Zug um Zug New York Zug um Zug New York

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Cavalry
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1056
Registriert:
March 2005
Cavalry Fri, 01 February 2013 08:16
Im a bit confused about cavalry, by the rules in the Equipment pack.

it says:
Quote:

When indicated in the scenario’s Briefing Notes, place
4 Cavalry figures in each scenario hex containing an
Infantry symbol with a Cavalry badge.
A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat.
An ordered Cavalry unit:
May move up to 3 hexes and battle.
May battle any enemy target 2 or fewer
hexes away. It rolls 2 dice in Close
Assault and 1 die against a target at 2 hexes.
May, on a successful Close Assault combat, Take Ground and battle
again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun combat.


So this means, that it gets a -2 dice against a forest or town?
Does this also means you have to throw grenades to kill cavalry (it says it has to be treated like armor in combat)?

The rules in the EP are updated rules (acording to the symbol next to it) so what is exactly changed? or only if the scenario says "polish cavalry"

We played the EP yesterday and we played the cavalry as an infantery unit with special movement abilities, but nog the -2 dice restrictions against forest (because this makes cavalry useless)


The summary card is not very helpfull in this case in my opinion....
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_8.jpg

Hopefully you understand my question.. its still early here in Holland Very Happy

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 01 February 2013 08:22]

      
Phread
Senior Member
Railway Tycoon

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1777
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Cavalry Fri, 01 February 2013 08:48
I think the reference to armor movement and combat is in the ability to overrun after close combat and battle a second time.

May, on a successful Close Assault combat, Take Ground and battle again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun combat

This is how I would interpret the rules in this case.

Of course I could be wrong. Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3450
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Cavalry Fri, 01 February 2013 16:04
But Alas, you are correct. The Overrun combat ability of Armor, not it's dice restrictions are what apply. Cavalry have the same terrain dice restrictions as Infantry.

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 01 February 2013 16:06]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1056
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:Cavalry Sat, 02 February 2013 08:22
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 16:04

But Alas, you are correct. The Overrun combat ability of Armor, not it's dice restrictions are what apply. Cavalry have the same terrain dice restrictions as Infantry.


Thats how we played it, but the rules in the ep are still confusing when the say that cavalry are orded as infantry en the battle as armor.....
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1056
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:Cavalry Mon, 08 January 2018 16:09
The cavalry dig in question brought me back to this topic.

So according to the Equipement rules, which updated the Cavalry rules found in the Eastern front attacking with an cavalry unit into a forest in close assault has not use because you roll 0 dice? (2 -2 for forest protection as cavalry is used as armor in combat situations?)
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2706
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Cavalry Tue, 09 January 2018 06:04
It would be easy to read the Equipment Pack's statement, "A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat," as meaning armor terrain die reductions. However, if the intent was to change that rule, I think they would have spelled that out specifically, the way they did with the DDL change about movement on Bridges. Instead, I read the EP statement as a quick, easy way to communicate the combination of 3 hexes and Overruns.


Using armor dice reductions, Cavalry would be unable to attack into a town, and unable to attack out of a town. But they would automatically remove wire.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1056
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:Cavalry Tue, 09 January 2018 06:52
I agree it's likely that they roll dice as infantry. But that's not what the rules say. Also, In the equipement rules there is a "rule update" icon suggesting the rules have been changed. I would really appreciate if Richard Borg could answer this question so we can forever play memoir the way it should Smile

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 09 January 2018 13:56]

      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 195
Registriert:
July 2004
Re:Cavalry Wed, 10 January 2018 00:51
When I was searching for answers concerning cavalry digging in, I am sure I came across an official answer that said cavalry attacking are treated as infantry for terrain purposes.

I can't find it now because the search engine won't work. Maybe a site problem connected with the scenario pdf's being down as well?
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:New Battle Map
Nächstes Thema:Export PDF, trouble with french accents
Gehen Sie zum Forum: