Verfasser | Thema |
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
hdescavernes

Nachrichten: 733
Registriert: October 2003
|
|
|
Panzer9000

Nachrichten: 80
Registriert: September 2011
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Fri, 16 December 2011 02:42

|
 |
I couldn't find this in the FAQ (I might not have looked hard enough )
Can you counterattack your own card if the commisar rules are in effect.
Example:
I played gates of moscow. German played armour assault, Soviets placed card under commisar, Germans counter attacked their armour assault. They went 4-0 up after two turns.
|
|
|
sam1812

Nachrichten: 2672
Registriert: August 2006
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Fri, 16 December 2011 03:27

|
 |
Panzer9000 wrote on Thu, 15 December 2011 20:42 | Can you counterattack your own card if the commisar rules are in effect.
Example:
I played gates of moscow. German played armour assault, Soviets placed card under commisar, Germans counter attacked their armour assault. They went 4-0 up after two turns.
|
You can only Counter-Attack your opponent's last card.
With Commissar rules (I apologize if this is obvious), here's how the sequence goes.
0. Start of game. Russia puts card under the chip.
1. Axis plays a card and takes his turn.
2. Russia plays the chip card, puts a new card under the chip, and takes his turn. (Or Russia may play a Recon-1 or Counter-Attack directly from his hand, instead of touching the chip on his turn.)
3. Axis plays a card and takes his turn.
The last card played is always your opponent's. That's the card that can be Counter-Attacked.
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
Justinian2

Nachrichten: 23
Registriert: December 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Mon, 26 December 2011 08:37

|
 |
My airplane is interdicting an infantry and my tank forces another unit to retreat next to my airplane. The database card in the FAQ would say that the unit is interdicted since the unit starts its turn next to the airplane, but the FAQ seems to say otherwise. Which is it?
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
Justinian2

Nachrichten: 23
Registriert: December 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Thu, 29 December 2011 22:55

|
 |
I know. It was just that this ruling completely contradicts what is said on the data card. I knew that FAQ overides the printed card, I just wasn't sure if comments in the FAQ overide the card in FAQ. "starts its turn adjacent to Airplane" should be changed to "was next to airplane when the airplane did its air action".
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Thu, 29 December 2011 23:33

|
 |
Justinian wrote on Thu, 29 December 2011 16:55 | I know. It was just that this ruling completely contradicts what is said on the data card. I knew that FAQ overides the printed card, I just wasn't sure if comments in the FAQ overide the card in FAQ. "starts its turn adjacent to Airplane" should be changed to "was next to airplane when the airplane did its air action".
|

The questions/answers in the FAQ are there to clarify the unclear statement on the card:"starts its turn adjacent to Airplane".
As we LEARN from the FAQ that a unit that was retreated in the prior battle action was not "technically interdicted".
I certainly agree that your text is much clearer, ("was next to airplane when the airplane did its air action") but the card is already printed and will probably not ever be changed... hence the FAQ.
If you are actually playing the boardgame, you use the INTERDICTION chits (little bomb craters) to actually mark these units. The interesting thing is that if an interdicted unit has to retreat, the chit goes with it, so that even if it is no longer adjacent to the airplane at the start of its turn, it still may not move on its next turn.
Again, FAQ p. 30
Quote: | Q. If my Airplane has used Ground Interdiction on a group of units and then one of my other units rolls a retreat flag against one of them, does the Interdicted unit retreat or not? If the unit retreats, is it released from the Interdiction?
A. The Interdicted unit must retreat. The Bomb Crater Marker is not removed from the unit when it retreats. The unit may not move on its turn, though it may still battle, even though it is no longer adjacent to the Interdicting plane.
|
[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 29 December 2011 23:40]
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
rasmussen81

Nachrichten: 8173
Registriert: July 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Mon, 02 January 2012 08:09

|
 |
Thanks for keeping this thread so updated with questions that have come up. Like I said in the FAQ Supplement, I will not be creating a Campaign Book FAQ so let's keep those questions separate and not clutter the basic FAQ thread with CB questions.
Thanks!
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Wed, 01 February 2012 17:17

|
 |
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=239005#msg_239005
Does Cavalry lose the extra dice advantage it gains on a CLOSE ASSAULT card in it's overrun and second attack?
It seems like it should be yes, since this limiting principle is applied to armor. P. 40 FAQ.
|
|
|
rasmussen81

Nachrichten: 8173
Registriert: July 2007
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
GoboGobo

Nachrichten: 48
Registriert: April 2006
|
|
|
JJs Juggernaut2

Nachrichten: 108
Registriert: November 2010
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43

|
 |
Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
|
|
sdnative

Nachrichten: 459
Registriert: February 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sat, 17 March 2012 02:40

|
 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 13:43 | Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
Waiting to see the answer on this one also..
|
|
|
bdgza

Nachrichten: 287
Registriert: September 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sat, 17 March 2012 10:27

|
 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43 | Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sat, 17 March 2012 20:08

|
 |
Adjacent Airplanes
Do grounded airplanes add to the aircheck value and if they do is it 1 or 2 dice? How about multiple adjacent ready to take of markers? Would each marker add?
|
|
|
sdnative

Nachrichten: 459
Registriert: February 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sat, 17 March 2012 21:45

|
 |
bdgza wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 02:27 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43 | Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.
|
So can we take this answer as "Official" since this is the Questions for the Official FAQ.
We are curious because in the online version Snipers cannot move 2 hexes into Jungle and still battle.
|
|
|
bdgza

Nachrichten: 287
Registriert: September 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sat, 17 March 2012 23:56

|
 |
sdnative wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 21:45 |
bdgza wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 02:27 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43 | Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.
|
So can we take this answer as "Official" since this is the Questions for the Official FAQ.
We are curious because in the online version Snipers cannot move 2 hexes into Jungle and still battle.
|
Perhaps report it as a bug in the Memoir '44 Online forum?
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sat, 17 March 2012 23:59

|
 |
sdnative wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 16:45 |
bdgza wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 02:27 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43 | Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.
|
So can we take this answer as "Official" since this is the Questions for the Official FAQ.
We are curious because in the online version Snipers cannot move 2 hexes into Jungle and still battle.
|
Until the answer comes from a DOW rep, then no.
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Fri, 23 March 2012 00:36

|
 |
An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.
Does the artillery get to make the second attack?
Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Fri, 23 March 2012 03:29

|
 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 19:36 | An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.
Does the artillery get to make the second attack?
Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?
|
Sorry we didn't address this question before TC. I think it is an excellent question.
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Fri, 23 March 2012 10:56

|
 |
stevens wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 22:29 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 19:36 | An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.
Does the artillery get to make the second attack?
Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?
|
Sorry we didn't address this question before TC. I think it is an excellent question.
|
Thank you kind sir.
I found the original thread on this:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23835&prevloaded= 1&rev=&reveal=&start=0&count=40
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Fri, 23 March 2012 11:05

|
 |
and might as well include this:
Q - An artillery unit is ordered by the Artillery Bombard card. It declares a close assault combat but is forced to retreat as a result of the Ambush card. Is the artillery allowed to make the second attack as per the Artillery Bombard card?
A - No. If an ambush against an artillery unit ordered to Bombard, is forced to retreat by the ambush, the artillery unit may not battle.
Richard Borg
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Fri, 23 March 2012 12:23

|
 |
I knew we had discussed this before.
However, Richard did not specifically address the "Battle Back" effect that a British ground unit would have in this similar situation. My guess is that the same rules apply. If the artillery is forced to retreat on a BATTLE BACK, it would lose it's ability to continue the attack.
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sun, 25 March 2012 04:57

|
 |
stevens wrote on Fri, 23 March 2012 07:23 | I knew we had discussed this before.
However, Richard did not specifically address the "Battle Back" effect that a British ground unit would have in this similar situation. My guess is that the same rules apply. If the artillery is forced to retreat on a BATTLE BACK, it would lose it's ability to continue the attack.
|
Here it is:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24883&start=0
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sun, 25 March 2012 14:10

|
 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 19:36 | An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.
Does the artillery get to make the second attack?
Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?
|
and the final answer is......
The correct answer still is - If a Stiff Upper Lip roll against an artillery unit ordered to Bombard forces the artillery unit to retreat, the artillery unit may not battle.
Richard Borg
|
|
|
sdnative

Nachrichten: 459
Registriert: February 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Sun, 25 March 2012 16:34

|
 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 13:43 | Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
Bump
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3407
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Wed, 28 March 2012 03:35

|
 |
Dear TC,
Thanks for the post. I have played several Online expert scenarios with sniper and this is exactly how the rule is applied Online. If I move two hexes into a jungle with a sniper, the sniper CAN NOT battle.
|
|
|
sdnative

Nachrichten: 459
Registriert: February 2009
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Wed, 28 March 2012 05:54

|
 |
tank commander wrote on Tue, 27 March 2012 16:16 |
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 16:43 | Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?
In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
|
I just an answer from DOW for this question.
My question as it was stated in my e-mail:
If a Sniper moves 2 hexes into a jungle hex, does its special terrian combat ability override the jungle battle restriction requiring a unit only being able to move 1 hex and battle?
and the official answer from DOW:
Dear John,
Thank you for your request.
Regarding Snipers and jungles:
A sniper moves like a Special Forces infantry unit, 1 or 2 hexes and battle.
Jungle Terrain rules do not allow a Special Forces infantry unit to move 2 hexes into the Jungle hex and still battle.
Therefore a sniper cannot move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and battle.
Best Regards,
Franck Lefebvre
Customer Service
Days of Wonder
|
There we have it the Official answer!!
Thanks TC
|
|
|
JFKoski

Nachrichten: 603
Registriert: October 2005
|
|
|
Phread

Nachrichten: 1777
Registriert: December 2008
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Wed, 28 March 2012 10:19

|
 |
I find the DoW snswer inconsistent.
A sniper can move 2 into a town or forest and battle - ordinary infantry cannot. So why shouldn't the sniper be able to move 2 into jungle and battle?
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Wed, 28 March 2012 11:41

|
 |
Phread wrote on Wed, 28 March 2012 04:19 | I find the DoW snswer inconsistent.
A sniper can move 2 into a town or forest and battle - ordinary infantry cannot. So why shouldn't the sniper be able to move 2 into jungle and battle?
|
Remember, only certain units may move into terrain where battle is normally not allowed on the turn of entry and battle on the same turn.
All units may move 1 hex into jungle and battle.
So, it seems to stem from the fact that NO unit can move 2 hexes (or in the case of BEL - 3 hexes) and battle from a jungle hex.
|
|
|
tank commander

Nachrichten: 2627
Registriert: October 2004
|
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ
|
Wed, 28 March 2012 11:42

|
 |
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 28 March 2012 00:54 | In this case the French Resistance should not be able to use Infantry Assault to move 2 into jungles and battle. Currently it's allowed in the online game.
|
I would suspect that is a bug which should be reported.
|
|
|