Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Les messages du jour (ACTIVE) | messages sans réponse(s) (DESACTIVE)


Forum concerné: Memoir '44 - English
 Sujet: First campaign
Dree
Member
First Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 68
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2010
Re:First campaign Sat, 30 August 2014 03:26
Maybe take a look at the grand campaign rules. Longer campaigns are divided in smaller chunks, ams makes the later campaign more dynamic and give more tension till the end.
      
 Sujet: D-Day Landings question. Probably answered elsewhere, but...
Dree
Member
First Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 68
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2010
Re:D-Day Landings question. Probably answered elsewhere, but... Sat, 30 August 2014 03:34
trumpetman52 wrote on Tue, 26 August 2014 17:00

i don't have that much money or friends
trumpetman52 Smile


Time to find new friends!
      
 Sujet: New Ideas for Memoir '44
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3047
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
New Ideas for Memoir '44 Sat, 30 August 2014 04:38
Errant entry. Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 30 August 2014 04:42]

      
 Sujet: D-Day Landings / Sword Beach / German Reinforcement Entry
Dree
Member
First Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 68
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2010
Re:D-Day Landings / Sword Beach / German Reinforcement Entry Sat, 30 August 2014 03:32
Add played this scenario tonight, Anna got stuck with the entry points:

1. Is opponent allowed to stand on an entry hex ?
2. What happens when the opponents is on the entry hex and axis player wants to use this entry point ?

The rules are not clear here, unless we missed a thing
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 220
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:D-Day Landings / Sword Beach / German Reinforcement Entry Sat, 30 August 2014 03:55
Dree wrote on Sat, 30 August 2014 11:02

Add played this scenario tonight, Anna got stuck with the entry points:

1. Is opponent allowed to stand on an entry hex ?


I don't see why not, its a good tactic, after all one of the Paras roles was to block reinforcements making it to the beach.

Dree wrote on Sat, 30 August 2014 11:02


2. What happens when the opponents is on the entry hex and axis player wants to use this entry point ?

The rules are not clear here, unless we missed a thing


Then you need to get them off the entry hex so that it is freed up.
IMO this is just another tactic the Allies can use to disrupt the Axis reinforcements.

Rules seem pretty clear, you have to deploy reinforcements on an entry hex, since the base rules don't allow units to move through or occupy the same hex as an enemy or friendly unit then you cant use the occupied entry hex.

Don't try and read into the rules too much just use what is there.

At the end of the day there are 10 hexes that Axis reinforcements can be deployed on in sword beach, so I think it would be very rear that all would be occupied.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7102
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:D-Day Landings / Sword Beach / German Reinforcement Entry Sat, 30 August 2014 06:49
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 August 2014 10:24

If I am playing this scenario by itself apart from any other map, I know that the Germans can bring REINFORCEMENT troops in from their RIGHT flank and baseline as the roads are clearly marked with a GREEN Enter marker. However, there are two other roads entering from the LEFT flank. Are these not entry points because they are not marked OR may I use them as entry points as well?


Correct. If there isn't an Entry marker, you can't bring units in. There aren't 'missing' tokens on the map anywhere.

To answer the question about occupied entry hexes...if there is a unit of any kind on the hex then reinforcements cannot enter the board there! Keep those lanes open!!

Have fun, everyone! Cool
      
Dree
Member
First Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 68
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2010
Re:D-Day Landings / Sword Beach / German Reinforcement Entry Sat, 30 August 2014 09:58
Smile thanks for thr fast reply men!
      
 Sujet: India, 1945
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2258
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
India, 1945 Sat, 30 August 2014 01:17
I just read an extraordinary story about some photos apparently taken by someone connected with Salua Air Force Base, an American base in India, in 1945 -- and the oddyssey of a husband and wife today trying to figure them out. (The couple's son is a friend of mine.)

Some of you WW2 history buffs here might find it interesting, and -- who knows -- maybe somebody will be able to point toward a piece of the puzzle.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Pages Perso
Messages: 1032
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2007
Re:India, 1945 Sat, 30 August 2014 11:39
Well, like they say themselves: "Amazing".

Thanks for sharing, Sam.
      
 Sujet: Asmodee acquires DOW
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3047
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Asmodee acquires DOW Sat, 30 August 2014 04:39
http://venturebeat.com/2014/08/25/frances-asmodee-group-acqu ires-ticket-to-ride-board-game-maker-days-of-wonder/

Wondering how this acquisition will effect future development of Memoir '44 franchise? I guess time wil tell.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7102
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Asmodee acquires DOW Sat, 30 August 2014 06:47
This was mentioned a little while ago over in this thread: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=29814&start=0

I suspect that things won't change much, but Asmodee is lucky to be getting Memoir '44 along with Ticket to Ride! Cool
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 893
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Asmodee acquires DOW Sat, 30 August 2014 09:05
Anything is possible after an acquisiotion. Once the founders are out the door its up to Asmodee to continue as they see fit.

I suspect Ticket to Ride and Small World are the two largest grossing titles, with Memior third. I warrant that online makes little profit, but is an avenue to more board game sales. What that means is anyones guess, except the CFO and his minions.

One would think Memoir is profitable. Even if its not, there are scads of scenarios to keep one busy until dooms day.

You have to wonder why the sale was made. Either the founders are tired of this great business and want to move on, or they just want to cash out. Other motives are possible, I suppose, such as spending more time with family (ahem) but they are said to be leaving in a bit so I cant imagine a continued financial involvement.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 655
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Asmodee acquires DOW Sat, 30 August 2014 11:45
Here The say that Adrien is going to be someone important Very Happy
As far as I know he is very enthusiast about memoir '44