Verfasser | Thema |
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Wed, 06 March 2013 18:38

|
 |
Quit2 wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:19 | your opponent leaves a section that has an empty section medal (sugar loaf and half moon)
|
Yes, another situation:
SUGAR LOAF AND HALFMOON
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=1518
Quote: | When all the Japanese units in a section of the battlefield (right, center or left) are eliminated, the Marines gain one Victory Medal. As long as no Japanese units move back into the section it continues to count toward the Marine victory.
|
However, you are correct. The units do not need to be eliminated, if the Japanese of their own volition abandon a flank the medal is still granted. So either through elimination or evacuation a medal is scored on your opponents ' turn.
|
|
|
tinsoldier

Nachrichten: 607
Registriert: December 2010
|
|
|
sam1812

Nachrichten: 2672
Registriert: August 2006
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Wed, 06 March 2013 18:58

|
 |
tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:55 | Your opponent attacks a unit, and roll one flag (or more) that enables your unit to exit the board for the gain of a medal.
I don't know if official scenarios exist with such possible situation, since generally you retreat away from the exit hexs that are most of the time on the other side of the board.
|
There has been an official ruling on this subject. You cannot retreat through an exit hex. The flag would result in the loss of a figure.
|
|
|
tinsoldier

Nachrichten: 607
Registriert: December 2010
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Wed, 06 March 2013 19:11

|
 |
sam1812 écrit le Wed, 06 March 2013 18:58 |
tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:55 | Your opponent attacks a unit, and roll one flag (or more) that enables your unit to exit the board for the gain of a medal.
I don't know if official scenarios exist with such possible situation, since generally you retreat away from the exit hexs that are most of the time on the other side of the board.
|
There has been an official ruling on this subject. You cannot retreat through an exit hex. The flag would result in the loss of a figure.
|
I didn't know that, thks
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Wed, 06 March 2013 19:35

|
 |
tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 13:11 |
sam1812 écrit le Wed, 06 March 2013 18:58 |
tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:55 | Your opponent attacks a unit, and roll one flag (or more) that enables your unit to exit the board for the gain of a medal.
I don't know if official scenarios exist with such possible situation, since generally you retreat away from the exit hexs that are most of the time on the other side of the board.
|
There has been an official ruling on this subject. You cannot retreat through an exit hex. The flag would result in the loss of a figure.
|
I didn't know that, thks
|
P.3 FAQ Supplement
Quote: | Q. If Exit rules are in effect, and my opponent forces me to retreat while my unit is on an Exit hex, may I retreat off the board and get a medal?
A. No, the intent has always been that units must be ordered and then move off the battlefield via an Exit hex. You may not retreat off the board and gain an Exit medal.
|
[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 06 March 2013 19:36]
|
|
|
tinsoldier

Nachrichten: 607
Registriert: December 2010
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Wed, 06 March 2013 22:12

|
 |
Another try:
You play using either urban or winter combat cards.
When attacked by the enemy, you play "Out of ammo".
The card says the attacking unit has to retreat on a vacant base line hex.
If there is no vacant hex, is the unit lost ? If yes, one medal for you, General.
|
|
|
sam1812

Nachrichten: 2672
Registriert: August 2006
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Thu, 07 March 2013 02:23

|
 |
Sorry, no. This was among a group of questions Richard answered for Rasmussen81 on the "Questions for the Official FAQ" thread, August 14, 2012.
Q. What happens if I play Out of Ammo and there are no baseline hexes for my opponent to move his unit back to?
A. The unit is placed in an empty hex in the next forward row of hexes.
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Thu, 07 March 2013 23:32

|
 |
Tomorrow I will reveal the final two answers that I am aware of. One is quite obscure and only those who play using the Campaign Books might be aware of it.
That should be enough of a hint.
So go out guessing guys and gals.
|
|
|
sam1812

Nachrichten: 2672
Registriert: August 2006
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 02:29

|
 |
A Victory Event roll of a tank, in a scenario where the opponent's armored units are all Tigers, would eliminate the unit. However, (A) I don't believe that would count as a medal, and (B) since the battle hasn't actually begun yet, I'm not sure that it would count as being your "turn."
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 03:51

|
 |
sam1812 wrote on Thu, 07 March 2013 20:29 | A Victory Event roll of a tank, in a scenario where the opponent's armored units are all Tigers, would eliminate the unit. However, (A) I don't believe that would count as a medal, and (B) since the battle hasn't actually begun yet, I'm not sure that it would count as being your "turn."
|
Yes, this could be a possibility if you really stretch the logic.
The Simplified Campaign Rules that came with the Winter/Desert Board state:
Quote: | If all of the figures in an opponent's unit are removed before the battle begins, you gain a Victory Medal.
|
However, the game has not actually begun yet and so it would be a stretch to say that you scored a medal on an opponents turn. So an interesting twist, but the real answers are really quite simple and straightforward.
[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 08 March 2013 03:59]
|
|
|
Quit2

Nachrichten: 1388
Registriert: July 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 09:35

|
 |
there is a breakthrough map that says that the germans need to roll 2 dice at the start of each of their turns, and that a grenade forces them to remove one figure of a unit.
If you're the russians, you could score a medal at the start of the german turn if a grenade removes the last figure of a unit.
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
|
|
Antoi

Nachrichten: 1041
Registriert: March 2005
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 15:40

|
 |
I cant off anything else 
thanks for this question! It makes me think more about options I have during a game of memoir.
|
|
|
Quit2

Nachrichten: 1388
Registriert: July 2007
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 17:33

|
 |
Antoi wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 09:40 | I cant off anything else 
thanks for this question! It makes me think more about options I have during a game of memoir.
|
Yes, knowing what might happen or could happen makes you a more informed player and may actually improve your gameplay. Thanks for patronage.
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 17:39

|
 |
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 11:31 |
stevens wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 12:33 |
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 03:35 | there is a breakthrough map that says that the germans need to roll 2 dice at the start of each of their turns, and that a grenade forces them to remove one figure of a unit.
If you're the russians, you could score a medal at the start of the german turn if a grenade removes the last figure of a unit.
|
I will accept that as an answer if you give me the exact scenario and quote the special rules from the Official Scenario pages. This is what I did in the SUGAR LOAF and HALF MOON scenario. You may use that as an example.
|
It's "Nach Moskou" and it is a classified scenario so I cannot copy paste the rule. I'm too lazy to look up the booklet and type it over.
(edit) Aparently you can see the text of classified scenarios
From the rules of the scenario:
"?General Winter? rules are in effect. At the start of each of his turn, the Axis player rolls 2 dice. For any Grenade roll, he must remove 1 figure from a German unit of his choice. Any unit wiped out that way still counts as a medal for the Allied player."
|
NACH MOSKOU
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=4717
Special Rule
Quote: | ?General Winter? rules are in effect. At the start of each of his turn, the Axis player rolls 2 dice. For any Grenade roll, he must remove 1 figure from a German unit of his choice. Any unit wiped out that way still counts as a medal for the Allied player.
|
Yes, good find. Thanks Quit2
|
|
|
ad79

Nachrichten: 788
Registriert: September 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 19:58

|
 |
In Overlord play it is possible to score a medal on the opponents turn if one of the FG's roll a bad initiative die and has to remove the last figure of a unit or retreat a stuck unit.
Not the most likely of medals, but possible.
|
|
|
ad79

Nachrichten: 788
Registriert: September 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Fri, 08 March 2013 20:15

|
 |
In "Namur" and "Roi-Namur overlord" from CB#2 you can get a medal as the Japanese on the Marine turn if the Marine unit rolls enough Grenades while trying to blow up the bunker.
From the Special rules:
Any allied infantry unit occupying the bunker may attempt to destroy it instead of battling. This is accomplished by ordering a Marine infantry unit that already occupies the Bunker to roll its Close Assault combat dice. If a Star is rolled, the Bunker blows up. Remove the Bunker hex and gain the Victory Medal. In addition, for each grenade rolled when the bunker blows up, one Marine figure is lost and must be removed from the ordered unit
|
|
|
Clexton27

Nachrichten: 3410
Registriert: February 2007
|
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
|
Sat, 09 March 2013 02:37
|
 |
Both good answers Stig. yes I remember getting stomped pretty good at ROI NAMUR and you did get the medal for destroying the ammunition bunker, but had it been too large of an explosion, you are correct in saying that the Japanese player could earn a medal.
Same issue is true of the the Overlord initiative roll. As you said not highly probable, but as long as it is possible it is a good answer.
Thanks for your responses.
|
|
|