Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Nordic Ferry Rules
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
*player485304
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
October 2008
  Nordic Ferry Rules Thu, 23 October 2008 13:44
We are finding the rules for Ferries in the Nordic version a little ambiguous. They say:-
"To claim a Ferry Route, a player must play a Locomotive card for each locomotive symbol on the route, and the usual set of cards of the proper color for the remaining spaces of that Ferry Route.
A player can play additional Locomotive cards as a substitute for a color card.
Any three cards can be used as a substitute for a Locomotive card."

It's the last sentence that's giving us problems. On a Ferry Route of two oranges and one locomotive which of the following are legal plays:-

two oranges and three odd cards (as a Locomotive)
one orange, one Locomotive and three odd cards
nine odd cards (representing three Locomotives)

Is there an official ruling?

Jim Botten
      
Robin Hood
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 200
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Thu, 23 October 2008 14:04
Hi Jim... I read it like this...

The last sentence that any 3 cards can be used as a locomotive means that they must be the same... i.e.

3x orange or 3 x blue or 3x red etc etc.... so in order to claim a ferry route of 2 orange and a loco, the last option would be
9 cards, but they must be 3 sets of 3 cards being the same colour.

dont know if this helps, but makes sense to me Rolling Eyes

or to put it more simply... 3 cards of the same colour
= 1 locomotive Smile
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1628
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Thu, 23 October 2008 15:50
Sorry but Robin Hood is incorrect. It is 3 of ANY card to act as a locomotive. And thus the 3 cards can be any color and any type. Thus 1 red, 1 black, and 1 white wagon cards would work for the 3 cards.

So you can discard 9 cards to fulfill the route of 2 orange and 1 locomotive.

Of course, probably would be best to have one orange card so you only need to discard 7 (1 orange and 6 others) versus 9.

This also applies to the Murmansk-Lieksa route in regards to 4 cards (including locos) as a substitute for a card of any color.

Cab
      
Robin Hood
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 200
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Fri, 24 October 2008 18:48
ok thanx for the clarification caboose, I bow to your greater knowledge.. Smile Rolling Eyes
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1628
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Fri, 24 October 2008 19:01
GB Robin Hood wrote on Fri, 24 October 2008 10:48

ok thanx for the clarification caboose, I bow to your greater knowledge.. Smile Rolling Eyes


Well just stating what the rulebook states. It's amazing how the rulebook is when read PROPERLY and one doesn't add/remove words to it. (Yes I've been known to do that..or misread a sentence or 2)

I've been known to been incorrect in the past, but on this one, I'm 99.9999999999999999999% certain what I stated above is correct.

Cab
      
*player485304
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Sat, 25 October 2008 13:46
Thanks everyone - good to have my doubts dispelled
      
JohnEarles
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Sun, 09 November 2008 13:50
Sorry to add to the confusion, but you may want to read over at BoardGameGeek:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/263764

This thread states:

Quote:

I asked the oracle (Alan) what the correct interpretation was, and he confirmed as follows;

Quote:

1) locomotive slots: you can play either a locomotive card or any three train cards (for each locomotive slot shown in the route)
2) normal slots: you can play either the correct train card or a locomotive card

is correct, although I can certainly see where the confusion comes from. The intention was that you could only substitute any three cards for the required locomotive slots.


So that's the definitive answer!


This seems to indicate that for ferries you can only use three cards to replace a locomotive slot on the board, not to replace one of the standard slots.

Note that this means you could use three cards to fill a locomotive slot and then use a locomotive to fill one of the standard slots.

So the first two of your original scenarios are correct, but you cannot discard 9 odd cards to represent three locomotives.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1628
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Mon, 10 November 2008 21:16
I stand corrected then.. you can discard 3 of anything and then 2 orange wagons to fulfill a 2 orange and 1 locomotive ferry route.

Never had anyone discard 9 cards anyways when I play the game - other than on the 8(or 9?) length route in the NE corner of the board. And that one DOES allow 3 different cards for each length if you don't have 8 or 9 wagon cards of the same color. Smile
      
JohnEarles
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Tue, 11 November 2008 00:36
Caboose wrote on Mon, 10 November 2008 15:16

I stand corrected then.. you can discard 3 of anything and then 2 orange wagons to fulfill a 2 orange and 1 locomotive ferry route.

Never had anyone discard 9 cards anyways when I play the game - other than on the 8(or 9?) length route in the NE corner of the board. And that one DOES allow 3 different cards for each length if you don't have 8 or 9 wagon cards of the same color. Smile


Actually, you need 4 cards to substitute for any one of the train slots on the 9-length Murmansk-Lieksa route.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1628
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Nordic Ferry Rules Tue, 11 November 2008 10:07
JohnEarles wrote on Mon, 10 November 2008 16:36

Caboose wrote on Mon, 10 November 2008 15:16

I stand corrected then.. you can discard 3 of anything and then 2 orange wagons to fulfill a 2 orange and 1 locomotive ferry route.

Never had anyone discard 9 cards anyways when I play the game - other than on the 8(or 9?) length route in the NE corner of the board. And that one DOES allow 3 different cards for each length if you don't have 8 or 9 wagon cards of the same color. Smile


Actually, you need 4 cards to substitute for any one of the train slots on the 9-length Murmansk-Lieksa route.


Yes 4 - was going on memory & lack of sleep and thought it was 3.My bad
      
    
Previous Topic:Questions before Purchasing the Computer Game
Next Topic:When will Germany and Nordic games get to on-line?
Goto Forum: