Deep Blue Deep Blue

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » CB1 question
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
GI John
Senior Member
Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 235
Registriert:
November 2009
CB1 question Sun, 01 December 2019 06:20
The Breakout

Ok. The Allies won Operation Cobra 5-4. However, the total Victory Points between the Allies and Germans is tied 12-12. Neither side won the campaign. However, both the Allies and Germans campaign sheets say to end the campaign and move on to 'Early Falaise'.

I'm interpreting this to mean, if playing the grand campaign, I move on to 'Early Falaise' no matter who wins Operation Cobra.

OR does it mean, if one of them is ahead, then move on to early Falaise'. If tied, in my case, do I play counter attack at mortain??

Please help

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 01 December 2019 06:22]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2269
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:CB1 question Sun, 01 December 2019 11:08
Hi GI John,

Do you hav the errata PDF for CB1?

You can find it here: http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/713928/_5555.p df

It states for the German side:
p.25 – The Breakout
If the Axis win the campaign after "Operation Cobra", the Grand Campaign should move on to "Falaise" not "Early Falaise". However, if the Axis win "Op. Cobra", they move to "Counter-Attack on Mortain" and after this scenario they move to "Falaise" campaign.

That does not help for your predicament though but the Germany text should say move on to Falaise (if the Axis Win the Campaign after Operation Cobra)

So that would mean it matters who wins the campaign after Operation Cobra.

The Allies won Operation Cobra which triggered an end to the Campaign so I would not move onto Counter-Attack on Mortain. It ends here. Smile
Normally you would check who won the campaign and then go Early Falaise for an Allied win and Falaise for an Axis win.

But you tied.
Since the Campaign end is triggered by the Allies win I would argue to move onto Early Falaise in the Grand Campaign based on the fact that on page 24 there is an arrow End Campaign that points to the victory condition (that you have not met) but on the German side there is no such arrow pointing to the victory condition (that they have not met).

My two cents Smile
      
GI John
Senior Member
Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 235
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:CB1 question Sun, 01 December 2019 13:44
The errata in this case does not help. The Allies won Operation Cobra, but did not win the campaign. It's tied.

I'm using the PDF campaign book.

So even though I win the scenario and lose or tie the campaign, to this point, you're saying I should move on to early falaise?

I'm very confused reading the campaign pages. Even when I read early falaise, the same issue comes up.

If the Germans win Mont pincon scenario, it says to end the campaign. The box beneith it says, if you win the campaign after mount pincon, move to Falaise'.

This is very confusing and unclear. The Germans could very well have less campaign points after the mount pincon scenario.

So, when it says end campaign in the box above is it associated with the text beneath it, if you win the campaign..., In a separate box?

It would have been better to move the end campaign words in the bucket Bellow.

Please someone clarify

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 01 December 2019 13:56]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2269
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:CB1 question Sun, 01 December 2019 16:20
That part I do understand.

In the Breakout, If the Allies win Operation Cobra you end the campaign.
You then tally the campaign points and if the Allies win the campaign you move on to Early Faliase. If the Germans win the campaign after Operation Cobra (having lost the battle) you move on to Falaise.

In Early Falaise, If the Germans win Mont Pincon the Campaign ends and you tally up the campaign points to see who has won the Campaign. If the Allies win the campaign you move onto Falaise. If the Germans win you move onto Falaise as well.


What is unclear to me as well is what to do if you tie for campaign points.
But this is only an issue in the Breakout as for Early Falaise you always move on to Falaise (in both cases.)
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:SCENARIO BOOKLET - No Surrender: 12 New Breakthrough Maps and Overthrough Battles
Nächstes Thema:CB2 Scenarios
Gehen Sie zum Forum: