Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Memoir '44 Cards Compendium > Terrain Cards > Roads > 

Comments - 

Roads

Roads

< Fords & Fordable Rivers Supply Depots >

Comments

  1. gheintze says

    Infantry Movement Clarification (Comment / Question)

    Rule of Thumb: Any infantry unit (of any type) that is taking advantage of bonus movement from roads or cards may not battle if it moves its maximum allowable movement, but anything less than maximum allowable movement allows the opportunity to battle.

    Specifics:
    Road Movement for Units classed as Infantry
    Movement: An ordered unit that starts on a road hex moves along the road and ends its move on a Road hex may move 1 additional hex this turn on the road.
    Example; Infantry may move 2 hexes on a road and still battle and 3 hexes with movement bonus and not battle.

    Standard Infantry: 2 hexes and may battle, 3 hexes no battle
    Infantry with a Special Forces Badge: 2 hexes and may battle, 3 hexes no battle
    Infantry with a French Resistance Badge: 2 hexes and may battle, 3 hexes no battle
    Combat Engineers: 2 hexes and may battle, 3 hexes no battle
    Sniper: 2 hexes and may battle, 3 hexes no battle
    Cavalry: 3 hexes and may battle, 4 hexes no battle
    Ski Troops: 3 hexes and may battle, 4 hexes no battle
    Japanese Infantry: 2 hexes and may battle, 3 hexes no battle
    Marine Infantry: 2 hexes and may battle, 3 hexes no battle

  2. stevens says

    Road benefit ends if road crosses a bridge (Comment / Question)

    Q. If a unit is moving on a road and encounters a bridge, does the road extra hex movement benefit end?

    A. Yes!

    see this reference:
    http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=160963#msg_160963

  3. gheintze says

    Road Questions from the FAQ (Comment / Question)

    Q. Does the Road on Hill hex afford the same protection as being on a normal hill?
    A. Yes.

    Q. How should units moving along roads be played?
    A. If a unit starts on a road and stays on the road for the entire move, heres how it should be played:
    - Standard Infantry - 2 hexes and battle, 3 hexes no battle
    - Specialized Infantry (Elite, Rangers, Commandos) - 3 hexes and battle
    - French Resistance Infantry - 2 hexes and battle, 3 hexes no battle
    - Combat Engineers - 2 hexes and battle, 3 hexes no battle
    - Sniper - 3 hexes and battle
    - Cavalry - 4 hexes and battle
    - Ski Troops - 4 hexes and battle
    - Japanese Infantry - 2 hexes and battle, 3 hexes no battle unless they can Close Assault
    - US Marine Infantry - 2 hexes and battle, 3 hexes no battle
    - Supply Trucks - (move an additional 2 hexes on road) 4 hexes and resupply
    - SWA Unit - 3 hexes no battle
    - Armor - 4 hexes and battle
    - Artillery - 2 hexes no battle - on bombard card may move 4 hexes no battle

    Q. How should Infantry moving along roads when ordered with the Infantry Assault card be played?
    A. If the Infantry start on a road and stay on the road for the entire move, heres how it should be played:
    - Standard Infantry - 3 hexes and battle, 4 hexes no battle
    - Specialized Infantry (Elite, Rangers, Commandos) - 3 hexes and battle, 4 hexes no battle
    - French Resistance Infantry - 3 hexes and battle, 4 hexes no battle
    - Combat Engineers - 3 hexes and battle, 4 hexes no battle
    - Sniper - 3 hexes and battle, 4 hexes no battle
    - Cavalry - 4 hexes and battle
    - Ski Troops - 4 hexes and battle
    - Japanese Infantry - 3 hexes and battle, 4 hexes no battle
    - US Marine Infantry - 3 hexes and battle, 4 hexes no battle
    - Supply Trucks - 4 hexes and resupply
    - SWA Unit - 4 hexes no battle
    Note: When ordering Cavalry or Ski Troops with an Infantry Assault card, they may move 4 hexes and battle. The Infantry Assault card does not limit their movement.

    Q. If an Infantry unit is ordered with the Behind Enemy Lines card and stays on the road for the entire turn, does it get the extra hex of movement?
    A. Yes. An ordered unit that starts on a Road hex, moves along the road and ends its move on a Road hex may move 1 additional hex; the BEL card does not change that.

    Q. If a unit is moving on a road and encounters a bridge, does the road extra hex movement benefit end?
    A. Yes.

    Q. If a unit is moving on a road and the road crosses a railroad, does the road extra hex movement benefit end?
    A. Yes. Note: An Armor or Artillery unit does not have to stop its movement when moving onto a road crossing a railroad hex.

  4. bigmal40 says

    Armor, roads and battling (Comment / Question)

    If an armor unit moved 4 hexes on a road, may it still battle (or when using winter rules and movement is 2, may it move 3 hexes on a road and still battle?)

Leave a comment

You need to be connected to post a comment. Please use the loginbox on top-right hand corner of the screen.


< Fords & Fordable Rivers Supply Depots >