Corinth Corinth

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Dug-In Card
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
questioneer
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 88
Registriert:
July 2012
Dug-In Card Thu, 25 April 2019 22:32
Just curious,

Has Richard Borg ever thought about making an official change to this card? Maybe change it to order 4 infantry units, move them 1 space then sandbag them. Seems like that would bring this card up a notch to the level of the other tactic cards.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3494
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Dug-In Card Fri, 26 April 2019 04:41
questioneer wrote on Thu, 25 April 2019 16:32

Just curious,

Has Richard Borg ever thought about making an official change to this card? Maybe change it to order 4 infantry units, move them 1 space then sandbag them. Seems like that would bring this card up a notch to the level of the other tactic cards.

I think you just made a change. The original card is called “DIG-IN”. Cool Laughing Rolling Eyes
I believe the addition of Combat Cards to the game with alternative plays for fortifying will be the only modification we will see.
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 227
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:Dug-In Card Fri, 26 April 2019 15:00
Yeah, I think it's unlikely that after all these years the card would change. It is sometimes very useful, most of the time it isn't though. Definitely it could use some sort of buff, but I can see how it might not have been apparent when the game was designed.
      
hudsonm
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Dug-In Card Fri, 26 April 2019 16:16
I have always though this card was pointless.
Any "real-life" infantry unit if it stays in place long enough, will start to "dig-in" or fortify/find protective cover etc.
I have thought that if an infantry unit is ordered, and it does not move or battle it can be "Dig-in"'ed.
I don't like house rules, but I have always liked this idea.
      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 231
Registriert:
July 2004
Re:Dug-In Card Fri, 26 April 2019 18:06
I like the breakthrough version that allows you to dig in artillery.
      
CAMiller
Junior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 13
Registriert:
September 2015
Re:Dug-In Card Fri, 26 April 2019 18:18
Back when I first started playing Memoir '44, I also thought the Dig-In card was rather pointless. However after playing a lot of games, I have learned that it can be one of the most powerful cards especially if played early to protect otherwise vulnerable infantry.

For example in the official scenario Arracourt, digging in the 4 German infantry on the Allied left flank can change the whole course of the battle making them far more resistant to the American tanks.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3494
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Dug-In Card Fri, 26 April 2019 22:55
CAMiller wrote on Fri, 26 April 2019 12:18

Back when I first started playing Memoir '44, I also thought the Dig-In card was rather pointless. However after playing a lot of games, I have learned that it can be one of the most powerful cards especially if played early to protect otherwise vulnerable infantry.

For example in the official scenario Arracourt, digging in the 4 German infantry on the Allied left flank can change the whole course of the battle making them far more resistant to the American tanks.

Yes, I agree and good of you to note.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2152
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:Dug-In Card Sun, 28 April 2019 16:49
Adding to that: if I had played dig in as my first card (form a worthless hand otherwise) on the Japanese/British scenario in the Belgium Open of 2015 I would have had one more medal overall that weekend and been in the top ten instead of not.

I think I am still not over that one. Smile
      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 231
Registriert:
July 2004
Re:Dug-In Card Sun, 28 April 2019 18:50
I have seen the pro 'Dig in' arguments many times, but I just don't buy it. It is almost always a useless card that just reduces your available hand by one. I have played hundreds of games solo/ftf, and I can honestly say I have never played it and thought it was a game winner. Several times it has been useful in a particular circumstance. That is a very low percentage. In ftf play I just sigh when I draw or start with it.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2152
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:Dug-In Card Sun, 28 April 2019 19:40
We (at least I) are not saying that it is a useful card. Usually you need to "get rid of it" but we are saying in very few occasions it is useful.

It is just another card you need to deal with. the same as an armor assault if you have no armor or an Artillery Bombard without artillery. Or cards in flanks whee you have no more units, etc.

Thus, to me, it belongs in the game and does not need any tweaking or houseruling.
      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 231
Registriert:
July 2004
Re:Dug-In Card Mon, 29 April 2019 01:22
I'm not saying it doesn't belong in the game, and I am fine with it being part of the deck. I'm just saying I personally don't like it.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 29 April 2019 01:23]

      
waltero
Member
Tenente Colonello

Nachrichten: 78
Registriert:
January 2008
Re:Dug-In Card Sat, 18 May 2019 23:43
Quote:
the same as an armor assault if you have no armor 


Not really the same. At least you can use those cards to move one unit of your choosing on any front. Same with Bombard/air being played during night rules. I wonder, If a player was to play Dig-in, while having no infantry on the gameboard, would he have the ability to order any one (no inf.) unit?

The Card has come in handy some of the time. I am OK that they included the card in the deck.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 18 May 2019 23:47]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3494
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Dug-In Card Sat, 18 May 2019 23:50
waltero wrote on Sat, 18 May 2019 17:43

If a player was to play Dig-in, while having no infantry on the gameboard, would he have the ability to order any one (no inf.) unit.


Yes, says so on the bottom of the card.
https://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compe ndium/?id=command_18

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 19 May 2019 01:53]

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Base game reprint?
Nächstes Thema:Top quality campaign/battle compilation booklets
Gehen Sie zum Forum: