Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Final skinny on Engineers
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3377
Registered:
February 2007
Final skinny on Engineers Tue, 21 October 2008 14:14
Dear folks,
I have been playing for some time that when an engineer attacks in close assault, the terrain die reductions of the hex he is attacking are ignored. This I believe is what the rules state and there have been no further arguments. He gets all his dice.
Nevertheless, sometimes on VASSAL, I have an opponent who states that it is as if the engineers were attacking an open hex and thus, the units on the terrain are exposed to whatever die rolls are made. Hence, if the engineer rolls a flag, then the unit must retreat, even if the terrain ( Church) or barriers (Sandbags) would have normally provided for ignoring first flag.
According to the following question asked first by Krieghund and reinforced by Antoine [DOW], the units on the terrain still benefit somewhat and do not have to retreat. I hope this clears this up.

Krieghund / 10OCT05
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=37700#msg_37700

Antoine / 2JAN08
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=119523#msg_119523

      
red_zebra
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 357
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Final skinny on Engineers Tue, 21 October 2008 21:32
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=troop_4

Says nothing about not ignoring flags
      
Shnik
Senior Member
Kursant

Posts: 100
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Final skinny on Engineers Tue, 21 October 2008 22:43
It actually says nothing about ignoring flags in the first place. The card states "Ignore all terrain Battle dice reductions in Close Assault", seems pretty clear.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Final skinny on Engineers Tue, 21 October 2008 23:57
Shnik wrote on Tue, 21 October 2008 13:43

It actually says nothing about ignoring flags in the first place. The card states "Ignore all terrain Battle dice reductions in Close Assault", seems pretty clear.


I would agree with Shnik! I think those players where trying to pull a fast one on you, Stevens. Shocked Laughing I'm glad you didn't let them get away with it. Smile

That give me an idea...next time I play, I'll try to convince my opponent that Japanese can teleport between any tunnel hex on the board! Oh, wait, they really can do that. Surprised

Ok, I'll explain how units can't Take Ground or do Armor Overrun after moving into a Barbed Wire hex! Shoot, that's a real rule too! Shocked

Fine, I give up. I won't try to trick my next opponent. My wife will be glad to hear that. Very Happy Laughing Very Happy

[Updated on: Wed, 22 October 2008 00:11]

      
    
Previous Topic:rasmussen81 player aid
Next Topic:Overlord Rules Question
Goto Forum: