Zug um Zug – Frankreich Zug um Zug – Frankreich

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Quick rules question
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Dree
Senior Member
Oberleutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 143
Registriert:
February 2010
Quick rules question Fri, 28 July 2017 23:26
Kalkoen ghol

Japanese cavelry

+1 die @ close combat?
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1371
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Quick rules question Sat, 29 July 2017 00:16
Quick answer: No
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Major Howard

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3372
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Quick rules question Sat, 29 July 2017 03:28
Dree wrote on Fri, 28 July 2017 17:26

Kalkoen ghol

Japanese cavelry

+1 die @ close combat?


SEE REPLY BELOW FOR LONGER ANSWER:
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 12 January 2017 10:59

I looked back at our notes about this expansion and also got a reply from Richard Borg, so as you start playing this new expansion, here are a few clarifications:

Q. May a Molotov Cocktail be used by the defender playing an AMBUSH card?
A. Yes.

Q. When playing as the attacker using a Molotov Cocktail, if the defender plays an AMBUSH card, and I am forced to retreat and therefore not battle, do I lose the Molotov Cocktail or can I save the token for another battle?
A. No. The Molotov Cocktail token is only discarded after you roll the dice.

Q. On the Tightening the Noose Breakthrough scenario Tankettes are named in the rules but not printed on the map. Are their Tankettes in this scenario or is this just a misprint?
A. We need to review a few things and look back at what was intended for this scenario, but for now you can assume it was a copy/paste error and play without the Tankettes.

Q. Cavalry are ordered just like infantry. Does this mean that the special infantry rules for Japanese infantry also apply directly for the Japanese Cavalry such as Yamato Damashi Concept, Seishin Kyoiku Doctrine and Banzai War Cry?
A. Even though Cavalry are ordered like Infantry, they are not Infantry and do not benefit from listed national abilities. An ordered Cavalry Unit:
• May move up to 3 hexes and battle.
• May battle any enemy target 2 or fewer hexes away. It rolls 2 dice in Close Assault and 1 die against a target at 2 hexes.
• May, on a successful Close Assault combat, Take Ground and battle again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun combat.

I hope this helps!


      
Dree
Senior Member
Oberleutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 143
Registriert:
February 2010
Re:Quick rules question Sat, 05 August 2017 02:03
Thanks guys, for the fast and extensive answers!
It came in time for the game, but did not save the day for the Japanese. The Bu-fu was gone with the wind.

Game was lost 2-5.
It was the first battle of the kalkhun ghol campaign.

      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 161
Registriert:
July 2004
Re:Quick rules question Sat, 05 August 2017 13:29
Dree wrote on Sat, 05 August 2017 01:03

Thanks guys, for the fast and extensive answers!
It came in time for the game, but did not save the day for the Japanese. The Bu-fu was gone with the wind.

Game was lost 2-5.
It was the first battle of the kalkhun ghol campaign.


Yes, this one can be tough for the Japanese. Their cavalry are fairly useless and played little to no part in any of my solo of ftf games. The Japanese win or lose with those 6 inf units. If they can get them rolling into attack, and they do the business, then that is the route to victory IMHO.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 05 August 2017 13:30]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1371
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Quick rules question Sat, 05 August 2017 21:08
The cavalry is good to go after those retreated 1 fig units, possibly with cavalry overrun.
      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 161
Registriert:
July 2004
Re:Quick rules question Sat, 05 August 2017 22:20
Quit2 wrote on Sat, 05 August 2017 20:08

The cavalry is good to go after those retreated 1 fig units, possibly with cavalry overrun.


In general yes, but they just seemed too far away from the action in this scenario to get involved.
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1371
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Quick rules question Sun, 06 August 2017 11:03
Major Duncan wrote on Sat, 05 August 2017 22:20

Quit2 wrote on Sat, 05 August 2017 20:08

The cavalry is good to go after those retreated 1 fig units, possibly with cavalry overrun.


In general yes, but they just seemed too far away from the action in this scenario to get involved.


It depends on the cards, doesn't it? In our game, japanese had only centre and right flank cards. (Opening hand: probe centre, armor assault, 2x assault right, attack right - first turn probe brought 2 centre units to the right and drew ambush which killed the russian AC ordered with a recon. The japanese only used the 6 units that were then in their right section. First wiped the right clean, then moved them to the centre. 5-4 win for Japan)
      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 161
Registriert:
July 2004
Re:Quick rules question Sun, 06 August 2017 19:03
Quit2 wrote on Sun, 06 August 2017 10:03

It depends on the cards, doesn't it? In our game, japanese had only centre and right flank cards. (Opening hand: probe centre, armor assault, 2x assault right, attack right - first turn probe brought 2 centre units to the right and drew ambush which killed the russian AC ordered with a recon. The japanese only used the 6 units that were then in their right section. First wiped the right clean, then moved them to the centre. 5-4 win for Japan)


It certainly does. That was just my personal experience after four solo and one ftf game. I seem to remember in one of my solo games the Japanese were forced to move on the right because of the cards, but even then they brought some inf over from the centre and only used a couple of the cavalry.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Kawatama bridge vp question
Nächstes Thema:Wanting to get back in
Gehen Sie zum Forum: