Zug um Zug – Frankreich Zug um Zug – Frankreich

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Campaign Book #2 Errata
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 00:51
Rork wrote on Tue, 02 September 2014 06:27

tank commander wrote on Tue, 02 September 2014 12:22

Yes, and the answer is......?

I am not so sure that the clear answer is in the rules. But if you know otherwise and this would be an official interpretation, I would gladly like to hear it. Smile

As far as I'm concerned, Stevens' message is the answer. However, I wouldn't be surprised if it turns out the rules are supposed to have an entirely different meaning (wouldn't be the first time either...). Which is why an official answer would be most welcome.

tank commander wrote on Tue, 02 September 2014 12:22

Perhaps you could also shed some light on which player rolls and then places his Reserve Units first in a scenario.


Nice catch Twisted Evil . It isn't specified anywhere, but whoever goes first as per the scenario notes rolls first (victory/reserves/specific pre-battle rules) and takes/places reserves, then the opponent follows. At least that's how we played it throughout both campaign books.




That might a the right assumption but then again ......

As the placment of reserve units is a bit more important than the VE rolls, having the advantage of knowing what and where your opponent places can be critical. Which player (1st - who is usually the attacker or 2nd) does this first should have been spelled out. That is a rules hole and in some cases the Memoir '44 rules could use some tightening.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 01:00
Quit2 wrote on Mon, 01 September 2014 13:29

I believe that is exactly why the allies begin with one unit on the board in Break Through Normandy, Drop in the Night: 101st scenario. To apply the VE rolls.


So if the German player rolls three infantry VE rolls the Allied player would have to take all the losses from that one unit.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 03 September 2014 01:00]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 04:35
tank commander wrote on Tue, 02 September 2014 19:00

Quit2 wrote on Mon, 01 September 2014 13:29

I believe that is exactly why the allies begin with one unit on the board in Break Through Normandy, Drop in the Night: 101st scenario. To apply the VE rolls.


So if the German player rolls three infantry VE rolls the Allied player would have to take all the losses from that one unit.



Yes, that is the answer. The Allied player could distribute his losses if there were more units. However, since there are none, then that lone unit takes the hits.
If you are the Axis and you roll 2 INF and 1 GRE then the Allies would remove two figures from their single Infantry Unit. The GRE is a wasted roll for you as it can only be applied to a full-strength unit. Since only a two-figure Infantry remains, no effect.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 03 September 2014 04:38]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 04:56
tank commander wrote on Tue, 02 September 2014 18:51

That might a the right assumption but then again ......

As the placment of reserve units is a bit more important than the VE rolls, having the advantage of knowing what and where your opponent places can be critical. Which player (1st - who is usually the attacker or 2nd) does this first should have been spelled out. That is a rules hole and in some cases the Memoir '44 rules could use some tightening.


CB #2 Rules p. 6:
Quote:

VICTORY EVENTS ROLLS
After the next battle is set-up but prior to any other activity, (like Reserve rolls for the new battle) do the following:

Each player rolls two dice plus one die for each battle won up to this point in the campaign (including the battle just won if appropriate).

Starting with the player that moves first in the scenario you are about to begin, resolve the dice rolls using the following Events table *. Start with any infantry rolled and finish with any flags.

* the TABLE mentioned appears on p.7, top left side of the page.

Seems to be spelled out clearly. The player who moves first in the upcoming scenario rolls dice first. Rolls VE dice first; rolls reserve dice first; moves and rolls as attacker first.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 03 September 2014 05:01]

      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 09:15
tank commander wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 01:51

Which player (1st - who is usually the attacker or 2nd) does this first should have been spelled out. That is a rules hole and in some cases the Memoir '44 rules could use some tightening.

Wouldn't be the first such case where implicit meaning is not spelled out...

stevens wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 05:35

If you are the Axis and you roll 2 INF and 1 GRE then the Allies would remove two figures from their single Infantry Unit. The GRE is a wasted roll for you as it can only be applied to a full-strength unit. Since only a two-figure Infantry remains, no effect.

Just for the sake of using tetrapyloctomy: VE rolls are not prioritized, so why not apply 1 GRE first and then apply 2 INF? Or is this also a case of the active player deciding what VE is applied first?

stevens wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 05:56

Seems to be spelled out clearly. The player who moves first in the upcoming scenario rolls dice first. Rolls VE dice first; rolls reserve dice first; moves and rolls as attacker first.

tank was reffering to Reserve rolls, where no such thing is ever spelled out (as opposed to your quoted VE rolls rule). So yea, in that particular case, a tightening seems to be in order Cool .

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 03 September 2014 20:12]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 13:01
Rork wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 03:15

Just for the sake of using tetrapyloctomy: VE rolls are not prioritized, so why not apply 1 GRE first and then apply 2 INF? Or is this also a case of the active player deciding what VE is applied first?


Please excuse the harshness of my tone.
The rules are clear enough. It seems that you are creating ambiguity where there is none by ignoring both the resources DOW has provided (the ORDER OF OPERATIONS guide) and the direct wording of the rules (CB#2 Rules p.6-7). It seems like you have your mind already made up as to how you want to play it and are determined to reason it out that way even though the guidelines provided do not match your reasoning. I hope I am wrong in this estimation.

http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_cb2_order_op erations_en.pdf

The VE rolls are prioritized:

CB #2 Rules p. 6:
Quote:

VICTORY EVENTS ROLLS
After the next battle is set-up but prior to any other activity, (like Reserve rolls for the new battle) do the following:

Each player rolls two dice plus one die for each battle won up to this point in the campaign (including the battle just won if appropriate).

Starting with the player that moves first in the scenario you are about to begin, resolve the dice rolls using the following Events table *. Start with any infantry rolled and finish with any flags.

* the TABLE mentioned appears on p.7, top left side of page.

The VE Table clearly has the dice rolls applied in order from top to bottom:
INF
ARMOR
STAR
FLAG
GRENADE

Therefore, the VE dice are resolved in this order.

So to put it simply. Start with the player who moves first in the scenario, follow the Campaign ORDER of OPERATIONS provided by DOW and determine the VE rolls using the Event Table found on p. 7 of the rules.

Of course you are always free to "house rule" and play as you wish.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 03 September 2014 13:20]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 17:55
Quit2 wrote on Mon, 01 September 2014 13:29

I disagree. (Edit: well I agree with Stevens, who posted at the same time)

I believe that is exactly why the allies begin with one unit on the board in Break Through Normandy, Drop in the Night: 101st scenario. To apply the VE rolls. .


Then what purpose does the lone allied unit in the prior scenario serve? It cannot be for VE rolls as there can not be any. So my thought that they just represent the pathfinders in both scenarios seems more consistent.


      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 18:01
Another point about the rules is how they are presented.

The reserve unit rules come before the VE rules however the order in which each is performed the other way around. It is always a good idea to lay out rules in the Oder in which they are applied during play.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 930
Registriert:
December 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 18:29
Sgt Storm wrote on Mon, 01 September 2014 12:28

I agree. Generally when a rule is ambiguous, just doing what makes the most sense is the best course of action. In this case, since the VE roll potentially affects Allied troops, they must be in place first.


Okay, I was wrong about this case, as I didn't read the rules carefully. Embarassed But, as others have pointed out, with a proper reading of the rules, this question is answered.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 18:53
tank commander wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 12:01

Another point about the rules is how they are presented.

The reserve unit rules come before the VE rules however the order in which each is performed the other way around. It is always a good idea to lay out rules in the Oder in which they are applied during play.

Yes, you are correct. DOW definitely needed a little help with this and Jesse did the work to help produce the ORDER OF OPERATIONS. This document is officially approved by DOW and accessible from the Campaign Links:

http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_cb2_order_op erations_en.pdf
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 19:22
tank commander wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 11:55

Quit2 wrote on Mon, 01 September 2014 13:29

I disagree. (Edit: well I agree with Stevens, who posted at the same time)

I believe that is exactly why the allies begin with one unit on the board in Break Through Normandy, Drop in the Night: 101st scenario. To apply the VE rolls. .


Then what purpose does the lone allied unit in the prior scenario serve? It cannot be for VE rolls as there can not be any. So my thought that they just represent the pathfinders in both scenarios seems more consistent.


YES, you may be correct when you say that this unit represents a PATHFINDER.
However, you are incorrect to say that there are no VE rolls. The Drop in the Night: 101st is the second scenario in the DROPPED ON THE COTENTIN campaign and therefore someone will have won the first scenario and get 3 dice and their opponent will have lost the first and get 2 dice as VE rolls.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 19:24
Computer entry error Embarassed

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 03 September 2014 19:24]

      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 20:10
stevens wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 14:01


Please excuse the harshness of my tone.
The rules are clear enough. It seems that you are creating ambiguity where there is none by ignoring both the resources DOW has provided (the ORDER OF OPERATIONS guide) and the direct wording of the rules (CB#2 Rules p.6-7).

You are completely right. Phrasing could've been clearer (imho), but it's my total mistake as I never once truly noticed the VR priority. I read it, but it never registered. Funny thing is that we always played it this way, because it seemed... dunno, kinda natural.
There's no harshness to excuse. That being said, making assumptions about one's intentions is a bit risky. I used the word tetrapyloctomy for a reason Razz . It certainly wasn't my intention to create ambiguity, it was sort of a thought experiment question.

stevens wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 14:01

It seems like you have your mind already made up as to how you want to play it and are determined to reason it out that way even though the guidelines provided do not match your reasoning. I hope I am wrong in this estimation.

You are - see above Very Happy .
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 20:12
stevens wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 13:22

tank commander wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 11:55

Quit2 wrote on Mon, 01 September 2014 13:29

I disagree. (Edit: well I agree with Stevens, who posted at the same time)

I believe that is exactly why the allies begin with one unit on the board in Break Through Normandy, Drop in the Night: 101st scenario. To apply the VE rolls. .


Then what purpose does the lone allied unit in the prior scenario serve? It cannot be for VE rolls as there can not be any. So my thought that they just represent the pathfinders in both scenarios seems more consistent.


YES, you may be correct when you say that this unit represents a PATHFINDER.
However, you are incorrect to say that there are no VE rolls. The Drop in the Night: 101st is the second scenario in the DROPPED ON THE COTENTIN campaign and therefore someone will have won the first scenario and get 3 dice and their opponent will have lost the first and get 2 dice as VE rolls.


I was talking about the FIRST scenario in the campaign - 82nd I believe - ( which also has a lone allied unit on the map) and as it is the first scenario in the campaign, there are no VE rolls.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 03 September 2014 23:39]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 03 September 2014 23:43
Rork wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 14:10

stevens wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 14:01


Please excuse the harshness of my tone.
The rules are clear enough. It seems that you are creating ambiguity where there is none by ignoring both the resources DOW has provided (the ORDER OF OPERATIONS guide) and the direct wording of the rules (CB#2 Rules p.6-7).

You are completely right. Phrasing could've been clearer (imho), but it's my total mistake as I never once truly noticed the VR priority. I read it, but it never registered. Funny thing is that we always played it this way, because it seemed... dunno, kinda natural.
There's no harshness to excuse. That being said, making assumptions about one's intentions is a bit risky. I used the word tetrapyloctomy for a reason Razz . It certainly wasn't my intention to create ambiguity, it was sort of a thought experiment question.

stevens wrote on Wed, 03 September 2014 14:01

It seems like you have your mind already made up as to how you want to play it and are determined to reason it out that way even though the guidelines provided do not match your reasoning. I hope I am wrong in this estimation.

You are - see above Very Happy .



Thanks friend.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 04 September 2014 00:02
Disregard my prior statements about the paradrops as part of the setup.

I see the "before HIS (Allied player) first turn.."

Which I now believe means after the drawing cards phase, the Allied player drops those units.
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 24 September 2014 18:46
Four more scenarios and I'll be done with the Break Through Normandy campaign. There are some questions... well, actually more like safety checks so as to see if we've played (and will play) this right.

1. MT rulebook, p. 7: The Stiff Upper Lip rule applies to BCF ground units. This includes not only infantry, but also tanks and artillery (and possibly other ground units) - yes or no?

2. MT rulebook, p. 8: After any explosion, the Minefield remains in effect, its strength face up and visible to both players. So if engineers are missing from the battlefield (as is the case in "The Scottish Corridor" and "Tigers versus Kangaaroos" scenarios), it means that every unit that will pass through a revealed minefield will roll for hits. Which in turn means that a revealed minefield will be forever active - yes or no?

3. The "Coup de main" and "The Scottish Corridor" scenarios from this campaign mention new units being deployed (at a later stage in battle once some conditions are met) in specific hexes. If the designated hexes are occupied by enemy units, is it correct to assume that no deployment is possible until those units are eliminated or forced to retreat - yes or no?

4. Why give the Allied player the Carpet Bombing option in the "What if?" events when only 1 (one!) scenario from the 12 that make up the Break Through Normandy campaign uses Air Rules (and then they're optional!)?!?

5. As for the Carpet Bombing rule itself, it says After moving the plane, roll 2d on all adjacent ground units (...). A plane moves up to 4 hexes, so does this 2d roll applies on all hexes (+ adjacent hexes) that the plane has moved through?

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 27 September 2014 07:59]

      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sun, 28 September 2014 09:59
Since next week we'll continue the Break Through Normandy campaign, I'd really appreciate some answers, sooner rather than later. Sorry for pushing it ("bumped" I believe is the net lingo for this), but four days for four Yes/No answers seems way too slow by any forum's standards.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 28 September 2014 09:59]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1881
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sun, 28 September 2014 11:07
@Rork,

You seem to think to be entitled to answers, but we are all just players like yourself. In my opinion a forum is not magical encyclopedia which answers your questions, but a place to discuss the matter at hand. here that is Memoir 44.

However I know some of the answers and will give them to you. I would like to point out that most of the answers are also clearly stated in the different rulebooks so you could have looked them up there. Smile

1. yes all ground units that after being attacked in close assaults have only one figure left (Also if they had one fig before te attack) can battle back with one die.

2. Minefields:
The side that the minefield belongs to (the player that lays it out) does not trigger the mine field. They have to stop however when entering a minefield and cannot move further that turn. (So no overuns or take ground) But they don't reveal the strength of the minefield.
If a unit from the opposing side enters the minefields he triggers it and reveals the strength, dice are rolled and the minefield stays in place (unless cleared by engineers or Hobart funnies) so yes the minefield stays in play. One exception is a 0 (zero) mine minefield. That is removed from play.

3. If your "landing hex" s occupied you cannot deploy the unit.

4. I have no idea, I would have to ask the designer of the campaign why he did this. However you might like to play all scenarios with air rules and then it would make more sense. (Air rules are always optional because DoW does not know wether you have that expansions or not. )

5. No, as stated on page 12 of the CB2 After moving the plane, roll 2 d on all adjacent hexes. So not during the flight to destination.


Hope this helps. Cool
      
jdrommel
DoW Content Provider
FFM44 Bureau

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 954
Registriert:
March 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sun, 28 September 2014 11:31
Hello Rork,
sorry for the delay,
I will try to answer to your questions:

1 - Yes, all ground units.

2 - Yes, the minefield is active again.

3 - Yes, no deployment if the entry hex is occupied.

4 - The "What if" is not an idea of the designer (!). The fact is I use an old BT scenario in the BT campaign . This only scenario (Hill 309) includes Air rules as an option, but the BT campaign was not planned to be played with Air rules (but it could be an option for the players, as well).

5 - The rules says : "after the movement". It means that all hexagons around the last hex.

I hope these answers are good for your play.
Yours ! Smile

Jdrommel.
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sun, 28 September 2014 16:19
Jeronimon wrote on Sun, 28 September 2014 12:07

You seem to think to be entitled to answers, but we are all just players like yourself. In my opinion a forum is not magical encyclopedia which answers your questions, but a place to discuss the matter at hand. here that is Memoir 44.

Let's take it one step at a time:
- I'm not entitled to anything, I just wanted to check some things (as stated in my original post), so I asked politely about it... after spending an hour or so trying to find answers on the forums.
- Since we're all players, no one seems to be entitled to any answers, is that what you're saying? Yet a lot of posts and threads on this forum deal precisely with questions and answers. Bit of a faulty logic at work here, wouldn't you say so?
- The matter at hand is, yes, Memoir 44. Are you under the impression that my questions are not about it? Or are you saying that any debates about older issues are besides the point?

Jeronimon wrote on Sun, 28 September 2014 12:07

I would like to point out that most of the answers are also clearly stated in the different rulebooks so you could have looked them up there. Smile

I would also like to point out that, as clearly stated in the original post, I wanted to CHECK some things. Said things are rather obscurely covered in the rules or implied or never mentioned at all or lead to less-than-intuitive situations (such as eternal minefields, amongst other examples) - or simply elude me. Rules which make no differences between "must" and "may" (again, amongst other examples) are worth checking, wouldn't you agree?

Jeronimon wrote on Sun, 28 September 2014 12:07

Hope this helps. Cool

Quoting back the rules doesn't. 4. implies that you need a question answered - hopefully it'll fall in the "matter at hand" category. Also the answer at 5. is not really an answer, because it falls back on the written rule which I failed to understand in the first place. jdrommel's answer clears that. Thank you for the rest and my apologies for wasting your time.

jdrommel wrote on Sun, 28 September 2014 12:31

I hope these answers are good for your play.

Thank you very much for a most considerate and useful reply. In my opinion, this is what a forum is for and how an answer should look like. But hey, maybe it's just me.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 28 September 2014 16:52]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1881
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sun, 28 September 2014 18:17
If I have offended you I would like to apologize. Yes it was rather a personal post, and yes I did find you a bit impatient. Sorry for that.

After saying that i tried to answer your questions as best I could, but it seems the brevity of jdrommels answers is more suited to your taste. No problem there.

AS for wasting my time: no time was wasted for yes this is the place to ask questions about ambiguities in the rules and to answer them. I indeed misread your not understanding the rules, as I found some of them more clear than you did. Apparently I was mistaken there and this is indeed the place to ask for clarification.

So I hope you will forgive me for my tone and will continue to ask questions in the future. Cool

      
Dree
Senior Member
Oberleutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 143
Registriert:
February 2010
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 29 September 2014 00:10
Now shake hands and hug, the two of you Very Happy
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 29 September 2014 08:19
No problemo.
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 03 October 2014 16:25
Much to my dislike, I'm back way too soon with two more questions. Unfortunately no yes/no options this time around...

1. CB2, p. 110: if the Allies win at Coldstream Hill, then a Veteran Star can be placed on an armor unit in the Tigers vs. Kangaroo scenario. My question concerns the timing of this action: WHEN is this star placed in relation to the Victory Event and Reserve rolls (before, in-between, after)? Also can this star be placed on ANY armor unit (including half-tracks and flame thrower tanks)?

2. Half-tracks are used in the last two scenarios of the To Falaise campaign. Looking for their detailed rules I came upon this thread:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=205586#msg_205586
The question which started it doesn't really have an answer (at least, I didn't find any), except as a a (very nice imho) house rule that states HTs attack like infantry. However, was there ever an official answer to this? In other words, HTs, being treated as armor for ALL purposes, share the same firing penalties as armor?
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 999
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 03 October 2014 20:22
as to question 2:
The FAQ is very clear about Halftracks:
Quote:

Treated as Armor, for all purposes


So they also attack as armor. An halftrack attacking an town/forest rolls 0 dice.

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1371
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 03 October 2014 21:42
Antoi wrote on Fri, 03 October 2014 20:22

as to question 2:
The FAQ is very clear about Halftracks:
Quote:

Treated as Armor, for all purposes


So they also attack as armor. An halftrack attacking an town/forest rolls 0 dice.



Unless they are ordered with armour assault, firefight, close assault, TFH. Then they can get an additional dice, making it 1 die.

As to the other question (veteran star): I don't know the answer. Just agree with the opponent how you'd do it before the issue occurs. Apply the same decision when you switch sides.
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 03 October 2014 22:04
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 03 October 2014 22:42

Antoi wrote on Fri, 03 October 2014 20:22

as to question 2:
The FAQ is very clear about Halftracks:
Quote:

Treated as Armor, for all purposes


So they also attack as armor. An halftrack attacking an town/forest rolls 0 dice.



Unless they are ordered with armour assault, firefight, close assault, TFH. Then they can get an additional dice, making it 1 die.

As to the other question (veteran star): I don't know the answer. Just agree with the opponent how you'd do it before the issue occurs. Apply the same decision when you switch sides.


Thanks for confirming the HTs status. It just seemed so completely unrealistic to have a sort of glorified supply truck with no relation whatsoever to what HTs were doing in reality, that I had to ask the damn question. But whatever, I'm glad it's out of the way Very Happy .

As for the Veteran Star issue, I hope to hear other takes on it. Surely there must be a priority to these operations, because you can bet that a VE roll will instantly target such an unit Cool, softening it for a later kill. Yea, we can agree, but that would make it a house rule and I kinda intend to play by the official rules before coming up with personal versions.

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 03 October 2014 22:10]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 930
Registriert:
December 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 03 October 2014 22:39
All I can give is an opinion because as far as I know there is no official rule for when to apply those bonuses. But it seems sensible to me that the bonus hero badge is placed when the scenario is setup, thus preceding the rolls. I would be surprised if there was an official ruling that was different than that.
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sat, 04 October 2014 08:07
I agree with you and, if no other opinions come up, this is the way we'll play it. I'm sure my Axis opponent will also think this is the sensible thing to do Laughing . Plus there's always the option of actually putting to some use those half-tracks (sounds so much cooler than supply trucks Razz ).
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 10:54
A short check about minefields, as I wasn't able to find a clear answer anywhere: a unit eliminated by a minefield counts as a medal, correct?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 11:35
Rork wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 04:54

A short check about minefields, as I wasn't able to find a clear answer anywhere: a unit eliminated by a minefield counts as a medal, correct?


Roger that.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 14:17
tank commander wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 05:35

Rork wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 04:54

A short check about minefields, as I wasn't able to find a clear answer anywhere: a unit eliminated by a minefield counts as a medal, correct?


Roger that.


Not so fast there. In general principle yes' this is usually true, however:

If the unit eliminated is a SNIPER it does not count as a medal. SNIPERs never count as a medal in general Memoir '44 play. Also, if the unit is a SUPPLY TRUCK or a HALFTRACK it might not count as a medal (as in some cases, you must collect three of these particular units to add up to one medal). Furthermore, a HEROIC LEADER eliminated by a minefield could actually be worth 2 medals (one for the Infantry Unit itself and one for the Heroic Leader marker if a star is rolled on the reroll).

Sorry, just couldn't help myself. Embarassed Very Happy Rolling Eyes

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 06 November 2014 14:24]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1584
Registriert:
October 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 14:56
Good catch there, Stevens! You caught it before I even saw it!
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 16:21
Many thanks for the answer. I was inquiring about the general rule, as the particular cases you rightly mentioned have explicit rules Smile .
And on the same topic: if a unit spends turns on a minefield without being ordered or if it exits the minefield, nothing happens; the minefield only triggers when that unit is ordered AND doesn't move, correct?
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 189
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 16:51
(This has nothing to do with the topic.)

I would play minefields so that entering is the only moment when minefield is activated.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2606
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 18:24
Zalamence wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 10:51

(This has nothing to do with the topic.)

I would play minefields so that entering is the only moment when minefield is activated.


Except of course when, a unit is ordered by BEL, or when entered by a combat engineer that can battle or a mine roller Hobart tank,


Just had a Stevens moment -lol

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 06 November 2014 18:29]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1881
Registriert:
November 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 19:43
Rork wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 16:21

Many thanks for the answer. I was inquiring about the general rule, as the particular cases you rightly mentioned have explicit rules Smile .
And on the same topic: if a unit spends turns on a minefield without being ordered or if it exits the minefield, nothing happens; the minefield only triggers when that unit is ordered AND doesn't move, correct?


A unit standing still in a minefield does not trigger the minefield. So ordering a unit and shooting with it does not trigger the minefield.

Only an enemy unit entering a mine field will trigger the minefield (not during retreat)

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_29.jpg
      
Rork
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 80
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 19:58
Jeronimon wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 20:43

A unit standing still in a minefield does not trigger the minefield. So ordering a unit and shooting with it does not trigger the minefield.

Thank you for the answer, that's how I read it too, mostly because it makes sense in terms of M44's gameplay and "simulation" scale.

Still, if you don't mind my curiosity, what led you to this conclusion, because it's not spelled as such neither in the rulebook, nor on the card? Was it common sense, plain logic, mutual player agreement or simply an official answer that I haven't found yet?
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3377
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 06 November 2014 21:28
Rork wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 13:58

Jeronimon wrote on Thu, 06 November 2014 20:43

A unit standing still in a minefield does not trigger the minefield. So ordering a unit and shooting with it does not trigger the minefield.

Thank you for the answer, that's how I read it too, mostly because it makes sense in terms of M44's gameplay and "simulation" scale.

Still, if you don't mind my curiosity, what led you to this conclusion, because it's not spelled as such neither in the rulebook, nor on the card? Was it common sense, plain logic, mutual player agreement or simply an official answer that I haven't found yet?


It is true. Just standing in the minefield does not incur any battle penalty or trigger the minefield. The only unit that cannot battle out of a minefield is a COMBAT ENGINEER. If the engineer exits the minefield, he may battle normally, however if he stays in the minefield he must remove the mine instead.

p.13 TERRAIN PACK RULES:
Quote:

An Engineer unit that moves onto a Minefield hex and that is eligible to battle must clear the Minefield hex instead of battling.


p12 FAQ:
Quote:

Q. If an Engineer unit starts its turn in a Minefield and chooses not to move, can he battle or is he required to remove the Mine?
A. When an Engineer unit starts on a Minefield hex and is ordered, but chooses not to move, instead of battling he must clear the Minefield in the hex.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 06 November 2014 21:34]

      
Seiten (5): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  >  » ]     
Vorheriges Thema:10th anniversary of Memoir'44, November
Nächstes Thema:Sword beach - differences in breakthrough /d-day landings versions?
Gehen Sie zum Forum: