Ticket to Ride Track Switcher Ticket to Ride Track Switcher

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Are goblins subject to terrain?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
dickens1853
Member

Posts: 39
Registered:
February 2006
Are goblins subject to terrain? Tue, 19 February 2008 02:55
On page 38 of the rule book, it reads concerning goblins, "if they do not wish to battle...these units remain subject to the terrain movement and battle restrictions of the ground they cover."

Now, does this comment ONLY refer to goblins that don't attack; thus, if they do attack they can move through forests and fords? My reason for asking is because it seems like the comment on terrain movement is a qualifier only for non-attacking goblins, and if it applies to all goblins, why is it even in that paragraph?

Thanks.
      
ColtsFan77
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3313
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Are goblins subject to terrain? Tue, 19 February 2008 13:32
They are always subject to terrain. What it is trying to say is that Goblins must follow their banner color characteristics if they choose not to battle. So blue can move two spaces and not battle; Red can move only 1 space period.

If they choose to take advantage of the Goblin Rush, they may now move 2 and battle. In reality, this means nothing to the blue soldiers, since they could have gone 2 spaces anyway if they weren't ever going to battle. So it really only applies to the Red units.

All the rule is trying to say is that if Red wants to move 2 spaces, they have to battle. If there is no legitimate target, then they can never move 2 spaces.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1628
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Are goblins subject to terrain? Tue, 19 February 2008 17:40
In regards to the Goblin Rush, there has to be an enemy adjacent to the goblin at the time of the movement to do the Goblin Rush. Even if the enemy retreats before the goblin attacks, the requirement that there was an enemy next to it was still met at the time of movement phase.

As for the item on page #38, even if the Goblin did a Goblin Rush, they still would be affected by terrain. The only time they would not be affected if there was a lore card cast that says to ignore terrain. I know there is one such lore card for Cleric that allows you to ignore terrain.

Also, if you reread that paragraph on page #38, you will see they are 2 seperate sentences. The first one refers to the fact that if the goblins don't battle, they have to heed the normal movements for the appropriate banner color. The second sentence really applies to both attacking and non attacking units. Just that it is in the paragraph with the first sentence.

Cab

[Updated on: Tue, 19 February 2008 17:47]

      
ColtsFan77
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3313
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Are goblins subject to terrain? Tue, 19 February 2008 17:45
Caboose wrote on Tue, 19 February 2008 10:40

In regards to the Goblin Rush, there has to be an enemy adjacent to the goblin at the time of the movement to do the Goblin Rush. Even if the enemy retreats before the goblin attacks, the requirement that there was an enemy next to it was still met at the time of movement phase.

Cab

Just to clarify. An enemy does not have to be adjacent at the "time" of movement (which implies starting position), an enemy has to be adjacent at the "end" of movement - which is the ending position.
      
dickens1853
Member

Posts: 39
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Are goblins subject to terrain? Tue, 19 February 2008 22:33
Thanks, both of your comments clarify things for me.
      
    
Previous Topic:No News
Next Topic:Stirling Bridge Adventure-Opinions ?
Goto Forum: