Corinth Corinth

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Rules clarification: Entering the map (1st turn)
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
bamonson
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
December 2006
Rules clarification: Entering the map (1st turn) Fri, 08 May 2009 17:10
ENTERING THE MAP
Can you enter the map at multiple separate locations, or must you enter at one point and then progress from there?

STACK ATTACK
Also, if you place your entire stack of tokens on the entry point (say 10 of them), can you then progress with that stack, leaving one token behind for each area you take over? Or must that "stack" stay in that spot for that turn?
      
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Rules clarification: Entering the map (1st turn) Fri, 08 May 2009 17:21
To your first question: You can enter the map at only any single location (exception: flying). From there you must progressively conquer via adjacent regions.

To your second question: I think you might not understand how conquests work. You only need to place as many tokens in a conquered region as are necessary to take that region as yours (and it is practically always to your advantage to do so). As you make successive conquests, you use the tokens you have in hand that you got at the start of your turn (via picking a new race or "readying your troops"). You aren't attacking from region to region, per se; adjacent regions give you an avenue for attack, but you attack with tokens that you have in hand, not with tokens taken from an adjacent region.

Sometimes, in special cases, conquests may only cost one token, but typically a region costs a minimum of two (if it's empty), plus an additional token of yours for each native token or fortification. A region with a race token and a mountain, for instance, would require you to have four race tokens in hand to take it. In order to conquer the region you must take four of the tokens you have in hand and place them in the region.

If all of those ten tokens (in your example) that you placed were necessary to capture the territory, they cannot be reused for additional conquests until your next turn. Once a token is used for a conquest, it is stuck there until your redeployment phase, at which point you can redistribute your troops however you wish within your territory.

If you have additional tokens that you wish to use to shore up your defense, rather than making new conquests, you may place these in your territory at the end of your conquest phase.

Does that help?

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 08 May 2009 17:42]

      
bamonson
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
December 2006
Re:Rules clarification: Entering the map (1st turn) Fri, 08 May 2009 18:30
Yes, that clears it up. Thanks!

My wife and I were playing for the first time yesterday and were making the mistake of continuing to march on-the-board with tokens already placed.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Kicking a dead Ghoul
Nächstes Thema:Rules Clarification: Deploying Encampments
Gehen Sie zum Forum: