be re-rolled for critical hits.
      
Talespinner
DoW Content Provider
Rikugun Taii

Pages Perso
Messages: 119
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:Fireball question Mon, 01 January 2007 23:02
I have been playing that Lore cards such as Creeping Doom and Fireball are resolved immediately before activating units. I have no official proof this is how it is supposed to be, but it makes "sense" to me.

And we have also been assuming that Fireball fries the creature in question, because it reads "kills."
      
cebalrai
Senior Member

Messages: 232
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2005
Re:Fireball question Wed, 10 January 2007 13:31
Hmm, we couldn't find whether or not a fireball kills a creature. The rules say that the only way to kill a creature is with critical hits rolled in combat, but the fireball card just refers to "units".

It would seem *really* easy to kill a creature this way, definitely easier than killing a unit. Creatures should have some sort of "flammable" feature written on their cards or something.
      
Warpstorm
Member

Messages: 40
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Fireball question Wed, 10 January 2007 13:54
I feel (and have played) that it should kill the creature. Rolling one lore can kill an intact unit with all four figures. One-shotting a entire red unit is a big deal. This is in the same general ballpark as killing a creature.
      
cebalrai
Senior Member

Messages: 232
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2005
Re:Fireball question Wed, 10 January 2007 14:37
Ballpark... I guess maybe. A hill giant isn't really in the ballpark as anything except red cavalry or dwarven units IMO though.

Honestly, I'd rather have a hill giant over any unit in the game just about. Red foot units (including dwarves) very often cannot get to effective locations without lore cards, severely limiting their impact in battle... And I'd venture to say that the Hill Giant is more powerful than any blue unit.

I dunno... I see the point about it being on par with frying a red cavalry... I guess I have mixed feelings about this one.
      
Cantata
Senior Member
Victoire à Arnhem

Pages Perso
Messages: 444
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2005
Re:Fireball question Wed, 10 January 2007 23:39
Well, I posted the Fireball question in the Card Compendium, but as yet no official answer has been posted. For now we have been from the camp that says the creature is killed outright by a Lore roll. I agree with ColtsFan in regards to the wording on the card, if it said "hits" rather than "kills" I should swing towards the critical hit crowd, instead.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Fireball question Thu, 11 January 2007 00:09
player142544 wrote on Wed, 10 January 2007 06:31

Hmm, we couldn't find whether or not a fireball kills a creature. The rules say that the only way to kill a creature is with critical hits rolled in combat, but the fireball card just refers to "units".

It would seem *really* easy to kill a creature this way, definitely easier than killing a unit. Creatures should have some sort of "flammable" feature written on their cards or something.

What you say is true. But remember that text written on cards overrules the rulebook. So just because the rules state that a Creature can only be killed with a critical hit, a card can outright kill a creature.
      
    
Sujet précédent:Printable blue archer banners
Sujet suivant:Multiplayer Rules
Aller au forum: