Author | Topic |
Franck

Posts: 1307
Registered: February 2003
|
|
|
Zasdert Ultun

Posts: 334
Registered: March 2007
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Mon, 15 September 2008 19:50

|
 |
First cards, now dice! Wow! Ticket to Ride is huge!
|
|
|
rickert
Posts: 85
Registered: July 2003
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Mon, 15 September 2008 21:04

|
 |
I am very excited to pick this up next month and to try it out. The idea is intriguing. The fact that is plays with all existing maps is a great bonus as well.
|
|
|
Force1
Posts: 1
Registered: December 2005
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Tue, 16 September 2008 06:57

|
 |
My only question after reading the rules... How would a player claim the 9 length route in Nordic? The rules state that you can only store three tokens and there are only 5 dice. That leaves you with 8 on a perfect roll.
|
|
|
Antoine

Posts: 1914
Registered: April 2007
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Tue, 16 September 2008 10:35

|
 |
Force1_Cards écrit le Tue, 16 September 2008 06:57 | My only question after reading the rules... How would a player claim the 9 length route in Nordic? The rules state that you can only store three tokens and there are only 5 dice. That leaves you with 8 on a perfect roll.
|
Alan R.Moon told us that the 9 length route in Nordic Countries is closed when playing with the Dice expansion : players cannot claim this route.
|
|
|
Caboose

Posts: 1628
Registered: May 2004
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Thu, 18 September 2008 23:30

|
 |
Antoine wrote on Tue, 16 September 2008 02:35 |
Force1_Cards écrit le Tue, 16 September 2008 06:57 | My only question after reading the rules... How would a player claim the 9 length route in Nordic? The rules state that you can only store three tokens and there are only 5 dice. That leaves you with 8 on a perfect roll.
|
Alan R.Moon told us that the 9 length route in Nordic Countries is closed when playing with the Dice expansion : players cannot claim this route.
|
Remember, there is a ticket to that town that is between the 9 length route and the 3 or 4 white length route (dont' remember if it is 3 or 4).
Thus should that one ticket be removed then? Or allow for the possibility of getting the 9 length route via allowing for 4 tokens until the 9 route is claimed and then going back to 3.
Cab
|
|
|
Franck

Posts: 1307
Registered: February 2003
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Fri, 19 September 2008 14:03

|
 |
Caboose wrote on Thu, 18 September 2008 23:30 |
Remember, there is a ticket to that town that is between the 9 length route and the 3 or 4 white length route (dont' remember if it is 3 or 4).
Thus should that one ticket be removed then? Or allow for the possibility of getting the 9 length route via allowing for 4 tokens until the 9 route is claimed and then going back to 3.
|
No need to remove the ticket or to add an exception to the rule...
There is still a way to reach Murmansk.
If you think that it is too risky a business you can still discard that ticket when you get it. In the dice game, you are not forced to keep any ticket when you take some more (and at the beginning of the game, you can discard up to 3 of them)
Furthermore, the problem which can occur with your your variant (ie allowing 4 tokens until the big route is taken), is that if nobody claims this route, the whole game will be played with 4 tokens which is too easy...
PS: by the way, in case you didn't notice it, a FAQ has been added to the Dice Expansion Rules page with the few questions that have shown up so far...
|
|
|
Caboose

Posts: 1628
Registered: May 2004
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Sat, 20 September 2008 15:33

|
 |
Also it would seem in Europe, that claiming the 8 tunnel route will not be easy, since you have to roll 5 singles, plus have 3 single tokens. And then roll 0 tracks on the black dice since it is a tunnel.
Oh joy...
|
|
|
Antoine

Posts: 1914
Registered: April 2007
|
Re:Ticket to Ride - The Dice expansion
|
Sat, 20 September 2008 22:12

|
 |
Caboose écrit le Sat, 20 September 2008 15:33 | Also it would seem in Europe, that claiming the 8 tunnel route will not be easy, since you have to roll 5 singles, plus have 3 single tokens. And then roll 0 tracks on the black dice since it is a tunnel.
Oh joy...
|
True. Yet it is still possible to claim this route. The odds to get 1 track on the tunnel dice are not that big.
... and in the base game, it was not that easy to get this route anyway!
|
|
|
Caboose

Posts: 1628
Registered: May 2004
|
|
|