Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 448
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 15:52
JFKoski wrote on Tue, 27 March 2012 21:54

In this case the French Resistance should not be able to use Infantry Assault to move 2 into jungles and battle. Currently it's allowed in the online game.

French Resistance, Ski Troops and Snipers have almost the same move onto terrain and battle rule.



In the Campaign Book Vol.2 it mentions "Jungle Fighters" which are allowed to move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and still battle, Are Jungle Fighters considered as Partisans?
I do not own CB2 so cannot look it up directly.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2278
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 29 March 2012 03:51
sdnative wrote on Wed, 28 March 2012 09:52

In the Campaign Book Vol.2 it mentions "Jungle Fighters" which are allowed to move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and still battle, Are Jungle Fighters considered as Partisans?
I do not own CB2 so cannot look it up directly.


Jungle Fighters are very different from Partisans. "These units ignore Jungle terrain Movement and Battle restrictions." They can even move through 2 jungle hexes and battle. However, they have no special privileges with regard to towns or other terrain types.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 09 April 2012 09:06
Q - Does a Japanese Sniper in close assault get the extra die like other full-strength Infantry units?

A - Richard's answer: Snipers do not benefit from Nation rules. So a Japanese Sniper does not get an extra dice when close assaulting an enemy unit.

Yamato Damashi rule, Seishin Kyoiku rules or Banzai War Cry rule cannot be used by a Japanese Sniper.

EDIT: Answer added. This question and answer is also found down below. (I forgot it was up here! Razz )

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 25 April 2012 04:56]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 09 April 2012 09:19
Q - If I play Behind Enemy Lines on a unit that starts on a road hex, I can move 4 hexes and then attack because of the +1 road bonus. In my second phase of movement, can I use the +1 road bonus again to move 4 hexes again?

A -
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1407
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 09 April 2012 17:41
1)I would believe the answer would be Yes

How about this one;
Would a Japanese infantry with a SWA still get to add +1 for having all it's figures when close assaulting (Seishin Kyoiku doctrine)?

2) Yes, this has been addressed somewhere else. I searched the site using the search words "roads bonus" and found the answer!

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 09 April 2012 17:43]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2164
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 09 April 2012 22:26
50th wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 11:41

2) Yes, this has been addressed somewhere else. I searched the site using the search words "roads bonus" and found the answer!


Could you provide the link to this?
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1407
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 10 April 2012 18:53
tank commander wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 15:26

50th wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 11:41

2) Yes, this has been addressed somewhere else. I searched the site using the search words "roads bonus" and found the answer!


Could you provide the link to this?


It is here;
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=54541#msg_54541

Glad to be of help!
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 10 April 2012 19:15
That's no help. I looked all through there and hit the last link
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=64985

Correct me if I'm wrong: I don't see anything regarding BEL and the road movement bonus.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 10 April 2012 21:26
RBorg wrote on Sun, 28 May 2006 23:24

Roads (TP p.5)
Movement: An ordered unit that starts on a Road hex, moves along the road and ends its move on a Road hex may move 1 additional hex this turn on the road.

Examples: Infantry may move 2 hexes on a road and still battle and 3 hexes with movement bonus and not battle.

(RB) Infantry that may move 2 hexes and still battle follow this same rule.

On an Infantry Assault card, infantry may move 3 hexes on a road and still battle, or 4 hexes and not battle.

(RB) Infantry that may move 2 hexes and still battle follow this same rule for an Infantry Assault card.

Enjoy!
Richard Borg



Maybe he is referring to Richard's emphasis on the word TURN. One bonus movement per turn.
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1407
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 11 April 2012 17:02
Actually, I new that the quote did not indicate the BEL card in itself, but saw how he referred to the fact that the road bonus allows extra moment, even for elite units so that they can move 3 and battle. I once saw how someone said that each movement on a BEL card is a separate movement, so that you actually move 1 hex, then 1 hex, then 1 hex, so then with road bonus that would be 2 hexes, then 2 hexes, then 2 hexes (before battling, then movement would continue in the same manner as before). But I haven't seen where anyone from DOW confirmed this. The quote above does make me think that it would be 1 extra hex. In the latest FAQ, on page 39,the first answer after the box would seem to confirm the 6 separate moves that I outlined above. Check it out!

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 11 April 2012 17:04]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 11 April 2012 21:42
No pun intended, but this automatically triggers a NEW question for the FAQ.

If an Engineer unit moves 1 hex onto a Village hex and the village hex has a mine on it does the Engineer get to remove the mine OR is it a "booby trap" and it detonates because the Engineer may not battle on entering a Village hex?[/quote]
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 15 April 2012 12:59
Something to think about including in the FAQ Supplement -

A URL to the online forums and the commonly used abbreviations in the forum. Here's a link to the thread: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=244822#msg_244822
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 April 2012 15:49
stevens wrote on Wed, 11 April 2012 21:42

No pun intended, but this automatically triggers a NEW question for the FAQ.

If an Engineer unit moves 1 hex onto a Village hex and the village hex has a mine on it does the Engineer get to remove the mine OR is it a "booby trap" and it detonates because the Engineer may not battle on entering a Village hex?

[/quote]

Good one Stevens, but not seen in scenarios yet, so is that one off your "brainstorms tornados " Twisted Evil ?

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 21 April 2012 15:49]

      
jdrommel
DoW Content Provider
Bureau FFM44

Pages Perso
Messages: 761
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 April 2012 19:13
Hello all,

Stevens is right to ask the question because the action may occurred and 1 scenario have this sort of trap :

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/editor/view/?id=5890

Very Happy

Jdrommel.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 April 2012 20:02
jdrommel wrote on Sat, 21 April 2012 19:13

Hello all,

Stevens is right to ask the question because the action may occurred and 1 scenario have this sort of trap :

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/editor/view/?id=5890

Very Happy

Jdrommel.


i see now that you sir JdRommel, also have a 'twister' mind Laughing

Now to the point, what is your resolve for this issue, since you created it !? Rolling Eyes
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 April 2012 20:34
Flemish_Havy wrote on Sat, 21 April 2012 22:02

jdrommel wrote on Sat, 21 April 2012 19:13

Hello all,

Stevens is right to ask the question because the action may occurred and 1 scenario have this sort of trap :

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/editor/view/?id=5890

Very Happy

Jdrommel.


i see now that you sir JdRommel, also have a 'twister' mind Laughing

Now to the point, what is your resolve for this issue, since you created it !? Rolling Eyes


This actually wouldn't need to go into the FAQ because the rules are quite clear on this point. If the Engineer can't battle, the mine blows up. Since Engineers can't move into any terrain and battle, the mines will blow up. If the Engineer survives the mine, he can then remove the token in later turns. Cool
      
jdrommel
DoW Content Provider
Bureau FFM44

Pages Perso
Messages: 761
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 April 2012 21:52
rasmussen81 écrit le Sat, 21 April 2012 20:34

Flemish_Havy wrote on Sat, 21 April 2012 22:02

jdrommel wrote on Sat, 21 April 2012 19:13

Hello all,

Stevens is right to ask the question because the action may occurred and 1 scenario have this sort of trap :

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/editor/view/?id=5890

Very Happy

Jdrommel.


i see now that you sir JdRommel, also have a 'twister' mind Laughing

Now to the point, what is your resolve for this issue, since you created it !? Rolling Eyes


This actually wouldn't need to go into the FAQ because the rules are quite clear on this point. If the Engineer can't battle, the mine blows up. Since Engineers can't move into any terrain and battle, the mines will blow up. If the Engineer survives the mine, he can then remove the token in later turns. Cool


I agree ! Smile

Jdrommel.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 April 2012 23:35
agreed, no use for faq
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 22 April 2012 20:56
Flemish_Havy wrote on Sat, 21 April 2012 17:35

agreed, no use for faq



Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

Sadly I agree there is no need to be in the FAQ either, but it helps to think out loud about some of these dilemnas.

http://www.fundexgames.com/img/products/boobytrap.jpg

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 22 April 2012 20:58]

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 22 April 2012 22:18
stevens wrote on Sun, 22 April 2012 20:56

Flemish_Havy wrote on Sat, 21 April 2012 17:35

agreed, no use for faq



Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

Sadly I agree there is no need to be in the FAQ either, but it helps to think out loud about some of these dilemnas.

http://www.fundexgames.com/img/products/boobytrap.jpg


LOL Stevens, i see now where you get your minesweeping talents. Laughing
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 24 April 2012 17:21
Q: Do Japanese Snipers benefit from all the special Nations Rules that most Japanese units get?

A: Richard's answer: Snipers do not benefit from Nation rules. So a Japanese Sniper does not get an extra dice when close assaulting an enemy unit.

Yamato Damashi rule, Seishin Kyoiku rules or Banzai War Cry rule cannot be used by a Japanese Sniper.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 24 April 2012 17:23
Q: Do Japanese Engineers benefit from all of the Nation Rules that most Japanese units get?

A:Richard's answer: Combat Engineers units are affected by Nation rules. So Japanese Combat Engineers are supposed to be able to move 2 hexes and close assault (Banzai) with +1 die when at full strength (Seishin Kyoiku).

And they are also supposed to follow the Yamato Damashi rule.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 25 April 2012 02:05
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 24 April 2012 11:21

Q: Do Japanese Snipers benefit from all the special Nations Rules that most Japanese units get?

A: Richard's answer: Snipers do not benefit from Nation rules. So a Japanese Sniper does not get an extra dice when close assaulting an enemy unit.

Yamato Damashi rule, Seishin Kyoiku rules or Banzai War Cry rule cannot be used by a Japanese Sniper.


In that case, a British Sniper should not be able to Battle Back (AKA Stiff Upper Lip, Commonwealth Rules), but it does Online. Do you have a thread link for his reply?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 25 April 2012 04:22
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 25 April 2012 04:05

In that case, a British Sniper should not be able to Battle Back (AKA Stiff Upper Lip, Commonwealth Rules), but it does Online. Do you have a thread link for his reply?



You're right, the British Snipers should not get a Battle Back. Like I've said before there are a whole lot of things that come up in the Online game that aren't dealt with in the rules simply because those rules don't interact in any official scenarios yet...so it sounds like that's a mistake along with the Japanese Engineers that don't play quite right.

Here's the link: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=25027&start=0
      
Frostberg
Member
Major

Pages Perso
Messages: 37
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2011
  Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 May 2012 13:18
Air Rules:

Is it possible to avoid an air check with adjacent enemies, if I just do not order the airplane? So I must remove the airplane (of course!), but my enemy will not get a medal!?

Thanks!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 May 2012 15:19
Frostberg wrote on Sun, 06 May 2012 07:18

Air Rules:

Is it possible to avoid an air check with adjacent enemies, if I just do not order the airplane? So I must remove the airplane (of course!), but my enemy will not get a medal!?

Thanks!


Yes. This is permissable and sometimes the BEST strategy.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 08 May 2012 21:25
Exiting a bridge hex on a confluent - any limitation?

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=25196&start=0
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 21 May 2012 13:20
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=246645#msg_246645

Restrictions on How a COUNTERATTACK card is utilize when being played against an Air Sortie Equivalent.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 27 June 2012 14:27
Combat Cards - Rats in a Factory
Quote:

Re:Armor Factory Combat Card Wed, 27 June 2012 00:59

First, I assume that we are discussing the two Overlord scenarios found in Battle Map Series - Volume 3. Please note in an Overlord game only the 3 Field Generals will receive a combat card before the start of the Overlord scenario.

Second, I do not believe the Tractor Factory occupies any hexes in the center section. Therefore, only the Right Field General can play the Armor Factory Combat card.

Third, In regard to the Sniper Combat card. If you order an infantry unit in your section, you can if you wish, place the sniper in any adjacent hex to the ordered infantry unit, even if it is in a section of another Field General. You control the Sniper figure this turn, but the next turn it may only be ordered by you neighboring Field General.

Fourth, A Combat card is played to enhance a Field General's ordered unit(s) or will allow a special action in the section(s) that he commands.

On a final note, to spice things up even more, in our Overlord games, we give each Field General 2 Combat cards instead of a single card at the start of the Overlord scenario.

Enjoy!
Richard Borg


RBorg wrote on Thu, 28 June 2012 00:06

Hi All
I did not have my Overlord maps at hand late last night.

I fished the battle map series vol. 3 out of the attic and sure enough I should have looked before I answered last night, sorry. There are two Dzerzhinsky Tractor Factory hexes in the center section in the Rats in the Factory map.

The center Field General when playing the Armor Factory Combat card may only place the armor unit in either one of the two factory hexes in the center section.


Richard Borg

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 28 June 2012 14:42]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 04 July 2012 00:34
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=249586#msg_249586

Do Target Cross-hair makers count for everyone, including Destroyers and other Big Guns other than the unit that orignally got the hit?
      
Frostberg
Member
Major

Pages Perso
Messages: 37
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 09 July 2012 00:04
Questions about the airpack:

If the Air Sortie cards are set aside, but air rules are in effect:
a) Is the Air Power card also set aside?
b) If not: Works the Air Power card like the normal Air Power card or like an Air Sortie?

If it's work like an Air Sortie, I think it would be a good idea to change the Air Power card with the Air Sortie card. By the way: If DOW give us a third Air Sortie Card, we could always change the card. I would like it.

Thanks!
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 09 July 2012 03:52
Frostberg wrote on Sun, 08 July 2012 18:04

Questions about the airpack:

If the Air Sortie cards are set aside, but air rules are in effect:
a) Is the Air Power card also set aside?
b) If not: Works the Air Power card like the normal Air Power card or like an Air Sortie?

If it's work like an Air Sortie, I think it would be a good idea to change the Air Power card with the Air Sortie card. By the way: If DOW give us a third Air Sortie Card, we could always change the card. I would like it.

Thanks!


1) Air Rules are not in effect: No Air Sortie, no plane figures. Air Power works if scenario hasn't removed/changed it. Plane figures on board are removed (e.g. Utah Beach).
2) Air Rules in effect & Air Sorties removed: If Air Power is not removed then can bring in plane figure. Planes on board OK.
3) Air Rules in effect & Air Sorties used. Figures are used (board, air sortie, air power).

It would have been nice to replace Air Power with a 3rd Air Sortie. When Air Power is played as Artillery Bombard or Barrage, I use those cards from another set. But Air Sorties don't match my deck anyway, so I use card covers. I don't think many people play with Air Rules, because not many After Action Reports (AARs) were written.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2164
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 09 July 2012 14:24
Frostberg wrote on Sun, 08 July 2012 18:04

Questions about the airpack:

If the Air Sortie cards are set aside, but air rules are in effect:
a) Is the Air Power card also set aside?
b) If not: Works the Air Power card like the normal Air Power card or like an Air Sortie?

If it's work like an Air Sortie, I think it would be a good idea to change the Air Power card with the Air Sortie card. By the way: If DOW give us a third Air Sortie Card, we could always change the card. I would like it.

Thanks!



Answers to:

a) Unless noted, the any Air Power cards would stay in the deck.

b) Air Power cards always work like AS cards when the Air rules are in effect.

Please note there are key differences between an AS card and and the AP card(AS is placed face up and does not count against a player's card limit - AP is held in hand / AS may be played with a Section Card - AP is the only card that can be played that turn / once played an AS card is not replaced - the AP card is replaced like any other card played from your hand). Therefore one could not do a straight up swap for the two.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 895
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 July 2012 09:27
Jesse,

please consider adding the following in the FAQ:

CB#2 - Scenario 33 Drop in the Night 101st:

The Allies can't deploy reserves in this scenario since the baseline it's a forbidden, not usable area in the game.

CB#2 - Scenarios 32 Drop in the Night 82nd and Scenario 33 Drop in the Night 101st


The initial airdrop occurs BEFORE the first turn of the game. Thus, any of the allies units may be ordered in the first turn of the game without restrictions.

The second airdrop during the full daylight can be done in several turns (with the limitation of 3 units), using an appropiate Command Card. The airdropped units must be ordered units, but you still may move others using the "On the move" order in the same turn. Those units landing safely cannot move or combat the turn they land.

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 22 July 2012 12:23]

      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1407
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 21 July 2012 14:38
stevens wrote on Tue, 03 July 2012 17:34

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=249586#msg_249586

Do Target Cross-hair makers count for everyone, including Destroyers and other Big Guns other than the unit that orignally got the hit?



According to page 3 of the Equipment Pack rulebook they do, at the top of page 7 of the Terrain Pack rulebook, it also looks like all. The top of page 7 reads, "Targeting Markers, distinguished by their cross-hair icons, are used in conjunction with Big Gun batteries to designate enemy units which the
batteries have zeroed in on." If only one big gun battery got to fire on the targeting marker, why "batteries"?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2164
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 22 July 2012 12:05
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 21 July 2012 03:27

Jesse,

please consider adding the following in the FAQ:

CB#2 - Scenario 33 Drop in the Night 101st:

The Allies can't deploy reserves in this scenario since the baseline it's a forbidden, not usable area in the game.

CB#2 - Scenarios 32 Drop in the Night 82nd and Scenario 33 Drop in the Night 101st


The initial airdrop occurs BEFORE the first turn of the game. Thus, any of the allies units may be ordered in the first turn of the game without restrictions.

The second airdrop during the full daylight can be done in several turns (with the limitation of 3 units), using an appropiate Command Card. The airdropped units must be ordered units, but you still may move other units using the "On the move" order in the same turn. Those units landing safely cannot move or combat the turn they land.


Another consideration - can the daylight units be ordered to drop via an "On the Move" order?

Jjaz and I played that they could not - and units that paradrop must be a regular order on this basis:

1) Para Drop is a special action and a dropped unit cannot move on the turn of the drop.

2) As an "On the Move" order is intended only to move units, we reasoned that it could not be used to drop units unless a ruling comes down that a Paradrop is considered movement.
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Pages Perso
Messages: 170
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 22 July 2012 12:40
Quote:


Another consideration - can the daylight units be ordered to drop via an "On the Move" order?

Jjaz and I played that they could not - and units that paradrop must be a regular order on this basis:

1) Para Drop is a special action and a dropped unit cannot move on the turn of the drop.

2) As an "On the Move" order is intended only to move units, we reasoned that it could not be used to drop units unless a ruling comes down that a Paradrop is considered movement.



This is clearly said in CB vol. 2 errata document:
"...by playing an appropriate Command card" allows you to drop units or drop some and order the rest on the ground.
However if you play with Breakthrough Card Deck, "On the move" is only attributed to units on the ground, dropped
units must be ordered.


The document is here: http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/713928/_5567.p df
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2164
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 22 July 2012 22:06
deemao wrote on Sun, 22 July 2012 06:40

Quote:


Another consideration - can the daylight units be ordered to drop via an "On the Move" order?

Jjaz and I played that they could not - and units that paradrop must be a regular order on this basis:

1) Para Drop is a special action and a dropped unit cannot move on the turn of the drop.

2) As an "On the Move" order is intended only to move units, we reasoned that it could not be used to drop units unless a ruling comes down that a Paradrop is considered movement.



This is clearly said in CB vol. 2 errata document:
"...by playing an appropriate Command card" allows you to drop units or drop some and order the rest on the ground.
However if you play with Breakthrough Card Deck, "On the move" is only attributed to units on the ground, dropped
units must be ordered.


The document is here: http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/713928/_5567.p df



I have had problems with downloading that document so was unaware of what it contained.

At least it is good to know that we played it correctly.
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Pages Perso
Messages: 170
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 22 July 2012 23:02
And can you download it now? You can try it from my user page, there is also errata document for the first CB.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2164
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 22 July 2012 23:40
deemao wrote on Sun, 22 July 2012 17:02

And can you download it now? You can try it from my user page, there is also errata document for the first CB.



Strangely enough, I can print it out but an runtime error box still appears and I cannot do anything with the document when it is on my computer screen other than press "ok" twice and then it closes out. I think I may have to perform an update?

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 22 July 2012 23:44]

      
Pages (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Sujet précédent:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Sujet suivant:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Aller au forum: