Corinth Corinth

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Thu, 06 January 2011 00:43
The Necromantic Elixir card in the Tales and Legends expansion states that, when the player's active race is sent into decline, it will retain its special power, keep all its tokens, and start behaving like ghouls.

The card makes no mention of the racial power, as opposed to special power. Does the declined race keep its racial when Necromantic Elixir is in effect?
      
Magnot
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 49
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Sat, 08 January 2011 23:14
21 views and no reply? Sad

When I initially read the card, I thought maybe that the declined race kept its special power and lost its racial, but the fact that certain races (kobolds and pixies) have a handicap as a racial seems to suggest otherwise.
      
Cop400
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
December 2010
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Sat, 08 January 2011 23:47
When I played I kept the race power
      
Phenexian
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 29
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Sun, 09 January 2011 00:14
I think it looses its abillity but not its race's special power, basicly the same as ghouls (only better - unless you're a kobold, pixie or barbarian)

Totaly broken for women in white.
      
Mangle Paw
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
October 2010
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Sun, 09 January 2011 06:00
Magnot wrote on Wed, 05 January 2011 18:43

The Necromantic Elixir card in the Tales and Legends expansion states that, when the player's active race is sent into decline, it will retain its special power, keep all its tokens, and start behaving like ghouls.

The card makes no mention of the racial power, as opposed to special power. Does the declined race keep its racial when Necromantic Elixir is in effect?


As soon as you go into decline the racial flips. So effectively thekobolds and pixies would loose thier 'weakness'.

That said, it's a bid to get the card, and card is marked as a Lordly Legend so it's supposed to a tuffy. If playing with new players, I'd clairify just how powerful ghoul and spirit effects can be before playing.

As to how broken that is with White Ladies, it's not too bad, due to the bid. Make sure white Ladies pay a harsh price and hammer the snot out of the players active race to force them to the next decline as quick as possible. Even if they are capped in numbers (7?), the whole table should kick in to drop the new race as quick as possible. Do it in two turns, make sure they pay 10 gold, they net 4 points. If you can push the player to bid past 15, they will actually talking negative net.
      
smash_64
Senior Member
Rikugun Shōsa

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 144
Registriert:
July 2005
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Sun, 09 January 2011 06:58
You can take a look at the French forum about Small World, where the question has already been discussed : http://www.daysofwonder.com/fr/msg/?th=20501&start=0

With the Necromantic Elixir card, the race keeps his racial power and special power in decline which makes, in my opinion, that card the best one in the game.
      
j0echi
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 18
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Sat, 15 January 2011 19:09
Necromantic Elixir
"Auction off this elixir to the highest bidder at the start of the turn. The player who wins it will be entitled to keep his special power and all of his active race tokens on the map when he next goes in decline. These tokens will then start behaving like ghouls."

Quote:

With the Necromantic Elixir card, the race keeps his racial power and special power in decline which makes, in my opinion, that card the best one in the game


Nowhere on the card does it say you get to keep your racial power. It only specifies you keep your special power, and since you flip your card to go into decline, you lose your racial anyways.

Infact, it says on the card you start behaving like ghouls, so one could go so far as to interpret that to mean you essentially gain the ghoul racial at the point of decline.

Good news is, you get to keep all active tokens and don't have to drop to one per region controlled as normal.
      
smash_64
Senior Member
Rikugun Shōsa

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 144
Registriert:
July 2005
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Sat, 15 January 2011 23:35
On my last post, I gave a link where a DOW staff member (Antoine) confirmed that the race keeps both its racial and special power with the Necromantic Elixir card. Wink
      
j0echi
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 18
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Tue, 18 January 2011 09:22
For one who doesn't speak french, that link holds no sway over my standpoint, so I must respectfully insist that you are still wrong.

Necromantic Elixir

Auction off this elixir to the highest bidder at the start of the turn. The player who wins it will be entitled to keep his special power and all of his active race tokens on the map when he next goes in decline. These tokens will then start behaving like ghouls


I feel like a broken record. Nowhere on the card does it say you get to keep your racial power, only specifically your special power. Your race essentially becomes ghouls, gaining their racial in place of whatever ability your race originally had. So unless the races affected by the elixir are the ghouls themselves or a race that keeps its racial power while in decline, like trolls or dwarves, you lose your racial power.
      
smash_64
Senior Member
Rikugun Shōsa

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 144
Registriert:
July 2005
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Tue, 18 January 2011 16:56
I agree with you that sometimes, the Small World rules aren't fully clear and require interpretation, especially in the Tales and Legends expansion (because there's not any sheet that specify every card one by one). But when you get an official answer from a DOW staff member (whether or not in french), I think you can trust it.

On the other hand, if you prefer to play this card the way you mentioned, it's fine too. In any game, you can modify of make your own rules. What's important is that you have fun playing the game Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 8254
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Tales and Legends - Necromantic Elixir question Tue, 18 January 2011 18:10
j0echi wrote on Tue, 18 January 2011 12:22

For one who doesn't speak french, that link holds no sway over my standpoint, so I must respectfully insist that you are still wrong.


You can respectfully insist but that was an official answer to the question. Granted, you're always welcome to play your games with the interpretation you like! Smile
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Fungoid Race
Nächstes Thema:Rules questions (a bit complicated)
Gehen Sie zum Forum: