Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » OL - "The cadets of Saumur" - Online vs Hardcopy discrepancies
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 891
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
OL - "The cadets of Saumur" - Online vs Hardcopy discrepancies Sat, 02 February 2013 14:02
Hello,

we played yesterday an OL game, "The cadets of Saumur", again Cool

While reading the details of the scenario, I've run into some discrepancies between both versions, the printed battlemap and the online one.

1.- Missing one sandbag. The town of Gennes has a sandbag in the printed version while the online version misses it.

2.- Pontoon Bridges While the printed version states the Axis only can build one Pontoon, the online version states that "For the Axis forces, Pontoon Bridges rules are in effect (Terrain 33 - Pontoon Bridges)", omitting the number that may be built.

And a final question:

French Artillery representing a Mortar According to the Special Rules, the French Artillery unit with only 1 figure it is a Mortar. Shall we use it as Mortar when talking about range or like a standard artillery?


Cheers
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3047
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:OL - "The cadets of Saumur" - Online vs Hardcopy discrepancies Sat, 02 February 2013 15:10
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 08:02

Hello,

we played yesterday an OL game, "The cadets of Saumur", again Cool

While reading the details of the scenario, I've run into some discrepancies between both versions, the printed battlemap and the online one.

1.- Missing one sandbag. The town of Gennes has a sandbag in the printed version while the online version misses it.

2.- Pontoon Bridges While the printed version states the Axis only can build one Pontoon, the online version states that "For the Axis forces, Pontoon Bridges rules are in effect (Terrain 33 - Pontoon Bridges)", omitting the number that may be built.

And a final question:

French Artillery representing a Mortar According to the Special Rules, the French Artillery unit with only 1 figure it is a Mortar. Shall we use it as Mortar when talking about range or like a standard artillery?


1. Just a graphic oversight, I am sure you can put the sandbag in if you want.
2. There is no limit to bridges in either version to my knowledge. So the use of the word "one" may be more of an indicator of how many bridges may be built on each card play than actually the total number of bridges per game.
3. Play the MORTAR as a regular artillery. This scenario came out before there were any MORTAR units or rules. The intent was to have it fire at 332211 and be vulnerable since it only had one figure.

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 02 February 2013 15:12]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 891
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:OL - "The cadets of Saumur" - Online vs Hardcopy discrepancies Sat, 02 February 2013 15:15
Stevens,

thanks for the answer.

Regarding #2 - Pontoon Bridges the text in the hardcopy version is the following:

- For the Axis Forces, Pontoon Brigdes rules are in effect (Terrain 33 - Pontoon Bridges). The Axis player may only build one pontoon bridge.

After re-reading this statement, my understanding is that there is an explicit restriction/limitation to 1 single pontoon for the whole game.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3047
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:OL - "The cadets of Saumur" - Online vs Hardcopy discrepancies Sat, 02 February 2013 15:24
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 09:15

Stevens,

thanks for the answer.

Regarding #2 - Pontoon Bridges the text in the hardcopy version is the following:

- For the Axis Forces, Pontoon Brigdes rules are in effect (Terrain 33 - Pontoon Bridges). The Axis player may only build one pontoon bridge.

After re-reading this statement, my understanding is that there is an explicit restriction/limitation to 1 single pontoon for the whole game.

Okay, that is the RULE then, sorry I am at work and did not have my game with me to look at and was going by the rules of card play - one bridge per card.
Sounds like you are set to go. Good Luck!
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 618
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2008
Re:OL - "The cadets of Saumur" - Online vs Hardcopy discrepancies Sun, 03 February 2013 09:33
I checked the french translation of cadets on this forum.

Le joueur de l'Axe a la possibilité de construire un pont de bateaux (Terrains 33 - Pont flottant).

So 1 it is online on the French notes.
Also on the actual map.


J.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 891
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:OL - "The cadets of Saumur" - Online vs Hardcopy discrepancies Sun, 03 February 2013 10:00
JJAZ wrote on Sun, 03 February 2013 09:33

I checked the french translation of cadets on this forum.

Le joueur de l'Axe a la possibilité de construire un pont de bateaux (Terrains 33 - Pont flottant).

So 1 it is online on the French notes.
Also on the actual map.


J.



Thanks Johan.

Then it looks like the online english version has minor flaws.
      
    
Sujet précédent:Heavy Tank Track
Sujet suivant:opinions on air pack?
Aller au forum: