Corinth Corinth

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Rules Clarification - Flying Giants
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
CrimsonAvenger
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 20
Registriert:
August 2007
Rules Clarification - Flying Giants Mon, 11 May 2009 18:29
If I have Flying Giants, and I control 1 Mountain, then can I attack ANY region using the Giant's ability of -1 on attacks against regions adjacent to a mountian I contol?

I think so, as Flying lets you consider all regions adjacent to you.

Anyone?

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 11 May 2009 18:29]

      
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Rules Clarification - Flying Giants Tue, 12 May 2009 00:20
I would say no, you cannot receive a -1 discount, to regions not adjacent to mountains, with flying giants. As I interpret the rules, Flying opens up additional non-adjacent regions to conquest, but it does not make every territory "adjacent" to every other territory. The text for flying reads:

"You may conquer any region of the map except Seas. These Regions do not need to be adjacent or contiguous to ones you already occupy"

Nowhere in that description does it read "Treat all regions as if they are adjacent." Lifting adjacency requirements for conquests (what flying does) is different from making all territories adjacent (which it doesn't.) You can conquer any territory on the map, but regions that are not adjacent to each other remain "not adjacent" as far as the rules are concerned.

A given territory--one that isn't adjacent to a mountain--is available for you to conquer if you have flying, but it is still not adjacent to a mountain. Flying doesn't change that. With Flying Giants, you could conquer any territory, but flying doesn't "stack" with the racial ability in this case--you would receive a conquest discount only in regions adjacent to mountains you occupy.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 12 May 2009 00:31]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3187
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:Rules Clarification - Flying Giants Tue, 12 May 2009 01:15
Flying does not make all regions adjacent. So the answer is no, Flying Giants would not get -1 on attacks against any region, when they occupy a mountain.

Nice try, though Very Happy

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 12 May 2009 01:31]

      
CrimsonAvenger
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 20
Registriert:
August 2007
Re:Rules Clarification - Flying Giants Tue, 12 May 2009 15:14
rats...

Thanks for the reply though Smile
      
csdmmnt
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
May 2009
Re:Rules Clarification - Flying Giants Wed, 20 May 2009 19:31
eric wrote on Mon, 11 May 2009 16:15

Flying does not make all regions adjacent. So the answer is no, Flying Giants would not get -1 on attacks against any region, when they occupy a mountain.

Nice try, though Very Happy


This is a pretty important mechanic as it would make flying sorcerers almost impossible to deal with Shocked
      
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Rules Clarification - Flying Giants Wed, 20 May 2009 23:50
csdmmnt wrote on Wed, 20 May 2009 13:31

This is a pretty important mechanic as it would make flying sorcerers almost impossible to deal with Shocked


The sorcerers special ability actually does stack with flying. Quoting the rules clarification thread (which you can find at the top of the forum):

"Flying Sorcerers can use their power in any region except seas, lakes, those with encampments, Heroes, a Dragon, holes in the ground, contains a lost-tribe race token or an opponent's in decline race token."

I believe that the distinction between the Giants and the Sorcerer's special abilities are that the former specifies adjacency as a requirement for a discount to conquer, whereas the latter is bound by the same requirements as those regarding conquering a territory. As the adjacency requirements for conquering territories are lifted, so are the adjacency requirements for the Sorcerer's special ability.

It makes sense to me, although I can see how (from a certain point of view) the distinction between the special abilities of the two races might seem a little arbitrary.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 20 May 2009 23:52]

      
Sseluric
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 12
Registriert:
June 2009
Re:Rules Clarification - Flying Giants Tue, 09 June 2009 00:15
.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 09 June 2009 00:22]

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them?
Nächstes Thema:Diplomat clarification ...
Gehen Sie zum Forum: