Ticket to Ride New York Ticket to Ride New York

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Cadets of Saumur
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tpx63
Member
Tenente

User Pages
Posts: 44
Registered:
February 2005
Cadets of Saumur Sat, 02 May 2009 19:09
Hi everybody, could someone please explain how to place that Allied unit, defined Mortar? I can see a mobile artillery symbol with #1 and I understand that the unit has only ONE figure (artillery). What does it mean "it's a mortar"?

Thank you.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 788
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Cadets of Saumur Sat, 02 May 2009 21:42
As far as I can tell, this text about it being a mortar is just to mark it as something else than ordinary artillery. It is just to give it some historical flavour, if you get my meaning.

It has one figure, counts as a medal and shoots like a ordinary artillery unit.

Did that clarify it for you?

[Updated on: Sat, 02 May 2009 21:44]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3455
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Cadets of Saumur Sat, 02 May 2009 22:01
ad79 is dead on.
After this scenario was created the DOW folks aded a mortar unit as a SWA unit and it has rules specifc for that unit.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=anti-tank-gun380

Such as a limited range of 3-2-1. But for the Cadets scenario, it as ad79 said: a 1-figure artillery unit with the same range and qualities of regular artillery.
      
tpx63
Member
Tenente

User Pages
Posts: 44
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Cadets of Saumur Sun, 03 May 2009 01:29
stevens wrote on Sat, 02 May 2009 22:01

ad79 is dead on.
After this scenario was created the DOW folks aded a mortar unit as a SWA unit and it has rules specifc for that unit.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=anti-tank-gun380

Such as a limited range of 3-2-1. But for the Cadets scenario, it as ad79 said: a 1-figure artillery unit with the same range and qualities of regular artillery.




Thanks, we played the right way!
      
tpx63
Member
Tenente

User Pages
Posts: 44
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Cadets of Saumur Sun, 03 May 2009 01:35
And...what about the "Collapsible Rafts & Boats" action card?

It states that unit doesn't retreat and lose one figure? In the above mentioned scenario infantry uses this action.
Does it mean that a soldier can't retreat when in the river or always?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 788
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Cadets of Saumur Sun, 03 May 2009 06:43
It means infantry can`t retreat when it is in a collapsible raft or boat, so that would mean when on a river infantry loses a figure on flags, since retreats are impossible.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2658
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Cadets of Saumur Thu, 21 July 2011 22:13
ad79 wrote on Sun, 03 May 2009 00:43

It means infantry can`t retreat when it is in a collapsible raft or boat, so that would mean when on a river infantry loses a figure on flags, since retreats are impossible.


What about a unit that has a boat / raft. Say the two retreat hexes behind such a unit are river hexes. Could such a unit retreat onto a river hex as it has boats.

I now am inclined to say no as units on rivers in boats / rafts may not do so.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3455
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Cadets of Saumur Thu, 21 July 2011 22:26
I would argue that using the boat is an offensive action and in a defensive move (retreating) a boat would not be employed.

Units are not allowed to RETREAT off the board to gain a medal through an Exit hex because they need to be ORDERED to do so. I would also argue that a unit with a raft must be ORDERED to employ it as well.

I don't believe that anywhere in the scenario the units can re-employ the rafts, so once they cross the river they are now subject to the same vagaries of war as are all other infantry troops. Learn to swim....

All just my opinion of course!!!
Surprised

[Updated on: Thu, 21 July 2011 22:29]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2726
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Cadets of Saumur Fri, 22 July 2011 03:30
If a unit crosses the river in its boats, it loses its boats when it steps onto dry land. However, a unit can cross a bridge and still have its boats.

But if a unit can't retreat onto a water hex when it's already in boats, then it certainly can't retreat onto a water hex from dry land, when it first would have to blow them up and put them in the water.
      
    
Previous Topic:Game Storage
Next Topic:Tigers in the Snow
Goto Forum: