Corinth Corinth

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » are mountain regions "empty"?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
mattdm
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 11
Registriert:
June 2005
are mountain regions "empty"? Wed, 10 June 2009 18:42
The mountain tiles seem to exist to make things simple: they're a "thing" which adds +1 to the target to conquer a region.

An empty region normally takes 2 troops to enter; one with a mountain token takes 3.

The orc power is dependent on conquering "not empty" regions. Does this mean empty of races, of other players (i.e., do lost tribes count?), or does it mean empty of everything?.

      
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:are mountain regions "empty"? Wed, 10 June 2009 23:26
I believe that for all intents and purposes, at least regarding the orc special ability, a mountain region without a race token would be considered "empty." I say this without the explicit backing of the rules, but it seems to me that the "spirit" of the orc special ability is gaining profit from doing battle with other races--they're an aggressive and warlike race. Gaining a bonus from conquering an empty mountain doesn't seem very "Orcish" to me Laughing
      
mattdm
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 11
Registriert:
June 2005
Re:are mountain regions "empty"? Wed, 10 June 2009 23:45
Magnot wrote on Wed, 10 June 2009 17:26

Gaining a bonus from conquering an empty mountain doesn't seem very "Orcish" to me Laughing


That's my intuition too, but on the other hand, it does have a similar effect: encourage you to use up more troops on each region.

So what about the middle case: the lost tribes?
      
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:are mountain regions "empty"? Thu, 11 June 2009 00:11
The way I've played it so far, regions with lost tribes are not considered empty.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3187
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:are mountain regions "empty"? Thu, 11 June 2009 00:17
Correct.
      
BamH1
Member
Small World Creation Contest Winner

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 85
Registriert:
August 2007
Re:are mountain regions "empty"? Mon, 15 June 2009 02:34
eric wrote on Thu, 11 June 2009 08:17

Correct.



To be more explicit, Page 8 of the Rule Book (bold and italics NOT mine):
Quote:

A Region is deemed non-empty if, and only if, it contains at least one Lost Tribe or Race token (Active or In Decline). A Region that contains a Mountain marker but no Lost Tribe or enemy Race token is considered empty.

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Entering Decline when whiped out?
Nächstes Thema:In-Decline Race Question
Gehen Sie zum Forum: