Memoire 44 - Jour J Memoire 44 - Jour J

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Cargo Noir - English » Final Round
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Magic&Illusion
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2007
Final Round Thu, 17 March 2011 13:27
In the final round, player 2 places a ship and five coins at a port. Player 3 follows by placing six coins at the same port as player 2.

Is it correct, player 3 automatically wins this port because player 2 doesn't have another chance at raising the bid?

Thus, player 2 takes back his ship and coins, and player 3 wins the cargo tokens immediately?
      
ClanNatioy
Senior Member
Cadet

Messages: 128
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2009
Re:Final Round Thu, 17 March 2011 21:13
There's no point in bidding on ports in the final turn because you won't resolve your ships actions until the following turn (which won't happen because you're already at the end of the game).

To win a port in the final turn you have to have bid on it in the previous turn.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 17 March 2011 21:14]

      
Thorjin
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Messages: 43
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2010
Re:Final Round Fri, 18 March 2011 02:28
CarriCommander wrote on Thu, 17 March 2011 16:13

There's no point in bidding on ports in the final turn because you won't resolve your ships actions until the following turn (which won't happen because you're already at the end of the game).

To win a port in the final turn you have to have bid on it in the previous turn.


Well, in the example mentioned in the original post you're correct, there's no point in either player 2 or 3 playing a ship at a port in that situation.

But playing a ship in a port on the final round isn't always pointless. Suppose you're player 1, 2 or 3, and in the next-to-last round player 4 placed a bid at a port. If you don't want player 4 to collect the cargo there, you could (if able) place a higher bid at the port on your last turn to prevent him from collecting.

In doing so, you're using up some of your coins that might have otherwise gone to buying a victory card on the final turn... but if those coins wouldn't make the difference, using them to prevent a player from getting cargo on the last turn might be of help.
      
ClanNatioy
Senior Member
Cadet

Messages: 128
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2009
Re:Final Round Fri, 18 March 2011 03:01
Rarden30 wrote on Thu, 17 March 2011 21:28

CarriCommander wrote on Thu, 17 March 2011 16:13

There's no point in bidding on ports in the final turn because you won't resolve your ships actions until the following turn (which won't happen because you're already at the end of the game).

To win a port in the final turn you have to have bid on it in the previous turn.


Well, in the example mentioned in the original post you're correct, there's no point in either player 2 or 3 playing a ship at a port in that situation.

But playing a ship in a port on the final round isn't always pointless. Suppose you're player 1, 2 or 3, and in the next-to-last round player 4 placed a bid at a port. If you don't want player 4 to collect the cargo there, you could (if able) place a higher bid at the port on your last turn to prevent him from collecting.

In doing so, you're using up some of your coins that might have otherwise gone to buying a victory card on the final turn... but if those coins wouldn't make the difference, using them to prevent a player from getting cargo on the last turn might be of help.



Oh yeah I know the drill. I was more just responding to the particular situation presented by magic&illusion.
      
    
Sujet précédent:Rules question about bidding on cargo the final round
Sujet suivant:Port/Bidding Clarification
Aller au forum: