Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Memoir '44 Cards Compendium > Nation Cards > Red Army (RKKA) > 

Comments - 

Red Army (RKKA)

Red Army (RKKA)

< French Resistance Imperial Japanese Army >

Comments

  1. gheintze says

    Red Army Questions from the FAQ (Comment / Question)

    Q. Can the Russian player under Commissar rules play an Air Sortie card that is face up next to his card holder along with a pre-programmed Section Command card?
    A. Yes.

    Q. Can the Russian player under Commissar rules play a Section Command card from the hand along with a pre-programmed Air Sortie card?
    A. No. Note that the Air Sortie card is never pre-programmed; It is always face up, and never counts toward the preprogrammed limit.

    Q. Can the Russian player under Commissar rules play a Section Command card from the hand along with an Air Sortie card that is face up next to his card holder?
    A. Yes, as long as the Section card being played from his hand is a Recon 1 Command card.

    Q. Can the Air Sortie card be played on its own in lieu of the pre-programmed card? i.e. the pre-programmed card remains in place this turn, as it does if a Recon 1 card is played from hand.
    A. Yes

    Q. If the Russian player moves first, how does the Russian Command rules work?
    A. The Russian player plays one Command card from his hand and places one Command card under the Commissar Chip.

  2. gheintze says

    Overlord on the Eastern Front (Comment / Question)

    When Russian Command rules are in effect (Commissar rules) the Soviet Commander-in Chief cannot normally play Command cards, nor hand out orders to his Field Generals directly from his hand. Instead, he must use Command cards that were placed under his Commissar chip prior to this turn. The Air Sortie (if Air rules are in effect), Ambush and Counter-Attack cards are exceptions; they may be played as normal. The Air Sortie card will be visible on the table, and Counter- Attack card played directly from the Soviet Commander-in-Chief's hand, but only if playing these card(s) AND the Command cards already placed under the Commissar chip during the prior turn, do not exceed the maximum of 3 Command cards played during a turn! In addition, unlike in a standard Eastern Front scenario, in Overlord mode, Recon 1 cards cannot be played directly from a Soviet Commander-in Chief's hand. Instead, they are placed under the Commissar chip.
    At game start, the Soviet Commander-in-Chief must thus place up to 3 Command cards of his choice under his Commissar chip. These are the cards he must play or hand out during his next turn. At the start of each turn, after taking the Command cards placed under his Commissar chip, the Soviet Commander-in-Chief must repeat this process and place some new Command cards under the chip, in preparation for the next turn. In no case can he ever place or have more than 3 cards under his chip.
    A Counter-Attack may be played directly from the Soviet Command-in-Chief hand along with 1 or 2 Command cards from under the Commissar chip. A Counter Attack card played from the Soviet Command-in Chiefs hand may be used to issue the same order just played by an opposing Field General or counter a card played by the opposing Commander-in-Chief. It is important to note that the Counter-Attack card may only be played from the hand along with 1 or 2 cards under the Commissar chip. If there are 3 Command cards under the Commissar chip the Soviet Command-in-Chief may not play a Counter-Attack card from his hand because it would exceed the 3 card limit. Also note that all the Command cards under the Commissar chip must be played. The Soviet Command-in-Chief may not choose to play only 1 card from under the Commissar chip and leave 1 card under the chip.
    The Soviet Command-in-Chief, in lieu of playing the Command cards already committed under the Commissar Chip, may choose to play up to 3 Counter-Attack Command cards from his hand. The Command cards under the Commissar chip are not used this turn and will remain under the token until the next turn.
    Counter-Attack cards can also be placed and played from under the Commissar chip, if the Soviet Commander-in-Chief wishes to. The limit of 3 Command cards placed under the chip and 3 Command cards maximum being played during the turn must still be respected. When the Soviet Command-in-Chief places a Counter Attack card under the Commissar chip along with at least one other Command card, it may only be used to issue the same order just played by an opposing Field General. A Counter-Attack card that is under the Commissar Chip, along with at least one other Command card, may not be used to counter a Command card (Their Finest Hour, Barrage, Air Power, or a Counter-Attack) that was just played by the opposing Commander-in-Chief. However, a lone Counter-Attack card under the Commissar chip may be used to either counter a single order from a Field General on the board or to counter the order of a Commander-in-Chief.
    The Ambush card requires the Commander-in Chief to keep a close watch on the battlefield. The card is given to a Field General from his hand, when his opponent declares a Close Assault combat. The Commander in-Chief draws one replacement card after the Ambush is completed.
    All limitations regarding the play of Command cards by Field Generals (no more than 2 Section cards to the same Field General, no more than a single Tactic card to a Field General, etc...) also remain in force at all times.
    A Soviet Commander-in-Chief can never give out all the Command cards in his hand during a turn. He must always keep at least one in his hand, so that at the end of his turn, after drawing two new replacement cards, he has at least three cards in his hand.

  3. JFKoski says

    Counter-Attack Clarification (Comment / Question)

    Comment #2 above is from the FAQ, and the wording was not changed for the 2013 FAQ.

    The words "he MUST use Command cards that were placed under his Commissar chip prior to this turn" caused some controversy before a Sword of Stalingrad tournament as to the way the Soviet's Counter-attack is played and whether they could Counter-attack Their Finest Hour(TFH).

    From the above, there are 3 ways to play Counter-attack:

    1. "The Soviet Command-in-Chief, in lieu of playing the Command cards already committed under the Commissar Chip, may choose to play up to 3 Counter-Attack Command cards from his hand. The Command cards under the Commissar chip are not used this turn and will remain under the token until the next turn."

    This is the primary way to Counter-attack TFH.


    2. "A Counter-Attack may be played directly from the Soviet Command-in-Chief hand along with 1 or 2 Command cards from under the Commissar chip."

    "If there are 3 Command cards under the Commissar chip the Soviet Command-in-Chief may not play a Counter-Attack card from his hand because it would exceed the 3 card limit. Also note that all the Command cards under the Commissar chip must be played."

    You cannot Counter-attack TFH with this method.


    3. "Counter-Attack cards can also be placed and played from under the Commissar chip."

    3a. "A Counter-Attack card that is under the Commissar Chip, along with at least one other Command card, may not be used to counter a Command card (Their Finest Hour, Barrage, Air Power, or a Counter-Attack)."

    3b. "However, a lone Counter-Attack card under the Commissar chip may be used to either counter a single order from a Field General on the board or to counter the order of a Commander-in-Chief."

    So if the only card under the Commissar chip is a Counter-Attack, then it can be used for TFH.

Leave a comment

You need to be connected to post a comment. Please use the loginbox on top-right hand corner of the screen.


< French Resistance Imperial Japanese Army >