Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » CB2 - The coup de main
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 890
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
CB2 - The coup de main Tue, 12 February 2013 18:30
Hello to all,

this scenario is part of the "The charging bull" from the "Break through Normandy" campaign.

In the special rules it's stated:

The coup de main

Once in full daylight, the Allied player can deploy up to 3 additional elite Infantry units (using previously lost figures) on the right hex of his baseline by playing an appropriate Command card (so a Probe in the Right flank allows 2 units to enter the board through this hex)


The question is simple. May the Allied player deploy these units using some of the Tactics Cards, such as Direct From HQ, Move out, etc. or it has to be a Section Card?

Thanks in advance

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 12 February 2013 18:30]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7080
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Tue, 12 February 2013 19:12
Almilcar wrote on Tue, 12 February 2013 21:30

Hello to all,

this scenario is part of the "The charging bull" from the "Break through Normandy" campaign.

In the special rules it's stated:

The coup de main

Once in full daylight, the Allied player can deploy up to 3 additional elite Infantry units (using previously lost figures) on the right hex of his baseline by playing an appropriate Command card (so a Probe in the Right flank allows 2 units to enter the board through this hex)


The question is simple. May the Allied player deploy these units using some of the Tactics Cards, such as Direct From HQ, Move out, etc. or it has to be a Section Card?

Thanks in advance


A Command Card is simply a card you use to order your troops with. You can use any Command Card that allows you to order units, to order the troops.

Command Cards are split into two categories: Tactic Cards and Section Cards. Only a Section card was used in the example, but that doesn't mean you are limited to using a section card.

I hope that makes sense! Cool
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 890
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Tue, 12 February 2013 19:35
Thanks Jesse, you're always helpful! Very Happy
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 107
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Tue, 12 February 2013 20:25
Do you happen to know how assaults (usually Left, Center, Right and Infantry) behave in these situations?
JDRommel has created multiple scenarios utilizing this special rule. Getting to order 5 units and drop in another 5 feels overpowered... (this could happen in Manado Landings)
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7080
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Tue, 12 February 2013 20:46
Zalamence wrote on Tue, 12 February 2013 23:25

Do you happen to know how assaults (usually Left, Center, Right and Infantry) behave in these situations?
JDRommel has created multiple scenarios utilizing this special rule. Getting to order 5 units and drop in another 5 feels overpowered... (this could happen in Manado Landings)


There is nothing in the rules to prevent you using Assault or Infantry Assault to drop new troops and order current units. In fact, it looks like a good use of the card!

Don't forget, though, that in Manado Landings you might try to drop all of the units but only get a few successful drops because they have to land in the right hexes. Also, according to the Paradrop rules the new units who do land on the board can't move or attack on the turn they enter.

So even though it might be a big turn, it's not going to be overpowered! Cool

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 12 February 2013 20:47]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7080
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Tue, 12 February 2013 20:48
Almilcar wrote on Tue, 12 February 2013 22:35

Thanks Jesse, you're always helpful! Very Happy


Ah, well. Embarassed Smile I'm glad to be able to answer your questions! Very Happy
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3020
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Wed, 13 February 2013 00:44
P.46 FAQ
SEA OF AZOV
Quote:

Q. The Special Rules say that the Axis player can bring up to four Armor units onto the Allied baseline on his first turn. If I play Assault in the center would I get to bring in four Armor units and still order all of my other units in the center?
A. Actually the special rules state that the Axis player, after his first turn, may on any ONE following turn, order 1 to 4 armor units to enter the battlefield from the Russian baseline. The turn you choose to bring on these units and the Command card that is being played will play a big part in regard to the number of armor units that can enter. For example, if you played an Assault card in the center you would be able to bring four Armor units onto the board and still order your other center units.


So it seems obvious from this response that using an ASSAULT card allows you to order ALL units even the ones you would like to bring on the board.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 13 February 2013 00:45]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 890
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Wed, 13 February 2013 19:09
stevens wrote on Wed, 13 February 2013 00:44

P.46 FAQ
SEA OF AZOV
Quote:

Q. The Special Rules say that the Axis player can bring up to four Armor units onto the Allied baseline on his first turn. If I play Assault in the center would I get to bring in four Armor units and still order all of my other units in the center?
A. Actually the special rules state that the Axis player, after his first turn, may on any ONE following turn, order 1 to 4 armor units to enter the battlefield from the Russian baseline. The turn you choose to bring on these units and the Command card that is being played will play a big part in regard to the number of armor units that can enter. For example, if you played an Assault card in the center you would be able to bring four Armor units onto the board and still order your other center units.


So it seems obvious from this response that using an ASSAULT card allows you to order ALL units even the ones you would like to bring on the board.


Thanks Stevens for pointing this out. It makes sense now. So that we can use any appropiate card, whether section or tactical, to call up those reinforcements in the scenario.

Cheers,
Jaime aka Almilcar
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3020
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Thu, 14 February 2013 12:14
P.9 FAQ Supplement
MANADO LANDINGS
Quote:

Q. When ordering a Paradrop in this scenario, which type of Command Card may I use as an order to drop a unit?
A. Any command card which could be used to order an Infantry unit in the section where the Paradrop Battle Stars reside can be used for the Paradrop.


I believe this answer in the FAQ Supplement answers your question as clearly as Jesse did.


rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 12 February 2013 13:12


The question is simple. May the Allied player deploy these units using some of the Tactics Cards, such as Direct From HQ, Move out, etc. or it has to be a Section Card?

A Command Card is simply a card you use to order your troops with. You can use any Command Card that allows you to order units, to order the troops.

Command Cards are split into two categories: Tactic Cards and Section Cards. Only a Section card was used in the example, but that doesn't mean you are limited to using a section card.

I hope that makes sense! Cool


So in a sense, Jesse was quoting from the FAQ and just didn't 't realize it.
Laughing Laughing Laughing

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 14 February 2013 12:22]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7080
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:CB2 - The coup de main Sun, 17 February 2013 04:41
stevens wrote on Thu, 14 February 2013 15:14

P.9 FAQ Supplement
MANADO LANDINGS
Quote:

Q. When ordering a Paradrop in this scenario, which type of Command Card may I use as an order to drop a unit?
A. Any command card which could be used to order an Infantry unit in the section where the Paradrop Battle Stars reside can be used for the Paradrop.


I believe this answer in the FAQ Supplement answers your question as clearly as Jesse did.


rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 12 February 2013 13:12


The question is simple. May the Allied player deploy these units using some of the Tactics Cards, such as Direct From HQ, Move out, etc. or it has to be a Section Card?

A Command Card is simply a card you use to order your troops with. You can use any Command Card that allows you to order units, to order the troops.

Command Cards are split into two categories: Tactic Cards and Section Cards. Only a Section card was used in the example, but that doesn't mean you are limited to using a section card.

I hope that makes sense! Cool


So in a sense, Jesse was quoting from the FAQ and just didn't 't realize it.
Laughing Laughing Laughing


Or maybe I did realize it... Razz I actually dream about the FAQ, so it was only natural for me to quote it without realizing. The stranger thing is when my wife asks me about plans to camp in the desert here, and I point out that we have to stop when moving into Ergs and Ridges and move no further on that turn! Laughing Cool
      
    
Sujet précédent:Memoir'44 chits - Track the ordered units!
Sujet suivant:Which expansion to get next?
Aller au forum: