Memoir '44 Cards Compendium > Troop Cards > Combat Engineers > 

Comments - 

Combat Engineers

Combat Engineers

< Big Guns Trains >

Comments

  1. Justinian says

    Road Blocks (Comment / Question)

    According to Mediterranean Theater, Engineers may also remove road blocks in the same manner as they remove minefields.

  2. gheintze says

    Engineer Questions from the FAQ (Comment / Question)

    Q. Do Engineers ignore terrain modifications from obstacles?
    A. Yes. Engineers ignore all terrain modifications, including obstacles such as sandbags and bunkers.

    Q. May an enemy unit in sandbags or a bunker ignore flags when attacked by an Engineer unit?
    A. Yes. The defender still has the ability to ignore one flag.

    Q. How does an Engineer unit play?
    A. Engineer unit rules are described on p.13 of the Terrain Pack or on p.6 of the Eastern Front. But in greater detail: When scenario special rules state Place a badge on the xxx engineer units, place an Engineer badge in the same hex with the unit to distinguish it from the other units.
    Examples:
    - An ordered Engineer unit may move up to 1 hex and battle or 2 hexes and not battle (like a standard Infantry unit).
    - An ordered Engineer unit may target any enemy unit 3 or fewer hexes away. It rolls 3 dice in Close Assault (enemy in adjacent hex), 2 dice against a target at 2 hexes and 1 die against a target at 3 hexes.
    - In Close Assault combat, an Engineer unit ignores all terrain and obstacle Battle dice reductions, i.e. an enemy unit is not protected by terrain or an obstacle it occupies.
    - An Engineer unit that is on a hex with wire may battle and remove wire. The unit will reduce the number of Battle dice it rolls by 1 and also remove the wire from a wire hex. The Engineer unit must be able to battle to remove wire. It may not make a movement of 2 hexes and remove wire. If the Engineer unit, however, is order by an Infantry Assault card, it could move 2 hexes, battle and remove wire, but could not move 3 hexes and remove wire because it could not battle.
    - An Engineer unit that moves onto a Minefield hex and is eligible to battle must clear the Minefield hex instead of battling. If the Engineer unit cannot clear the Minefield, it detonates. The Engineer unit must be able to battle to remove a Minefield. It may not make a movement of 2 hexes and remove a Minefield. If the Engineer unit, however, is order by an Infantry Assault card, it could move 2 hexes and remove a Minefield, but could not move 3 hexes and remove a Minefield because it could not battle.

  3. jamesmhebert says

    Road Blocks (Clarification Requested) (Comment / Question)

    According to the Mediterranean Theater rule book: "An Engineer unit that moves onto a Road Block hex and is eligible to battle may clear the Road Block hex in lieu of battling. If the unit moves 2 hexes, it cannot remove the Road Block on the same turn, unless ordered by an Infantry Assault."

    However this is contradicted by the Official v1.3 FAQ, "Q. Is it possible to remove road blocks? A. No. Road blocks cannot normally be removed, unless stated otherwise in a scenarios special rules."

    So, is it a global rule for Combat Engineers when they encounter road blocks, as the MT rules suggest?

    Or is it a scenario-invoked rule?

Leave a comment

You need to be connected to post a comment. Please use the loginbox on top-right hand corner of the screen.


< Big Guns Trains >