Memoire 44 - Jour J Memoire 44 - Jour J

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Small World - Digital » Bugs in the iPad version
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Gerald
-= Crew =-
Ramener les gars à la maison

Messages: 160
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Sat, 14 May 2011 21:49
Hello Rasmussen,

About your questions:
1) Yes it's a bug. You should be able to use the sorcerer power after your last conquest unless a reinforcement die was just rolled.
2) There's no user switch to enforce the side by side mode or the board game mode. When the ipad is put on a table (horizontal), the game uses the board game mode (no UI rotation since it's a 2-player face to face mode).
As soon as you tilt the ipad towards you (about 30°), it automaticallly switches to the side by side mode. Then the UI of the active player is always in the appropriate orientation and the other player is upside down.
3) It's a bug that appeared recently due to an iOS upgrade (somewhere around the 4.2). We're investigating about this regression (music playback used to work before).
      
player727016
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2011
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Sun, 15 May 2011 00:33
Stoic Amazons.

Steps to duplicate:

Kick ass with your amazons. Get a message that you need to give up a territory because you need to pull your 4 bonus amazons off. Ignore it and activate your stoic ability (ability to go into decline after attacks). Game will then go into a state where it cannot continue.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6851
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Sun, 15 May 2011 05:17
Gerald wrote on Sat, 14 May 2011 23:49

Hello Rasmussen,

About your questions:
1) Yes it's a bug. You should be able to use the sorcerer power after your last conquest unless a reinforcement die was just rolled.
2) There's no user switch to enforce the side by side mode or the board game mode. When the ipad is put on a table (horizontal), the game uses the board game mode (no UI rotation since it's a 2-player face to face mode).
As soon as you tilt the ipad towards you (about 30°), it automaticallly switches to the side by side mode. Then the UI of the active player is always in the appropriate orientation and the other player is upside down.
3) It's a bug that appeared recently due to an iOS upgrade (somewhere around the 4.2). We're investigating about this regression (music playback used to work before).


Hi Gerald,

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. You've done an amazing job with this game and my wife and I are loving it. Keep up the great work and thanks again for the answers.

Jesse
      
Gerald
-= Crew =-
Ramener les gars à la maison

Messages: 160
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Sun, 15 May 2011 16:25
Hi player727016,

You're right, there's a bug about Stout Amazons.
When leaving the regions, you should not be able to decline the Amazons.
The button "Decline" should be removed in this state.
      
zippog
Member
Cadet

Messages: 54
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2009
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Tue, 17 May 2011 11:02
Bonjour,

J'avoue ne pas comprendre la réponse sur le sorcier après sa dernière conquête.
Il est écrit dans la règle: Note importante : Une conquête se fait toujours avec un minimum d’un pion de Peuple, et ceci indépendamment des Pouvoirs Spéciaux et/ou des capacités de chaque Peuple.

Je sais bien que la conversion du sorcier ne nécessite pas d'un pion de peuple mais c'est une capacité de ce peuple et la conversion est une conquête donc la note importante devrait s'appliquer, non?
      
Gerald
-= Crew =-
Ramener les gars à la maison

Messages: 160
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Tue, 17 May 2011 12:07
Bonjour zippog,

"une conquête se fait toujours avec un minimum d'un pion de Peuple, et ceci indépendamment des Pouvoirs Spéciaux et/ou des capacités de chaque Peuple.".

Cela signifie qu'il faut qu'il y ait au moins un pion disponible pour marquer la région comme conquise.
Dans une conquête normale, cela reviens à dire que le joueur doit au moins avoir un pion de peuple en main pour le poser dans la région après la conquête.
Dans le cas de la conversion par le Sorcier, cela revient à dire : "il doit rester au moins un pion Sorcier disponible dans la boite de rangement".
Le jeu étant fourni avec 18 pions sorciers, il est peu probable de ne pas pouvoir réaliser la conversion par manque de pions.

La version iPad se conforme à ce nombre et dispose "virtuellement" de 18 sorciers sous le capot Smile

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 17 May 2011 13:14]

      
zippog
Member
Cadet

Messages: 54
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2009
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Tue, 17 May 2011 12:10
Merci, c'est plus clair maintenant
      
GnomeMaker
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2011
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Tue, 30 August 2011 00:31
Thanks for a great game all. Just wanted to note my interpretation of the Side by Side view of the game. When we pass the iPad around I would have expected the whole board to remain in the same orientation, rather than flipping and then using the current player's GUI.

Also wanted to bump the issue with the sorcerer not taking over target lands when only one unit is occupying. Tried a couple of times but couldn't seem to get this to work. Admittedly I have yet to read the noline rules, the quick play rules I guess assume an understanding of them in the first place - we've never played before Very Happy
      
SlashGutripper
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2011
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Thu, 15 September 2011 18:41
Is this a bug?:

When you bring in the sorcerors as a new race it does not allow you to use the rod on an active enemy single token that is viable for attack.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6851
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Sat, 17 September 2011 09:19
SlashGutripper wrote on Thu, 15 September 2011 20:41

Is this a bug?:

When you bring in the sorcerors as a new race it does not allow you to use the rod on an active enemy single token that is viable for attack.


By 'rod' I assume you mean their ability to replace one token with your own...there are a few things that might be preventing you from doing this when you enter the board:

1) You have to get yourself on the board before you can use this special power (I believe). So your very first conquest can't be with the 'rod'...you'll have to take a territory and then use the 'rod' on an enemy token.

2) Make sure you're trying to take over an Active race token...you can't take over any spots where an enemy is in decline with the 'rod'.

From your post it seems like you already know about #2, so I'm guessing the issue it #1. Cool
      
duffman4evr
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Wed, 12 October 2011 05:35
Here is a possible bug:

1. Play as sorcerers.
2. Set up a conquer so that it will use up all of your remainging tokens in-hand (e.g. you have 4 tokens left and take a spot with 2 tokens on it)
3. Observe how you cannot use your sorcerer ability on regions adjacent to the one you just conquered, even if you haven't used the ability yet this turn. You get sent straight to redeploy phase.

Maybe this is actually according to the rules, but it seems wrong to me.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6851
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Wed, 12 October 2011 15:04
duffman4evr wrote on Wed, 12 October 2011 07:35

Here is a possible bug:

1. Play as sorcerers.
2. Set up a conquer so that it will use up all of your remainging tokens in-hand (e.g. you have 4 tokens left and take a spot with 2 tokens on it)
3. Observe how you cannot use your sorcerer ability on regions adjacent to the one you just conquered, even if you haven't used the ability yet this turn. You get sent straight to redeploy phase.

Maybe this is actually according to the rules, but it seems wrong to me.


No, I believe this is a bug and if I remember right, it's already been reported. Maybe it'll be fixed in the next update.

Good catch, though! Cool
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Pages Perso
Messages: 935
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2007
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Mon, 02 January 2012 01:24
Gerald wrote on Sat, 14 May 2011 21:49

Hello Rasmussen,

About your questions:
1) Yes it's a bug. You should be able to use the sorcerer power after your last conquest unless a reinforcement die was just rolled.


rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 12 October 2011 15:04

duffman4evr wrote on Wed, 12 October 2011 07:35

Here is a possible bug:

1. Play as sorcerers.
2. Set up a conquer so that it will use up all of your remainging tokens in-hand (e.g. you have 4 tokens left and take a spot with 2 tokens on it)
3. Observe how you cannot use your sorcerer ability on regions adjacent to the one you just conquered, even if you haven't used the ability yet this turn. You get sent straight to redeploy phase.

Maybe this is actually according to the rules, but it seems wrong to me.


No, I believe this is a bug and if I remember right, it's already been reported. Maybe it'll be fixed in the next update.

Good catch, though! Cool

Bought the app in the last hours of 2011, played first game today and ran into precisely this problem (twice). Strategy foiled, enemy not crushed, me unhappy. Sad

Now I read the bug has been known since may last year Wink , I feel strongly that it should warrant some attention of the crew. Smile
      
Slimane
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2011
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Mon, 23 January 2012 13:27
Bonjour,
Je crois avoir relevé un petit bug avec les gitanes dures à cuire mais je n'en suis pas sûr, voici mes explications:
- je choisis les gitanes et je réalise mes conquêtes,
- après que mon adversaire a joué, je profite du pouvoir propre aux gitanes qui est d'abandonner les régions en ma possession mais de quand même récupérer un dollar pour chacune de ces régions.
Le problème est que lorsque l'on utilise le pouvoir "durs à cuire" après l'action ci-dessus, toutes les régions abandonnées par les gitanes deviennent imprenables pendant toute la partie.
Est-ce bien un bug ou est-ce normal?

merci
slimane

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 23 January 2012 16:13]

      
Gerald
-= Crew =-
Ramener les gars à la maison

Messages: 160
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Wed, 25 January 2012 10:33
Bonjour Slimane,

C'est en effet un bug: les régions laissées par les gitanes devraient être à nouveau prenables après le passage en déclin.
      
Slimane
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2011
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Wed, 25 January 2012 14:22
Bonjour Gérald,
Merci pour la rapidité de votre réponse!
      
terry1326
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2011
Re:Bugs in the iPad version Wed, 18 April 2012 16:52
Small World Ipad is really a good game. I do expect more on it.
One of the function I most want is 3-5 players map, even without AI, so I can play with fds, with an ipad, instead of take all boxes.

Back to topic. Here I faced a bug, wont affect the gameplay.

http://i1193.photobucket.com/albums/aa350/terryinhkwestern/SmallWorldbug1.png

The white ladies blocked the entrance in bottom, and the heros blocked the entrance at top.

The AI got no better chance then decline the tritons.
But the fact is the AI did nothing and let me collect his land.


[Mis à jour le: Wed, 18 April 2012 16:53]

      
mlonnqvist
Junior Member
Fähnrich

Messages: 3
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2007
  Using the Gypsies and their retract ability Mon, 30 April 2012 10:56
Not sure if this is a bug, or maybe me misunderstanding the Gypsie ability.

Basically, when playing Gypsies you can choose to retract from a region, by paying one coin from your collected coins and returning the unit on hand, thus giving you more troops for conquest.

These areas are not available for conquest this turn, but once you collect your coins for this turn you get them back.

So, basically, if I have 15 coins on hand and my gypsies occupy 5 regions with 1 unit on each region (with another 4 units on hand) I can pay 5 coins (giving me 10 coins on hand) to have 9 units on hand.

With these 9 units I now conquer 3 new regions and thus I get three coins for these 3 regions, and I get back my 5 coins from before. In total I should now have 3 regions and 18 coins on hand.

That is how I have understood the rules for this special power, but that is now what happens when playing this race on the ipad. I manually counted the coins the computer got while playing Gypsies and it seemed like the computer never took these coins from his/her own hand, thus giving the computer 23 coins in my example above.

So, have I misunderstood the Gypsies special power, or is there a bug?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6851
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Using the Gypsies and their retract ability Mon, 30 April 2012 13:07
mlonnqvist wrote on Mon, 30 April 2012 12:56

Not sure if this is a bug, or maybe me misunderstanding the Gypsie ability.

Basically, when playing Gypsies you can choose to retract from a region, by paying one coin from your collected coins and returning the unit on hand, thus giving you more troops for conquest.

These areas are not available for conquest this turn, but once you collect your coins for this turn you get them back.


I'll try to explain how the Gypsies work using your example:

Quote:

So, basically, if I have 15 coins on hand and my gypsies occupy 5 regions with 1 unit on each region (with another 4 units on hand) I can pay 5 coins (giving me 10 coins on hand) to have 9 units on hand.

With these 9 units I now conquer 3 new regions and thus I get three coins for these 3 regions, and I get back my 5 coins from before. In total I should now have 3 regions and 18 coins on hand.


This is not how the race works. Let me see if I can help you out.

When you abandon a region, you do NOT pay out of your pocket...instead, you place 1 coin from the tray (or the bank, if you will) on each region you abandon. Basically you get paid to abandon a spot. So in your example, you have 15 coins in hand...and you abandon 5 regions. You keep all 15 coins, and place 5 coins from the tray on the now-empty regions. You conquer 3 regions. At the end of your turn you get 3 coins for the regions you contol, +5 coins for the ones you abandoned, = 8 coins. Add those to your 15, you now have 23 coins in hand.

Quote:

That is how I have understood the rules for this special power, but that is now what happens when playing this race on the ipad. I manually counted the coins the computer got while playing Gypsies and it seemed like the computer never took these coins from his/her own hand, thus giving the computer 23 coins in my example above.

So, have I misunderstood the Gypsies special power, or is there a bug?



It is not a bug. Smile I hope this helps! Cool

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 30 April 2012 13:09]

      
mlonnqvist
Junior Member
Fähnrich

Messages: 3
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2007
Re:Using the Gypsies and their retract ability Mon, 30 April 2012 14:16
Thank you. That explains why the computer got more coins than I thought it would, and it also makes the Gypsies special power a bit more useful.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 6851
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Using the Gypsies and their retract ability Mon, 30 April 2012 14:30
mlonnqvist wrote on Mon, 30 April 2012 16:16

Thank you. That explains why the computer got more coins than I thought it would, and it also makes the Gypsies special power a bit more useful.



I'm glad to help! Cool

Without getting paid to abandon regions the way they do, Gypsies would be exactly like every other race when they abandon regions...and would pretty much not have a Racial Power. They're actually one of my favorite races to use, when combined with the right Powers! Very Happy
      
Pages (2): [ «  <  1  2 ]     
Sujet précédent:Strange AI Behavior
Sujet suivant:How do I turn off the music?
Aller au forum: