Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Queen's Necklace - English » Rules Clarification: Cardinal
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
referee
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
November 2003
Rules Clarification: Cardinal Thu, 20 November 2003 19:58
Player A draws a Merchant during devaluation. Player B (not necessarily playing after player A) plays a Cardinal.

While player B still hasn't played his turn, player C purchases another Cardinal. When player B finishes his turn and the sale is going to happen, can it be delayed again by player C, or is it too late now?
      
referee
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
November 2003
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Fri, 21 November 2003 11:54
Another one... If all the players send 0 of a given gem, do they all sell? Laughing
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3187
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Fri, 21 November 2003 18:48
referee wrote on Thu, 20 November 2003 10:58

Player A draws a Merchant during devaluation. Player B (not necessarily playing after player A) plays a Cardinal.

While player B still hasn't played his turn, player C purchases another Cardinal. When player B finishes his turn and the sale is going to happen, can it be delayed again by player C, or is it too late now?

It is too late, the Cardinal must be played _at_the_time_ the Merchant appears, not when the merchant is already busy dealing with his holiness Laughing

eric
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3187
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Fri, 21 November 2003 18:49
referee wrote on Fri, 21 November 2003 02:54

Another one... If all the players send 0 of a given gem, do they all sell? Laughing


No, but nice try Laughing !
eric
      
referee
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
November 2003
  Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Sat, 22 November 2003 11:50
OK, I understand the cardinal one. But, Quoth the rulebook (page 7, Selling jewels):
Quote:

For each type, the player with the greatest number of gems of this type on display is the only one to complete the sale and collect any money (Pounds = victory points). If two or more players tie for the most gems of a particular gem type, all tied players sell their jewels.
And last time I checked, 0 was the greatest of 0, 0 and 0. (Yes, I know. I'm making a mathematics literal interpretation, but nowhere on the rules says it's impossible). Twisted Evil
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3187
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Sat, 22 November 2003 18:45
"greatest number of gems of this type on display" Zero is a number, but when there's zero gems, they're not exactly on display Rolling Eyes Laughing . This being said, we should have added a sentence for the sake of clarity, saying at least 1 gem, or something to that effect.
eric
      
referee
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
November 2003
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Sun, 23 November 2003 01:14
makes sense. Thanks!
      
Azarkon
Senior Member

Posts: 102
Registered:
January 2003
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Thu, 04 December 2003 03:43
Sorry to be rational, but if there is a tie for 0 and, thusly, all players are in the tie, then all players get the points and the net difference in the scores is the same as the number of gems sold- Zero.

So you argue, but either way, it dosn't matter.
      
referee
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
November 2003
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Thu, 04 December 2003 12:00
but WAIT!! If someone played a Banker he would get 10 extra points! Be careful of what you say, Azarkon Laughing
      
David707
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 10
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Tue, 29 August 2006 11:25
But i'd disagree there as if someone played the banker when theres 0 gems they wouldn't get 10 extra points because the banker says something like 'you get 10 extra points for each jewel sold' and you didnt sell any jewels if theres 0 jems!
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 390
Registered:
January 2006
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Mon, 16 October 2006 10:34
Ah, but just because something has no gems doesn't mean it's not a jewel. It's just not bejeweled. (Oh, the fun of the mediocrity of English... See quote below...)

After all, several pieces of jewelry have no gems... like most modern mens wedding rings, quite a few necklaces, etc.

American Heritage Dictionary:
jew·el (jl) Pronunciation Key
n.
1. A precious stone; a gem.
2. A small natural or artificial gem used as a bearing in a watch.
3. A costly ornament of precious metal or gems.
4. One that is treasured or esteemed.


3 is the key definition here....
      
FlashFlood
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Rules Clarification: Cardinal Sun, 06 January 2008 03:21
OK, If player B doesn't play a cardinal, can player C? And if so, does player B get to take his/her turn before player C?
      
    
Previous Topic:computer failure during game
Next Topic:How do you resume a game?
Goto Forum: