Corinth Corinth

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Can Dragon Master be used to enter the board?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
hudarklord
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 9
Registriert:
December 2007
Can Dragon Master be used to enter the board? Sun, 21 June 2009 23:23
In the French rules (which, I presume, are controlling), the Dragon Master can only attack "adjacent" Regions. This implies that you can't enter the board using the Dragon Master power.

In the English rules, the requirement for adjacency is left out of the Dragon Master description, implying that it can be used to enter the board.

If the French rules are correct and adjacency is normally required, then can Halfling Dragon Masters still use the Dragon to enter the board just like Flying Sorcerers can zap their way onto the board?

This difference between the rulebooks should be addressed overtly in a FAQ somewhere since the two rulebooks have different adjacency requirements.

Thanks,
Lee Valentine
      
GhostWolf69
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 148
Registriert:
April 2004
Re:Can Dragon Master be used to enter the board? Mon, 22 June 2009 10:26
I think it can be. The "adjacent" wording has been changed on several instances to instead mean "region you can legally attack". For example: "Commando" makes it 1 token cheaper to conquer any region you can legally conquer, even if the ability says "adjacent".

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong.

/wolf
      
hudarklord
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 9
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Can Dragon Master be used to enter the board? Mon, 22 June 2009 15:23
Actually, this is the reason I'm asking. Commando was changed SPECIFICALLY because the word "adjacent" is absent in the French rules on Commando (which I believe control).

In contrast, in the French rules for Dragon Master, the word "adjacent" is in there.

And, if you've followed the whole kerfuffle over flying sorcerers and giants you'll know that "adjacent" is NOT being handled systematically at all.

Lee Valentine
      
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Can Dragon Master be used to enter the board? Mon, 22 June 2009 23:26
The answer is simple. You can enter the board with the Dragon so long as you don't speak French Laughing

In all seriousness, though, the English rules are perfectly clear, so I'm going with that, since those are the rules I have. Trying to reconcile the two versions seems like a waste of time, frankly, at least in my case.

Remember that despite the original intent and official rulings on the rules of the game, you can play the game pretty much however you want to so long as everyone at the table agrees, so just go with what makes sense to you. That's my advice. Smile
      
hudarklord
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 9
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Can Dragon Master be used to enter the board? Tue, 23 June 2009 15:00
Magnot wrote on Mon, 22 June 2009 17:26


In all seriousness, though, the English rules are perfectly clear


As a general observation, the rules (particularly in light of the FAQ) do such a poor job of consistently handling the term "adjacent" that I just can't agree with you that they are clear. Adjacency aside, our group found quite a number of issues with the wording of the rules which was causing some confusion, particularly without the FAQ.

Lee
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3187
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:Can Dragon Master be used to enter the board? Tue, 23 June 2009 19:15
The English rules are correct as stated. You may use your Dragon's power to enter the board.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:New Ghoul Question
Nächstes Thema:Public Display of your Contest Ideas
Gehen Sie zum Forum: