Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Cleopatra and the Society of Architects - English » Stalling
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
infocynic
Junior Member

Messages: 18
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Stalling Fri, 07 July 2006 18:53
Scenario: you made some large build on your last turn and are down to only a few cards and have no nile merchants left. You cannot build anything that's left to build. In your estimation, this is your last turn, because the player on your left has 10 cards, and there's only one column left to build, which will end the game.

All three market stalls show at least one face-up corrupt card. Obviously, you don't want any of these. Can you visit the quarry and build nothing? Or are you just stuck with getting corruption?

2nd question: Can you play a character and THEN decide whether to go to market or quarry, or must you announce where you're going before playing any characters?
      
Luke the Flaming
Senior Member

Messages: 270
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2003
Re:Stalling Fri, 07 July 2006 20:24
I'd allow you to go to the Quarry without building anything (you'll just execute "point 5": rolling dice for the Great Priest).

I'd allow you to play a "character card" before declaring Market or Quarry.

Have fun! Smile
      
GMan20
Member
Tenente

Pages Perso
Messages: 34
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2005
Re:Stalling Sat, 08 July 2006 05:40
The rules, under Visit the Quarry, state: "The player may opt to visit the Quarry instead, to acquire the pieces of the Palace he wishes to build this turn. To build a piece of the Palace, the Player must:
1. Play from his hand any combination of Resource cards and/or Nile Merchants . . .

To me that sounds like if you go to the Quarry, you must build something, and that you couldn't just go there to stall.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Stalling Sat, 08 July 2006 14:14
Question 1: I am torn. I can't find anything in the rules for or against it. I think I lean towards GMan's opinion. You are given two options - visit the market or build something. If you can't build something, then you should only have one option left - go to the market.

If you played it the way Luke thinks - ignore any steps you choose - then you could do that throughout the game. Not sure why, but at any time you could just choose not to buy anything when you go to the quarry and just roll the dice to the priest.

So I say you have to go to the market in this situation.

Question 2: Luke is correct here - it is supported by the rules on page 9 that character cards may be played at any time during your turn. So you could play them then pick market or quarry.
      
Luke the Flaming
Senior Member

Messages: 270
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2003
Re:Stalling Sat, 08 July 2006 15:17
ColtsFan76 wrote on Sat, 08 July 2006 14:14


If you played it the way Luke thinks - ignore any steps you choose - then you could do that throughout the game. Not sure why, but at any time you could just choose not to buy anything when you go to the quarry and just roll the dice to the priest.


Indeed, but what would be the advantage of doing so DURING the game?
Besides, I find quite annoying to have to (potentially) lose because I MUST take a load of corruption cards that I'll never be able to use (as in the scenario described by ColtsFan76).
      
infocynic
Junior Member

Messages: 18
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Stalling Thu, 13 July 2006 07:32
Well, it's really only ever to your advantage to "build nothing" if you're certain you won't get another turn, or the corrupt resources that are face-up are for a resource that has no further use (e.g., nothing that requires Wood is left to build).

I suppose you might get people trying to abuse this to trigger more offerings... "I go to the quarry and build nothing so I call roll..." but that seems like a really big waste of a turn.
      
PSauberer
Junior Member

Messages: 8
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
Re:Stalling Sat, 15 July 2006 04:03
The rules are clear that you go to the quarry to acquire the pieces of the Palace you wish to build this turn. There is no provision to go to the quarry just to "hang out." You must perform an action. There is no "may", in fact it says "MUST."

Allowing a stall tactic could break the game. If the face up cards were unattractive to everyone, then there could just be perpetual passing and the game would never end.

If you get stuck taking a market stall with corruption on your last turn, then that's just too bad. The cards are going to have a certain amount of luck in them, because that's the nature of card games. Maybe you should have gone to the market int eh previous turn so that you can build this time. Or maybe it's just bad luck.
      
infocynic
Junior Member

Messages: 18
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Stalling Tue, 18 July 2006 22:47
I assume you mean

"To build a piece of the Palace, the player must:
1. Play from his hand any combination of Resource cards and/or Nile Merchants that matches or exceeds the construction requirements of the piece being built..."

I define "the piece being built" as nothing. Smile

I don't know. I see your point and I agree that stalling would be really bad, but it seems unfair that you should be forced to pick up a corruption you will not have a chance to dispose of. I suppose the alternative is that you need to be watching for "end-of-game" conditions and keep a large hand size, so that you can pick up a stack with 3 cards maybe 2 of which are corrupt and be able to discard.

Perhaps some sort of house rule/variant to allow a 3rd action of "pass" only if the market has face-up corrupt cards in all columns, and only if you did not pass on your last turn. Maybe you could even pay for your "vacation" time in the form of 1-2 talents.
      
reverendvader
Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 94
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2005
Re:Stalling Thu, 20 July 2006 07:51
LightInfo wrote on Tue, 18 July 2006 14:47

I suppose the alternative is that you need to be watching for "end-of-game" conditions and keep a large hand size, so that you can pick up a stack with 3 cards maybe 2 of which are corrupt and be able to discard.


That's exactly the idea.

Very Happy
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Entraînement au combat niveau avancé

Pages Perso
Messages: 3198
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Stalling Wed, 02 August 2006 02:16
If you go to the quarry, you MUST build something during that turn. You cannot go there if you're unable to build anything.

And yes, you may play 1 (or more) characters at the start of your turn, before you've decided where you'll go.

Eric @ DoW
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 399
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2006
Re:Stalling Sun, 31 December 2006 07:21
LightInfo wrote on Wed, 12 July 2006 21:32



I suppose you might get people trying to abuse this to trigger more offerings... "I go to the quarry and build nothing so I call roll..." but that seems like a really big waste of a turn.


We had a player who would have done just that; he was acquiring corruption at an alarming rate.

He came in second. (I bought the game yesterday, we played today. I won.)

His wife, who hadn't been so lavish in corruption acquisition, got caught when he accidentally ended the game by placing a mosaic... and the three remaining ones were unplayable!

He built it in hopes of rolling an Ankh to trigger the auction.


      
    
Sujet précédent:Multi-Resource Cards
Sujet suivant:? - Wall pieces
Aller au forum: