Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » BattleLore - English » Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported?
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Gatecrasher
Junior Member

Messages: 12
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2007
  Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported? Wed, 31 January 2007 18:54
This may seem like a silly question and I am confident that I know the correct answer (although I have been confident and wrong before), but it was brought up during a game today on Vassal.

Situation:
I attack with my red infantry that is supported by 2 other units. My attack fails to destroy the defending blue infantry or cause them to retreat. The defending blue infantry is supported by 2 other units and is entitled to a Battleback. The blue infantry rolls 1 flag, among other things. My opponent says that my red infantry should retreat, because only a "defender" may ignore a flag.

He is playing with a French manual and says the exact words (tranlsated into English) are: "in fight, defensive unite who may ignore a flag may riposte."

So in reality, there are two questions here:

1. Does my status as Attacker remain the same or change to Defender, when I am the target of a Battleback.

2. Is a unit's moral "always on" or is it only "on" at certain times. In other words, if a unit meets the criteria to be Bold, is that unit always Bold, until it no longer meets the criteria or a Lore card specifically cancels it?

I would like to add that my opponent was very sportmanlike and we agreed that for the time being, the unit would not retreat, and I would make a post here to seek clarification or confirmation.

Thank you for your response.
      
Yann
-= Crew =-
KS Backer - Skeleton

Pages Perso
Messages: 2354
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported? Wed, 31 January 2007 19:11
Gatecrasher wrote on Wed, 31 January 2007 18:54

This may seem like a silly question and I am confident that I know the correct answer (although I have been confident and wrong before), but it was brought up during a game today on Vassal.

Situation:
I attack with my red infantry that is supported by 2 other units. My attack fails to destroy the defending blue infantry or cause them to retreat. The defending blue infantry is supported by 2 other units and is entitled to a Battleback. The blue infantry rolls 1 flag, among other things. My opponent says that my red infantry should retreat, because only a "defender" may ignore a flag.

He is playing with a French manual and says the exact words (tranlsated into English) are: "in fight, defensive unite who may ignore a flag may riposte."

So in reality, there are two questions here:

1. Does my status as Attacker remain the same or change to Defender, when I am the target of a Battleback.

2. Is a unit's moral "always on" or is it only "on" at certain times. In other words, if a unit meets the criteria to be Bold, is that unit always Bold, until it no longer meets the criteria or a Lore card specifically cancels it?

I would like to add that my opponent was very sportmanlike and we agreed that for the time being, the unit would not retreat, and I would make a post here to seek clarification or confirmation.

Thank you for your response.

Of course, your red infantry did not have to retreat, because it was supported.
In fact, I don't really see the relationship between this situatiuon and the quote (I read French) Wink The attacker remains the attacker, and the defending the defending, even in a battleback. Just keep things simple Wink

I hope this answers the question.

Happy battles,

Yann
      
Stormshine
Member
Cadet

Messages: 89
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported? Wed, 31 January 2007 19:12
When you attack a bold unit, yes, the defender is entitled to battle back. In the actual battle-back, you become the defender, and thus must take the flag.
      
Gatecrasher
Junior Member

Messages: 12
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2007
Re:Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported? Wed, 31 January 2007 19:20
Thank you for the replies.

Yann - The quote from his rulebook is critical because my opponent says I am still the attacker when he Battlesback, hence the "defender" part of the quote is not valid (for me) and I am not entitled to ignore a flag, despite being supported.

Hence my questions on who is the attacker/defender and wether or not my unit is always Bold, or only when defending.

Stormshine seems to imply the same thing my recent opponent is saying (perhaps they are one and the same? Razz ), although I think Yann was very clear when he said this.

"Of course your red infantry did not have to retreat, because it was supported."

Thanks again for the responses.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Entraînement au combat niveau avancé

Pages Perso
Messages: 3196
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported? Wed, 31 January 2007 19:21
Stormshine wrote on Wed, 31 January 2007 10:12

When you attack a bold unit, yes, the defender is entitled to battle back. In the actual battle-back, you become the defender, and thus must take the flag.


Nope, sorry this is wrong. Support works in both directions. If you are supported, you are entitled to ignore a flag. That is true regardless of whether you are in an outright attack, or in a battle back!

What might be confusing you is that there can be no battle back on a battle back. But you may still ignore a flag.
      
Gatecrasher
Junior Member

Messages: 12
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2007
Re:Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported? Wed, 31 January 2007 19:26
Speaking of Support.. we just need one more Days of Wonder team member to respond and then Yann can Battleback me!

Thanks for the additional clarification eric, that is exactly what I was looking for.
      
Stormshine
Member
Cadet

Messages: 89
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Can the target of a Battleback ignore flags, if Supported? Wed, 31 January 2007 22:14
In the future, I will try not to drink and post. Twisted Evil
      
    
Sujet précédent:New Adventure. 950U
Sujet suivant:No Dice
Aller au forum: