Small World of Warcraft - Available now! Small World of Warcraft - Available now!

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Stations
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Zasdert Ultun
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 334
Registered:
March 2007
Stations Sun, 24 February 2008 18:58
I just wanted a clarification on the rules of stations found in the rule book.

This means that if I have the tickets Barcelona - Munchen; and Brest - Venizia;
and If I have claimed Brest-Pamplona; Pamplona-Barcelona; Barcelona-Marseille; and Marseille-Zurich;
and put a station on Zurich
since both of my routes are coming from the same direction (Marseille-Zurich) Both of my routes will be complete.

Sorry if that is a little confusing, but is it correct?

[Updated on: Sun, 24 February 2008 18:59]

      
Azariah2
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
September 2005
Re:Stations Sun, 24 February 2008 21:11
Any station can use ONE (and only one) segment of opponent's rail to complete one or more missions. Thus, in your example, it would not complete both tickets, because Zurich-Munchen and Zurich-Venizia are separate segments, and thus you can only use one of them with your station in Zurich.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1628
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Stations Mon, 25 February 2008 08:13
As Azariah pointed out, a station can only use ANOTHER person's route from the station. This is very important to know since you cannot use a station to claim a route that no one has claimed with wagons!! Thus if no one has claimed the Zurich to Munchen route, then you cannot use the station for that route since no one put any wagons on that route.

Likewise a station can only be used for ONE route and ONE route only. Thus in your particular case, you are trying to use a station for TWO routes to complete your 2 tickets. Sadly you cannot do this. Thus the station can only be used for Zurich to Munchen OR Zurich to Venezia, not both. And if both routes has wagons on them, it is up to you to decide which one you will use the station for. And if Zurich to Munchen route is claimed by someone and the Zurich to Venezia route is not, then the station HAS to be used for the Zurich to Munchen route. (See above explanation as to why).

Of course, one way to remove the problem is to claim the Munchen to Venezia route. And then you can use the Zurich station for either Zurich to Munchen OR Zurich to Venezia and thus can still have both tickets completed via using 1 station.

The other way to completing the 2 tickets is to place ANOTHER station in either Munchen or Venezia - this can only be done if the Munchen to Venezia route is claimed by someone else! And thus the station in Zurich can be used for either way (Zurich to Munchen or Zurich to Venezia) and then the other placed station would be for the Munchen to Venezia route.

Hope that helps...
Cab
      
Azariah2
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
September 2005
Re:Stations Mon, 25 February 2008 23:55
Another alternate scenario that would work:

You have rail connecting into Zurich from the other cities necessary for your tickets. Your opponents have claimed Zurich - Munchen and Zurich - Venezia. You place a station in Zurich, which can use ONE (but not both) of those segments. You then place a station in either Munchen, or Venezia. For the sake of example, let's say you placed in Munchen. The station in Munchen, then, uses Zurich-Munchen. The station in Zurich is then free to use Zurich-Venezia. Thus, you have completed both tickets (at the cost of two stations).
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1628
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Stations Tue, 26 February 2008 00:27
Azariah wrote on Mon, 25 February 2008 15:55

Another alternate scenario that would work:

You have rail connecting into Zurich from the other cities necessary for your tickets. Your opponents have claimed Zurich - Munchen and Zurich - Venezia. You place a station in Zurich, which can use ONE (but not both) of those segments. You then place a station in either Munchen, or Venezia. For the sake of example, let's say you placed in Munchen. The station in Munchen, then, uses Zurich-Munchen. The station in Zurich is then free to use Zurich-Venezia. Thus, you have completed both tickets (at the cost of two stations).


That is what I said in my last paragraph Smile

Cab
      
Azariah2
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
September 2005
Re:Stations Tue, 26 February 2008 01:00
Caboose wrote on Mon, 25 February 2008 02:13



The other way to completing the 2 tickets is to place ANOTHER station in either Munchen or Venezia - this can only be done if the Munchen to Venezia route is claimed by someone else! And thus the station in Zurich can be used for either way (Zurich to Munchen or Zurich to Venezia) and then the other placed station would be for the Munchen to Venezia route.

Hope that helps...
Cab


(emphasis added)

No, what you suggested would be that the station in Munchen would only be useful in as much as it took Munchen-Venezia, thus creating a situation where Zurich station takes Zurich-Munchen and then Munchen station takes Munchen-Venezia.

By contrast, I noted that you could actually build the second station in Munchen even if Munchen-Venezia was unplayed, because the station in Munchen would take Zurich-Munchen, and then the station in Zurich would take Zurich-Venezia

So, same end result, but noticeably different method. And, I think, an important distinction in the use of stations -- the station itself does not need to be in a city that your rail connects to. Rather, the station uses ONE (and only one) rail of your opponents in order to connect to rail that you have played and complete a ticket. So, a station in Munchen can connect via Zurich-Munchen to your rail that terminates in Zurich, provided that you have rail into Zurich (or a connection via other stations).

For example, if Zasdert had a connection into Marseille, but Marseille-Zurich was claimed (and Zurich-Munchen as well), Zasdert could play stations in Marseille and Munchen, Marseille and Zurich, or Zurich and Munchen. Any one of those three combinations would satisfy Zasdert's ticket into Munchen (presuming the other end was connected to the rail that terminated in Marseille)
      
    
Previous Topic:An Observation...
Next Topic:Why can I not start a Swtizerland game
Goto Forum: