Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Air Power tokens and replenishing hand
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Fri, 01 March 2013 20:31
We came across this situation at today's session: my opponent rolled two stars as his reserve roll, matching a free Air Power token. I rolled a star during my victory event roll, so he lost a card. In the first turn, he decided to use his Air Power token. If he played a normal card (not a token), he would draw 2 cards at the end of the turn. As he played a token (an equivalent of a card), should he still receive 1 card, as part of his hand replenishment, or none, as a token doesn't match the rule's wording?

And sorry if this question has already been answered, my Memoir knowledge gets a little bit rusty sometimes. Smile

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 01 March 2013 20:32]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3039
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Fri, 01 March 2013 23:19
Anytime you use an Air Sortie card by itself or use a token representing that card, you do not draw a card in a normal game. This is because drawing a card to replace those tokens or cards will put you over the card limit. However, since your opponent is at a card deficit because of your action he is allowed to draw two cards on each turn until he reaches his hand maximum, I believe that he would still get this benefit until his hand reaches the number allotted. What you are trying to avoid is him having MORE cards then allowed. It is my opinion that as long as drawing 2 cards doesn't put him over the limit it is his right to do so.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 01 March 2013 23:21]

      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Re:Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Sat, 02 March 2013 11:53
So he shouldn't draw any cards this turn, because if he drew 2, he would have more cards than allowed... but then, if he drew none, he would still have 3 cards and no compensation on turn 1.

My point is, that the 2 cards which the unlucky player draws after each turn is composed by a card replenishing his normal hand and another one which compensates his deficit. As he played no normal card this turn, he should receive 1 card for compensating the deficit.

I hope I was clear enough...
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2101
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Sat, 02 March 2013 11:57
So the situation is your opponent started the game with 1 less card "in hand" than noted in the scenario notes due to your star roll.

His play of the Air Token did not use an in hand card, so at the end of his turn he was 1 card shy (instead of 2 if he played a card). The play of the Air Token does not allow a card draw but his being 1 card short of his hand limit does. So in that case he should draw 1 card to bring him to his full hand limit.

Basically, your bonus roll only hinders your opponent for 1 turn.
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Re:Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Sat, 02 March 2013 16:39
That is exactly the way we played it! Thank you for clarifying...
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3039
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Sat, 02 March 2013 19:42
Szili had I known that your opponent was 1 card short of his maximum, I would have given you the same answer as John. Good question to ask.

Or if I had been more careful to read your question I would have done a better job of answering. I am glad there is a community to help. Embarassed Embarassed

Thanks John

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 02 March 2013 19:45]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2101
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Sat, 02 March 2013 21:55
stevens wrote on Sat, 02 March 2013 13:42

Szili had I known that your opponent was 1 card short of his maximum, I would have given you the same answer as John. Good question to ask.

Or if I had been more careful to read your question I would have done a better job of answering. I am glad there is a community to help. Embarassed Embarassed

Thanks John



Your welcome.

All to the good sir. I find you are always helpful and your posts are of great value to the forums.

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 02 March 2013 21:56]

      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 945
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2008
Re:Air Power tokens and replenishing hand Sun, 03 March 2013 10:35
tank commander wrote on Sat, 02 March 2013 22:55


All to the good sir. I find you are always helpful and your posts are of great value to the forums.


I second that!
      
    
Sujet précédent:The Charging Bull - Wednesday Night Fever!
Sujet suivant:Manado Landings or how to have a blast!
Aller au forum: