Zug um Zug New York Zug um Zug New York

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Does terrain stack?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Sean_68333
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2007
Does terrain stack? Mon, 27 October 2014 03:23
I am wondering if terrain battle dice reductions stack?

If I put sand bags in a village hex, do tanks then suffer -3 dice?

I don't see anyplace that says they don't stack.

Thanks.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 8216
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Mon, 27 October 2014 03:32
sean_68333 wrote on Sun, 26 October 2014 19:23

I am wondering if terrain battle dice reductions stack?

If I put sand bags in a village hex, do tanks then suffer -3 dice?

I don't see anyplace that says they don't stack.

Thanks.


No, terrain doesn't stack. The only bonus the Sandbag will give you is to allow you to ignore a Flag that is rolled against that unit.

Have fun! Cool
      
Sean_68333
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Mon, 27 October 2014 17:06
Is that stated in the main rule book or is it somewhere in an errata or expansion?

Thanks,

Sean
      
Sean_68333
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Mon, 27 October 2014 17:14
Okay, I see in the main rulebook that sand bags offer -1 battle dice if the terrain offers no reduction.

What about other terrain features. I'm thinking bunkers.

If a bunker is on a hill, would you add the battle dice reductions for both the hill and the bunker?

Thanks again.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 8216
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Mon, 27 October 2014 18:14
sean_68333 wrote on Mon, 27 October 2014 09:14

Okay, I see in the main rulebook that sand bags offer -1 battle dice if the terrain offers no reduction.

What about other terrain features. I'm thinking bunkers.

If a bunker is on a hill, would you add the battle dice reductions for both the hill and the bunker?

Thanks again.


Nope, no stacking at all.

You might find it helpful to look at the Official FAQ. You can find it here: http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/advanced-play/

Enjoy! It's a long read, so don't try to go through the whole thing at once; just look for the things you need.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2721
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Does terrain stack? Mon, 27 October 2014 18:30
One small clarification: if there's a reduction for battling out of something (such as wire) and also a reduction for battling into something (such as a town), those two reductions do get added together. Similarly, certain types of units that automatically ignore the first flag must ignore 2 flags if they're in a sandbag out bunker.
      
Vlec
Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 71
Registriert:
February 2010
Re:Does terrain stack? Tue, 28 October 2014 17:13
The sandbag card states that the -1 on dice applies only when the sandbags are placed on a countryside or beach hex Smile
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1983
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Tue, 28 October 2014 22:42
Vlec wrote on Tue, 28 October 2014 17:13

The sandbag card states that the -1 on dice applies only when the sandbags are placed on a countryside or beach hex Smile


This:
sean_68333 wrote on Mon, 27 October 2014 17:14

Okay, I see in the main rulebook that sand bags offer -1 battle dice if the terrain offers no reduction.

is actually a better description. Because if you shoot, for example, from one hill to another there is a reduction in dice also because of the sandbags.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 8216
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Wed, 29 October 2014 03:31
Vlec wrote on Tue, 28 October 2014 09:13

The sandbag card states that the -1 on dice applies only when the sandbags are placed on a countryside or beach hex Smile


Ah, Vlec. You know better than that! Razz You're going to confuse the poor guy even though we all know the protection if provided no matter what terrain the sandbags are on. Rolling Eyes
      
Sean_68333
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Wed, 29 October 2014 15:24
Thanks for the info. I've got it now.
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 254
Registriert:
March 2010
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 03:34
sean_68333 wrote on Tue, 28 October 2014 01:36

Is that stated in the main rule book or is it somewhere in an errata or expansion?

Thanks,

Sean


Yep

On page 16 of the base rule book right at the top:

When an obstacle is on a terrain hex, the battle dice reductions of the two are not cumulative.
      
--JP
Senior Member
General Mayor

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 313
Registriert:
December 2004
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 15:25
After all these years, I've never been able to find the rule that states that ignoring flags (from terrain) is not cumulative.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 8216
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 18:18
--JP wrote on Thu, 30 October 2014 07:25

After all these years, I've never been able to find the rule that states that ignoring flags (from terrain) is not cumulative.


I think that's because all of the terrain protection terrain types (Sandbags, Bunkers, etc) allow the unit to ignore the first Flag. There can't be more than one first Flag... Cool
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1599
Registriert:
October 2006
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 18:28
Thanks Rasmussen, I was trying to find that rule to respond, but I'm at lunch at work and didn't have access to all my rulebooks and such. I was looking online at the resources to find it. I'm glad you did.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2658
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 21:00
--JP wrote on Thu, 30 October 2014 10:25

After all these years, I've never been able to find the rule that states that ignoring flags (from terrain) is not cumulative.


I am guessing that official scenarios do not have many instances (if any) of for instance, a bunker and sandbag in the same hex. Players could place a sandbag in a bunker hex via the Dig In card, but really gains nothing from it.
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 267
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 22:53
Is that ignoring 1 flag per unit that is attacking a single unit? In other words, if I attack a unit and roll a flag and the unit I am attacking can ignore it, and the 2nd unit I attack with rolls a flag, can the unit ignore it also because only 1 flag was rolled per attacking unit? I hope this makes sense. Thanks for your time.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 8216
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 22:57
5 star general wrote on Thu, 30 October 2014 14:53

Is that ignoring 1 flag per unit that is attacking a single unit? In other words, if I attack a unit and roll a flag and the unit I am attacking can ignore it, and the 2nd unit I attack with rolls a flag, can the unit ignore it also because only 1 flag was rolled per attacking unit? I hope this makes sense. Thanks for your time.


Any terrain that lets you ignore the first Flag, lets you ignore the first Flag of each new attack.

So if unit A attacks you, you ignore the first Flag. Unit B attacks you in the same turn, you ignore the first Flag. Unit C attacks you, you ignore the first Flag, etc. The "Ignore the first Flag" bonus does not get used up.

Does that answer your question?
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 267
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Does terrain stack? Thu, 30 October 2014 23:51
Thanks Rasmussen, that does answer my question. That's the way we have been playing it.
      
--JP
Senior Member
General Mayor

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 313
Registriert:
December 2004
Re:Does terrain stack? Sat, 01 November 2014 16:36
well, that will do it! Thanks, Rass
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 212
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:Does terrain stack? Tue, 04 November 2014 11:01
Just something I've also thought about:

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_21.jpg

http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_action_31.jpg

As you can see, the latter has (among other differences) die reductions. I'm not 100% sure how this plays when smoke shell is fired on, say, forest.

1) The defensive bonus could be either the normal [-1,-2] or a stacked [-2,-3]. Since defensive bonuses don't stack in other cases, I think this would be no different and normal reductions would be used.

2) When the attacker suffers the -1 from battling out of smoke, this may be added to the defensive bonus. I would play this way because it is consistent with standard armor attacking from town to town and standard infantry battling out of wire into town.

PS. I'd also like to hear opinions on whether "units moving into smoke shelled hex must stop" means no Taking Ground (+ no Armor Overrun) or like railroad (must stop, may still move further during battle phase)
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2658
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Does terrain stack? Tue, 04 November 2014 11:33
Zalamence wrote on Tue, 04 November 2014 05:01



1) The defensive bonus could be either the normal [-1,-2] or a stacked [-2,-3]. Since defensive bonuses don't stack in other cases, I think this would be no different and normal reductions would be used.

Interesting question. Smoke is not really a defensive bonus (be could be I guess).

2) When the attacker suffers the -1 from battling out of smoke, this may be added to the defensive bonus. I would play this way because it is consistent with standard armor attacking from town to town and standard infantry battling out of wire into town.

Would the smoke penalty apply if the unit in it was also battling out of wire? In other words, two drm applied from the same hex to the effects of firing out of that hex.

PS. I'd also like to hear opinions on whether "units moving into smoke shelled hex must stop" means no Taking Ground (+ no Armor Overrun) or like railroad (must stop, may still move further during battle phase)


The rules state (EE pg 3):

"Movement: A unit must stop when moving onto a hex with a Smoke
Shell and may move no further on that turn."

So, taking ground is not an option.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Winter weather
Nächstes Thema:Overthrough and On the Move
Gehen Sie zum Forum: