Zug um Zug Europa 15. Jubiläum Zug um Zug Europa 15. Jubiläum

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Escargots question
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 473
Registriert:
January 2013
Escargots question Mon, 11 January 2021 22:04
Hi players, I haven't found an official answer to a simple question : do Escargots score before AND after decline, or just after ?

To me, they score after, otherwise they become heavily broken Rats, since they would score once per turn in average like any other race, just delayed. Even if they lose regions before scoring when they are active, they have four more tokens than Rats, which is two additional regions in average that they conquer per turn, nullifying the losses, AND a more flexible defense as well. Not to mention powers like Forest and Swamp, which are scored normally, would be strictly more efficient for Scargols since they would reach the interesting regions more easily.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 11 January 2021 22:06]

      
Burgered
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
August 2020
Re:Escargots question Tue, 12 January 2021 01:22
In my understanding of rules, they score twice on the same turn when they decline.

Technically, they are very comparable to Scarcrows - both have 12 base troops, and similar ability - the difference is that Escargots lose 1 Coin whenever they are conquered, while Scarcrows gives 1 coin for being attacked. Important thing to remember is that a 1 coin less for you hurts more than another player getting 1 coin, unless you play 1v1. That means, Escargots lose more when they are conquered, but Scarcrows benefits each of the attacking players more, so their ability will trigger more often, because it is better to attack Scarcrows than Escargots.

But, yes I find both of these races overpowered, however Scarcrows even more than Escargots.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 473
Registriert:
January 2013
Re:Escargots question Tue, 12 January 2021 20:12
Burgered wrote on Tue, 12 January 2021 01:22

In my understanding of rules, they score twice on the same turn when they decline.

Technically, they are very comparable to Scarcrows - both have 12 base troops, and similar ability - the difference is that Escargots lose 1 Coin whenever they are conquered, while Scarcrows gives 1 coin for being attacked. Important thing to remember is that a 1 coin less for you hurts more than another player getting 1 coin, unless you play 1v1. That means, Escargots lose more when they are conquered, but Scarcrows benefits each of the attacking players more, so their ability will trigger more often, because it is better to attack Scarcrows than Escargots.

But, yes I find both of these races overpowered, however Scarcrows even more than Escargots.



Escargots scoring twice on the same turn when they decline is way overpowered. Like I explained, they have four more race tokens than Rats. What they lose when they get conquered, they easily compensate with their enormous number when they conquer other players who basically lose the same, so I don't think that plays in their being balanced or not. Besides, Scarecrows will attract attacks more than Scargots, unlike a "standard" race including Escargots.
      
Burgered
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
August 2020
Re:Escargots question Thu, 14 January 2021 21:57
Well, I do not stop you from playing however you want. If you think it's necessary, then play with them scoring only once when going In Decline.
I just think that if there would be any official clarification on rules, it would be like I said.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Trying to understand posts on socerers
Nächstes Thema:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game
Gehen Sie zum Forum: