An infantry unit is attacked and forced to retreat onto a frozen river. It has one figure left. The unit rolls a star and the infantry figure is eliminated. Does this count as a medal for the attacker? Thanks
Frozen River Questions from the FAQ (Comment / Question)
Q. An Infantry unit is attacked and forced to retreat onto a frozen river. It has one figure left. Two dice are rolled. a Star comes up and the Infantry figure is eliminated. Does this count as a medal for the opponent? A. Yes. When rolling for units moving or retreating onto a frozen river, we have the opposition player roll to see if the ice is thin and figures are lost. Note: Frozen rivers are the only terrain where its effect is still applied when a unit retreats onto it.
Q. When a unit is already on a frozen river hex, does it need to roll if it does not move? A. No
It seems to me unduly harsh on infantry that they should suffer the same chance going through the ice as an armoured unit. I would suggest rolling the two dice as stated, but for infantry both dice must be a star to result in just one infantry casualty.
Leave a comment
You need to be connected to post a comment. Please use the loginbox on top-right hand corner of the screen.