Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Pirate's Cove - English » A couple of questions
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Phisammajamma
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 5
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2011
A couple of questions Wed, 01 June 2011 07:09
I had this question and then rooted around the forum, saw an answer but it didn't completely clear it up for me. If you drop treasure to increase your speed (with the treasure over board card), is it an increase simply for deciding who goes first, or do you actually get to move your sail marker up and take an extra two hits on your sail for every treasure dropped? The previous answer was this:

"I would play this as that it increases your sail value by 2 so if your sail marker is currently on 6. Dropping a treasure will increase it to 8 for the duration of this battle.

The other numbers are just a cost to increase your sail by one level when upgrading."

Second question. Let's say there are three players at one island. Player 1 defeats player 2, but then player 3 defeats player 1. Does player 3 get two fame points for being the last one standing, or does Player 1 get one fame point and player 3 one fame point?

Third question. If you flee to Pirate's Cove without sustaining crippling damage and you survive the mutiny, do you still get two tavern cards since there is no need to upgrade?

Thanks ahead of time for any help on this.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 892
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:A couple of questions Tue, 07 June 2011 23:02
These are my answers based on the rules as written and how I have played:

1. "For the rest of the battle, your sail is increased by a speed bonus of +2 for each treasure you throw overboard."

The key phrase in the rules here is "speed bonus". I have always played this adds a bonus for purposes of computing speed only, but it does not add additional sails (doesn't move sail marker up). The speed bonus does apply for the rest of the battle, but it doesn't let you take any more hits on your sails.

2. As soon as player 2 flees or is forced to flee (by being "defeated" as you say), all players left on the island get one fame point. See the rules under "Fleeing" and "Forced retreat". For example, the latter section says "A crippled ship brings all remaining opponents on that island 1 point of fame."

3. Yes. The rules don't say have to have a crippled section to get the goodies. To whit: "Collect 1 Tavern card and 2 gold,
or 2 Tavern cards. If your ship was crippled during battle, you
must repair it by paying 2 gold for each crippled section." The first sentence is unambiguous in my opinion. The second only applies if you have a crippled section.

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 07 June 2011 23:03]

      
Bishamoten
Junior Member

Messages: 4
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2005
Re:A couple of questions Tue, 28 June 2011 10:30
would like to tag this thread to ask one thing. Once we run out of Treasures chests, what happens? No more treasures till the end of game or do we replenish from the 'buried' treasures on Treasure Island.
      
Taylor
Senior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 160
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2004
Re:A couple of questions Thu, 30 June 2011 22:26
I believe if you run out of treasure chests there are no more treasure chests.
From the section on plunder
"If treasure, gold, or Tavern cards run out, you get
none, hence the importance of plundering in order."

L8R's
T
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 892
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:A couple of questions Fri, 01 July 2011 20:05
Bishamoten wrote on Tue, 28 June 2011 04:30

would like to tag this thread to ask one thing. Once we run out of Treasures chests, what happens? No more treasures till the end of game or do we replenish from the 'buried' treasures on Treasure Island.


My understanding is that from the Setup rules, all treasure chests and doubloons are laid out on treasure island, and you draw new treasure chests from this island. Therefore, as soon as treasures are buried, they become available for draw.

It might be hard to run out of chests. If each ship can carry 12 chests (at maximum hull) and there are 5 players, then 60 chests can be at sea. I don't remember how many chests there are in the game, but I've never come close to running out of chests during a game.
      
Bishamoten
Junior Member

Messages: 4
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2005
Re:A couple of questions Sun, 03 July 2011 05:36
that's weird, I've played this game 3 times so far with my friends...a game of 4-5 players. And in each game, we always run out of treasure chests. Our rule is the treasure is only 'gone' when its buried. If the treasure is 'dumped into the sea', we put those treasure back into the box for later. Even so, in the last game, we run out of treasures on the 7th turn...the rest of the game we just whacked each other, haha!

Further insight into the rules show another problem...as Taylor mentioned, gold and tavern cards also do not replenish. Its not a problem with tavern cards but gold? We run out of gold at any point of the game.

Btw, has anyone reached the end of the scoring board? Eg. 73 points? Haha.
      
Taylor
Senior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 160
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2004
Re:A couple of questions Sun, 03 July 2011 21:56
You only run out if people have the treasure on their ships.
As Sgt Storm says the treasure starts on treasure island and goes back there once buried so you are unlikely to run out.
Once they have buried it then it is available for reuse.

You do however sometimes find that on turn 11 if you are playing with 5 players, the ships may be well loaded especially if someone has Captain Flint's parrot and you can run out.
There are 50 Treasure so that would mean an average of 10 each so pretty unlikely.
I have played a game once where one ship had 20 treasure on it (parrot) so that only left 30 for the other 4 ships.

L8R's

T
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 892
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:A couple of questions Tue, 05 July 2011 19:51
Bishamoten wrote on Sat, 02 July 2011 23:36


problem...as Taylor mentioned, gold and tavern cards also do not replenish. Its not a problem with tavern cards but gold? We run out of gold at any point of the game.


I don't see in the rules where it says gold and tavern cards don't replenish. In fact, I believe they do...

When you setup, all gold not initially distributed to players goes on treasure island. When you spend gold, you put it back on treasure island. To me that is replenishment. The rules do not explicitly say this for gold, but it does for treasures and that seems to be the general idea, i.e., treasure island is like the game "bank" (of treasures and gold).

The rules for tavern cards clearly state you reshuffle the discard pile if the deck runs out (page 10): "If the tavern card draw pile runs out, reshuffle the discard pile back in place."

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 05 July 2011 19:52]

      
    
Sujet précédent:Defination of "Damage"
Sujet suivant:Can an Opponent send Royal Navy to your LP Battle?
Aller au forum: