Corinth Corinth


Forum » Small World - English » Rules Clarifiation Compendium
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 

Nachrichten: 49
August 2006
Rules Clarifiation Compendium Thu, 07 May 2009 02:04
A helpful fellow on the Board Game Geek forums compiled all of the various rules clarifications that he could find. Here's the link to the thread:

and here's the full text of what he wrote. The original version had a lot of stuff in bold/underlined, which made reading it easier; but I really don't have the patience to go through the whole document and fix that up Razz As far as I can tell this is all accurate (please post if you see any errors):


Enemy Losses
Q: Is there an order in which the tokens you lose from battles are redeployed at the end of the current players turn ? (in the case of multiple players having to redeploy tokens)
A: Go in clockwise (player) order, from the active player on, if need be

All active units destroyed
If all your active units are destroyed in one turn you may:
1) Score points only with the in-decline race.
or 2) Go into decline and score 0 for that turn.
You may not take a new combo this turn

Abandoning a region
You must leave at least one race token in each region conquered at the end of your turn, except for the amazons. In this case you must take off four race tokens sometimes abandoning regions you've just conquered.

Non-Conquest Unit Placement
Q: Do I have the ability the place tokens in my occupied territories without failing a reinforcement roll?
A: Yes absolutely.

Q: Do Bivouacs count towards the tie breaker?
A: No, they don't count toward the tie-break (they are race tokens for defense purposes, not for all purposes; just like the +4 Amazons would not count toward the tie-break).

3P Board
On the south border, the right hand mountain is adjacent to the forest region.



The Amazons ability text should read: "So you start your initial turn with 10 Amazon tokens (plus any additional ones that may be granted to you by the Special Power associated with the Amazons, depending on your combo)."

To clarify future turns, you pick up your Amazons from the board, add 4 more, and then before the end of your turn, set 4 aside again.

The elves ability text reads:
"keep all your Elf tokens in hand for redeployment at the end of your turn"
But should read:
"keep all your Elf tokens in hand for redeployment at the end of the current player's turn"
As clarified by the Enemy Losses & Withdrawls section:
"Keep the other Race tokens in hand, and redeploy them
in any other Region(s) still occupied by his race (if any) as
the final action of the current player's turn."

Elves vs Sorcerer
When the sorcerers substitute an elf token:
The two tokens are switched, with the Elven token going back into the tray. This is the only way for Elves to lose tokens.

With non-spirit Ghouls in decline and Elves as the active race.
If Elves are put into decline, the following sequence is used;
1. Send Elves into decline (Removing all Ghouls from the board)
2. Score VPs for Elves
That's because there is only an attack phase (including an attack phase for your in-decline Ghouls) in a turn if that turn is spent expanding, not going into decline with a race (your Elves, here).

Ghouls in-decline
Q: Can in-decline Ghouls re-deploy before the active race tokens commence the "Ready your Troops" phase?
A: Yes.
Q: Do the conquests for both in-decline Ghouls and the active race end when the reinforcement die is used for the in-decline Ghouls?
A: No, you play your in-decline Ghouls (including their last conquest with a reinforcement die roll, if any), then you play your active race (who may also have a reinforcement roll as part of their last conquest).

Q: What happens to race tokens returned to your hand after being attacked by the in-decline Ghouls?
A: The tokens are redeployed at the end of the current player's turn.

Ghouls with Spirit
Q: Can in-decline Spirit Ghouls re-enter the board into new regions?
A: Yes, because they behave like an active race. This is true for Spirit Ghouls as well.

Ghouls with Seafaring
In-decline Seafaring Ghouls cannot continue to conquer new lakes and seas.

Ghouls with Fortified
In-decline fortified Ghouls cannot continue to place forts.

Holes-in-the-ground can only be placed in the first two regions you conquer, not on regions obtained during later conquest. So if you abandon these regions, the Holes-in-the-ground disappear for good.
They cannot be re-used if the Halflings are forced to re-enter the map.

Q: Can Sorcerers use their Ability after placing all their units?
A: It depends what you mean. The Sorcerers cannot use their Ability after doing a final conquest for the turn using the Reinforcement die roll. But they can use their ability otherwise.

In order to use their token substitution power, the Sorcerers must still be able to conquer the region they target. Since only seafaring races can conquer Lakes & Seas, a (non-seafaring) sorcerer would not be able to conquer a Lake or Sea occupied by another (seafaring) token.

"Once per turn and per opponent" does mean "once per opponent per turn"

The Sorcerer's power can not be used on the Lost Tribe tokens.

Unofficial recommendation to modify the Sorcerers rule text:
Once opponent during each turn, your Sorcerers can conquer a Region by substituting one of your opponent's Active tokens with one of your own taken from the storage tray. If there are no more tokens in the storage tray, then you cannot conquer a new Region in this way. The token your Sorcerers replaces must be the only race token in its Region (A single Troll token with its Troll's Lair is considered alone for this purpose; likewise for a Race token in a Fortress or on a Mountain, these markers provide no protection to a lone Race token) and that Region must be one the Sorcerers could conquer normally if they had sufficient tokens. Place the substituted opponent's Race token back into the storage tray (disregarding any power that would normally affect the conquered token).

Sorcerers with Flying
Q: Can the Flying Sorcerers use their power in any region with a single opposing unit (no encampment, no sea or lake)? Or, does it still need to be an adjascent region?
A: Flying Sorcerers can use their power in any region except seas, lakes, those with encampments, Heroes, a Dragon, holes in the ground, contains a lost-tribe race token or an oponent's in decline race token.

Q: Can the Flying Sorcerer use his power for the first conquest when entering the board for the first time?
A: Yes.

Sorcerer vs Diplomat
The Sorcerer's substition power is an attack, so you couldn't use it against a Diplomat who picked you as his friend.

Tritons with Seafaring
Q: Do Seafaring Tritans receive a discount towards conquering the water Regions?
A: No, the water Regions are not adjacent to water, and they receive no discount. The Tritons only get an attack discount on coastal regions, not the water regions themselves.


Special Powers

You may roll the die *once* per attack. First, you roll the die.
Then, you choose an adjacent territory. Then, you deploy your tokens.

About the final roll, there is a very important sentence in the rulebook, in the "Berserk" section:
"If you do not have enough tokens left, this is your final conquest attempt for the turn."
This sentence means that there is no "end-turn" die.
For each conquest, you roll the die and select your region: if you do not have enough tokens left, then your turn is over. You are not allowed to re-roll the die.

Camps protect a single unit from the sorcerer's power.

Q: What exactly does "encampments are never lost during an attack" mean? That the one with the bivouacking skill is able to take it back in their hand right away? To immediately redeploy? Or to do so on their next turn?
A: Since they count 'as race tokens', if a region with the encampment tokens is captured, they're pulled back to the player's hand and redeployed during the cleanup phase of the attacker's turn.

English rules should read: You may conquer any adjacent Region with 1 less Race token than normal. A minimum of 1 token is still required.
Therefor, when your active tokens are not on the board, for the first conquest, you do get the Commando bonus.

Q: Can a Flying race conquer a lake?
A: No. The English rules should read: ".. Seas and Lakes."

If you have the Flying special power, you may use it to enter the board through a non border territory.

Clarification of "leave" vs "abandon"
In fact, leave refers to the turn where you are entering in decline.
You should understand the following:"The Fortress also augments your Region's defense by 1 (just as if you had an additional Race token stationed there), even if you are entering or are in decline.

In-decline races cannot continue to place fortifications.

Q: Do Heroic Heroes need to be moved every turn?
A: There is no need to move them from one turn to the next.

Since only seafaring races can conquer Lakes & Seas, a (non-seafaring) race would not be able to conquer a Lake or Sea occupied by another (seafaring) token.

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 08 May 2009 10:26] vom Moderator

Vorheriges Thema:Rule question - Sorcerers vs Elves
Nächstes Thema:Merchant power
Gehen Sie zum Forum: