Memoire 44 - Jour J Memoire 44 - Jour J

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Cleopatra and the Society of Architects - English » Use of Character Cards - timing
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
BinzerFly
Junior Member

Messages: 3
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2006
  Use of Character Cards - timing Wed, 16 August 2006 20:12
Can a character card (like beggar) be played after a player has replenished the market stalls, but before the end of his/her turn?

For example: Player A has 8 cards, and picks up 2 cards at the market (one of which is a beggar). He does not have more than 10 cards, so he does not discard. He then replenishes the market stalls, and then plays his beggar, which gives him 4 new cards from various players, so his total is now 13.

Is this legal? Does he still have to discard down to 10, even though that step is technically over? The rules state a character card can be played at any time, which suggests that it can be done. In fact, one could theoretically draw cards from the market stall, discard to 10 (if needed), then play the beggar before he even replenishes the stall, since the "corruption" step is already done.

If this is not allowed, it seems that certain cards (like Beggar, Vizier, and maybe Envoy) are best played when one visits the Quarry (unless the player only has a few cards).

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 16 August 2006 20:18]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Use of Character Cards - timing Wed, 16 August 2006 22:49
Page 9 states that a Character card "can be played at any time during a Player's turn." So I assume you have guessed correctly with your example and that it is legal.
      
BinzerFly
Junior Member

Messages: 3
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2006
Re:Use of Character Cards - timing Wed, 16 August 2006 23:47
Actually, I guess I didn't read the rules closely enough. On page 3, under the heading "Visit the Market," it says "If the player's turn ends with more than 10 cards, he must immediately [discard or take corruption]..."

This suggests that even if the beggar is used at the end of the turn, one must discard down to 10 or take corruption.

However, this leads to a new question. The rule quoted above on page 3 is stated in the section "Visit the Market." Does that rule also apply when one goes to the Quarry? In other words, if a person has more than 10 cards after going to the Quarry, does he/she still have to discard and take 1 corruption or take 1 corruption for each card over 10?
      
Passenger57
Junior Member

Messages: 25
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Use of Character Cards - timing Thu, 17 August 2006 18:35
It doesn't matter a lick how many cards you have when you go to the quarry. It only affects you when you visit market, and, yes, you can play the beggar immediately after picking him, before you would have to discard.

This has been confirmed by two of DOW's employees, including Eric, when I played it for the first time at KublaCon.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Entraînement au combat niveau avancé

Pages Perso
Messages: 3190
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Use of Character Cards - timing Fri, 18 August 2006 01:47
That is correct. However, when you go to the Quarry, you MUST build at least one thing before the end of your turn. So it is highly unlikely that you will end up with more than 10 cards in hand, after building something, even if you've also played a beggar that turn (and yes, playing the beggar while in the Quarry often makes more sense than playing in while visiting the market).
eric
      
BinzerFly
Junior Member

Messages: 3
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2006
Re:Use of Character Cards - timing Fri, 18 August 2006 02:51
Thanks for the replies. I enjoyed my first game, I'm looking forward to antoher.
      
    
Sujet précédent:Nile Merchant Question
Sujet suivant:envoy question
Aller au forum: